My Green Smoothie Heaven

There is nothing like a smoothie…. nothing in the world.
There is nothing you can loothie…groovy… movie….  never mind.
I love smoothies, but my boys (young and old), at some point politely requested that smoothies not be green but be pretty colors from things like strawberries, blueberries and pineapple.

Well have I got a recipe for you!  A kale smoothie!  Go ahead and groan, but you’re gonna love it.  Here is the original recipe that I got from Snack Girl’s website:
Green Smoothie Recipe
(1 serving)
1 cup frozen mixed berries
1 cup kale
1/2 banana
1 cup water
Tear kale leaves off of stems and tear into small shapes. Put berries, kale, 1/2 banana, and water into a blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!
132 calories, 1.1 g fat, 31.2 g carbohydrates, 3.8 g protein, 5.8 g fiber, 31 mg sodium, 0 PointsPlus

The first time I doubled the recipe – and I probably packed the kale down a little harder than was the intention – as I am at times an overachiever.  I used only blueberries as that is what I had.  The boys stated, “Pretty good.  You can still taste the kale, but it’s okay.”  They drank it.

Next attempt I did not pack the kale so tightly, I used frozen strawberries and I threw in 6 oz. of homemade vanilla yogurt (I told you I was an overachiever!) which has 1 teaspoon (or 4.5 grams) of sugar in it.  The boys loved it, even though strawberry does not mask the green color of the kale as well as does blueberry.  (By the way, most commercial vanilla yogurt has 4 to 6 times that amount of sugar in it.  Yikes!)

Third attempt – out of berries, what to do?  Gotta have my raw kale fix!  Canned pineapple, kale, frozen banana and again the vanilla yogurt… Another hit.  And I gotta tell you, you CAN taste the kale but it’s like a fresh edge around the fruit flavor that tastes clean and right… It tastes like it’s good for you.  And soon my forearms will start popping out like Popeye’s right?  No wait that’s spinach….  Maybe I can start slipping some of that in as well ; )

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Giving Hidden Sugar the Boot | my sister's pantry

  2. Pingback: Summer Joys | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: Veggie Basics: What to Put In There | my sister's pantry

    • Absolutely Agatha! Your ratio of frozen to unfrozen will determine the thickness of the smoothie. See what your preference for thickness is, but I usually only use 1/3 frozen ingredients (other than the almond milk, vegetable juice, or your preferred liquid) so I would probably use fresh bananas with frozen kale. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

