Bok Choy & Ginger and Broccoli – Oh My!

One of the staples around here is stir fry.  It comes out a little different each time because my approach is similar to that of refrigerator soup.  Refrigerator soup is when you have a carcass with which to make soup and you add whatever happens to be in the refrigerator (or pantry) that has any business at all being in soup.  So my stir fry is usually refrigerator / garden stir fry.

I always start with some heat tolerant oil like safflower and sesame oil mixed together to which I add pressed garlic, fresh ginger and something from the allium family such as spring onions, leek, shallot, or onion.  Fresh ginger is very different from dried and it tastes great, but it is very time consuming to prepare.  Unless, that is, you use the Biggest Bro method.  That is the same Biggest Bro who used to sneeze on his french fries so nobody would swipe them, but he cooks well and this is an awesome way to include fresh ginger – no bodily fluids involved.  Buy your fresh ginger in the produce department – usually in the ‘odd, exotic or international’ section.  Freeze your fresh ginger.  No need to wrap it or put it in a covered container, just stick that gnarly old thang in the freezer.  Then when you want some you just grate it with a fine grater.  Couldn’t be easier and still tastes great.  For especially easy grating, I suggest the microplane that I received from Step Mother.  She does NOT sneeze on her french fries, is an awesome cook and has some of the coolest, simple gadgets around.  This is one of them.

Image

That is the uncovered tub I keep the ginger in because I did find I was having trouble finding it in the morass of nuts, flours and leftovers in my freezer.  A microplane is a lot more expensive than your average grater (14.95 at Amazon) but it is unbelievably effective for this and lemons, parmesan, and other items needing grating.

Image

Anyhow, back to the refrigerator / garden stir fry.

I had some swiss chard, some bok choy, and some beet greens in the garden, but not enough of any one of them for a single ingredient.  So I took what I had of each.  Here’s my bok choy.

I also had some broccoli stems in the frig that I was saving for this or for broccoli cheese soup.  Leeks purchased today (the garden leeks are coming….) in a group of 4, one ought to do it, saving the tops in the freezer to put in stock.

Now broccoli stems are a challenge.  You can buy broccoli slaw in a package at the grocery (expensive but yummy) or you can shred your own with a little work.  First, cut off anything downright objectionable, then use a vegetable peeler to take the outermost layer off.

Image

Then grate starting at the big end.

Image

You will find that as you grate a tougher outer layer starts to hang on and doesn’t grate well.  Just stop now and again, peel it off and continue grating.

Image

When you are done you will have a pile o’ shredded extremely healthy vegetable matter that goes un-noticed by broc-o-phobes.

Image

Once you’ve cooked your oil, garlic, ginger and allium throw in your greens cut into pieces, your broccoli slaw….

Image

And whatever else (or any substitution) currently hanging around in your refrigerator like carrots, or peppers.  Oh look!  I have some snap peas!  Toss em in there.  I have tofu as well!  Cube it – and toss it in.  (Alternately you can cube and saute tofu first to make it a little crunchy or seasoned but this takes longer and makes the whole thing seem more planned.)  I love to add some canned pineapple and some Bragg’s liquid aminos which I substitute for soy sauce.

Image

I’m getting hungry.  Better finish this post and go make a kale smoothie as my boy will be home from school any minute.  Lest you be fooled that I am truly reckless and carefree, this recipe does not vary too much except for the vegetables.  And last but not least I add peanuts on top.

Image

Sorry the picture is a bit fuzzy but I can’t take another one because I ate it.  And it was very tasty too.  Have fun with the simple, fast and healthy varieties of stir fry you can make and tell us about your favorite combos!

16 responses

      • Totally! Did you go plant based recently too? I browsed a bit through your blog and though maybe you had. If so, how’s it going? I went plant based in January love it!

      • Not TOTALLY plant based, although I admit I feel better when I stick with it. So fun to try new foods and see how we can change dishes we liked before. We’re having a ball!

      • So cool! Sounds like you are doing great. Browsing through your blog some more. Love it! I had white bread this week and accidentally ate cheese when a restaurant put it in a veggie wrap (I had asked for it without) and just those two things made me feel totally de-railed. I love how eating whole foods makes you feel.

        Here is my post on why I went plant based
        http://goodcleanfood.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/sick-of-being-sick/

        I share the blog with a couple of other friends who recently went plant based too. It’s been super fun. I love that you and your sister share your blog. So cute. Makes me miss my sisters!

        Keep the great ideas coming!

    • Patty, I was reading and kind of forgot I was reading OUR blog, looked at one of the pictures and thought: “Hey, my sister has that watch…” Laughed at myself. I liked her close-ups too.

  1. Glad you liked the pics. I must admit it is a challenge to hold something with one hand and take a photo with the other. Perhaps I must recruit some assistance next time – I won’t have to ditch as many fuzzy pictures : )

  2. @Somer – Little Sis has been more heavily going totally plant based. We are moving in that direction at my house -don’t tell my husband and son just yet ; ) but more slowly. Little Sis has seen amazing results in the lessening of her allergies without animal products. I am struggling with giving up eggs and we have stuff in the freezer that I’m going to work in now and again until it’s gone and then see who starts complaining. So far they’ve loved what I’ve been making, so it’s going well and I really feel better, especially without cheese.

  3. Pingback: Spicing Up, Sugar-ing Down | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: Crunchy Lunchy | my sister's pantry

  5. Pingback: Luscious-Lasagna-Like-Layers | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Go Back Jack – Baby Steps Check In | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: Veggie Basics and Dinner | my sister's pantry

  8. Pingback: Mind the Gap – a Baby Steps Check In – and a WINNER | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

