Spicy Springtime

These last few months have been a meteorologist’s playground.  We’ve had some Spring, quite a bit of Summer, the occasional dash of Winter.  Personally, I have very weather specific preferences where food is concerned.  We’ve done a lot of raw and crunchy in anticipation of summer, but yesterday here in Central Maryland was pretty dreary.  Not quite cold, but most definitely cool.  And it rained ALL day.  The dog kept looking at me as though I should do something about it now, please, as he really prefers to go out in dry weather.  I stayed indoors much of the day as well and felt a sort of grey chill all over.  And so, as a farewell to cooler temps I whipped out one of our favorite soups… mulligatawny.

In case you’ve not had it, mulligatawny is what my son refers to as “curry soup,” as that is the primary flavor in this delicious meal.  It is a little spicy, but because it also has coconut in it, has a delicate sweet side that is irresistible.  Some add chicken or shrimp to their mulligatawny, however, the pureed vegetable base is the key to this Indian delight.  Last night I challenged myself to make the soup as veggie friendly as possible without losing the fundamental depth, and I won.  So I will share with you the curried fruits of my labor…  great tasting and good for the ticker, especially on a gloomy day.

Vegan Curry Soup (or Not Just Kramer’s Mulligatawny) – adapted from The Best of America’s Test Kitchen 2009, 
serves 4-6, I always double, it freezes beautifully

Sloppy bowl courtesy of my impatient son :-)

  • 2 1/2 t garam masala
  • 1 1/2 t cumin
  • 1 1/2 t coriander
  • 1 t turmeric
  • 2 T coconut oil
  • 1 1/2 – 2 c chopped onions
  • 1/2 c unsweetened coconut
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 4 t minced fresh ginger
  • 2 t tomato paste
  • 1/4 c wheat flour
  • 7 c veggie broth or water
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 2 ribs celery, chopped
  • 1/2 cup brown or French lentils, rinsed and picked through
  • salt and pepper
  • chopped cilantro for garnish
  • plain yogurt for serving (I used almond yogurt)
  • cooked brown rice for serving

Combine spices.  Melt or warm coconut oil in large pot on low-med heat.  Stir spices in and saute until they smell awesome.  Add onions and coconut and cook until soft (around 5 mins).  Add garlic, ginger, and tomato paste and cook for another minute or so.  Add flour and stir until ingredients are combined.  Add broth and stir well, being sure to clean bottom of pan with the broth to get all of the spice.  Add carrots and celery and bring to boil, lower heat and simmer for about 20 minutes (until carrots are soft).  Puree however you like (I used a stick blender because I hate all of that pouring back and forth, but a blender will give you a cleaner puree and will do a better job on the coconut).  Add lentils and bring to boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30-40 minutes.  Salt and pepper to taste.  We spoon rice into the bowl, add soup, a dolop of yogurt and a sprinkle of cilantro.  Delish.

37 responses

  1. Sending warm weather your way! We have 90 degrees here today! I could eat soup any day of the year, for some reason I thought mulligatawny was a seafood dish. I’m delighted that it’s not because one can never have too many curry soup recipes!

  2. I can’t wait to try this flavorful soup, I can almost smell it as it simmers away. Hope you are having a great weekend and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  3. Ooooh! This sounds so good! I didn’t know you were in Maryland. We are in Southeastern PA. :-) Thanks for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday!” I hope you will join us again this week. :-)

  4. Pingback: Spicy Sweeties – My New Favorite Cookie | my sister's pantry

  5. Pingback: Healthful Freezer Faves | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Chickpea and Cashew Tikka Masala (GF,V) | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

