I’m So Glad You Won’t Eat That

Little Sis and I talk a lot about whether our children like our food discoveries and creations.  It’s important to us to find kid-friendly healthy foods as kids are easier to get along with, have fun with, and most importantly – CONTROL – when they’re not doped out on chemicals and stimulants such as sugar.  Really, I am much happier when I am in control of the little people in the house.  In fact, I’m a little happier when I’m in control of ALL the people in the house but this is a discussion for a therapist, not you long suffering blog-readers who are wondering if I’m ever going to get to the point.  Suffice it to say that one of my favorite lines to my family is, “If you would just do what I tell you, everything would go so smoothly around here.”  Don’t worry, they are not daunted in the least and go on about their business as usual.

During this process of searching for kid-friendly foods one sometimes joyfully discovers something that the little people don’t like.  I am very glad in this case because their ‘No’ is my ‘Go!’

Brownies!  Say it again – Brownies!  Brownies are chewy, fudgy and in my book, usually far too sweet… what’s an adult taste bud to do?  Concoct something from dates, almonds, cocoa, and a wee bit of sugar that looks and smells like a brownie, but tastes much more sophisticated.  I am hooked and not the least bit sorry about it.

I got the recipe from Snack Girl and here it, along with a few pictures, are to tempt you to indulge your adult taste buds.  Slip the kids something you don’t particularly care for and enjoy!

No-Bake Brownie Balls
(15 balls)
1 cup roasted almonds (no salt added)
15 pitted dates
2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (plus extra for dusting)
1 tablespoon honey, maple syrup, or agave syrup
2 tablespoons water
confectioner’s sugar (optional) – I used unsweetened coconut instead for rolling

Add almonds to food processor and pulse until ground.

(I used a Vita Mix.  It would be a LOT easier in a food processor.  The first time I made a single batch and I cut the dates into 3rds before adding to Vita Mix to try and help it out.)

Look at those almonds-a-grinding!

Add dates (chopped if using Vita Mix), cocoa powder, honey, and water. Mix until it just forms a sticky mass.

(The second time I made these greed got the best of me – I attempted to make a 1 & 1/2 times recipe and the Vita Mix safety kicked in to keep from burning up the motor and it stopped.  So I removed the mixture a bit early but the next direction in the recipe was the same…)

Wash hands and attempt to make a ball with the dough (it may need a few drops more water to get to the perfect consistency).

Nothing like having tasty gooey stuff all over your hand.  How was I ever going to get it off?   : )

Here is the dough after lots of squeezing, mashing and kneading.

Put a tablespoon of cocoa or confectioner’s sugar (or coconut) on a plate. Roll balls in your hand and then roll in sugar or cocoa (or both).

Eat! These can be stored in the fridge for a week.

For one brownie bite: 109 calories, 6.8 g fat, 12.2 g carbohydrates, 3.6 g protein, 3.5 g fiber, 3 PointsPlus

(My bites were evidently much smaller as I got many more than 15 – so that means I get two, right?)

TaDah!  Truly tasty and children need not force them down – just pass ‘em over to me.

44 responses

  1. We share the same philosophy, apparently. I tell my family (and anyone who strays into my orbit) that things would go a lot better if they did what I told them. I get ignored, too, or worse, chuckled at. Nothing a few of those brownie bites wouldn’t assuage.

    • Indeed the brownie bites do ease reality… although cranking out yummy treats does sometime get folks to do what I want!

  2. Sounds yummy. I make a similar concoction into chocolate chip cookie dough balls. Unfortunately, my kids love them just as much as I do. But it all works out. They think they are candy. I know they are just almonds, cashews and dates with a few choc chips sprinkled in. ;-) I keep them in the freezer… mmmmm… gotta go make a batch.

    • That does sound good. Would only be fair to make the chocolate chip version once in awhile – I can’t imagine my son refusing anything with chocolate chips in it.

  3. I need to give those a try! I’m making all sorts of nut & date concoctions lately, but haven’t attempted the brownie one yet!

  4. These look terrific! The singular challenge here is going wheat free with dd (12y/o) AND I just got 5# of almonds w/ yesterday’s co-op order….synchronicity or what?
    *anna

    • Perfect!! They actually taste kind of cakey… and rolled in powdered sugar they might be sweet enough for a 12 year old.

    • In fact I am also going to have to buy a food processor!! I’m shopping now and facing the cheap versus longer lasting issue…

  5. I have to try these! No-Bake and a sweet treat that doesn’t require 1 C of refined sugar? That sounds perfect for me. Time to scrounge the grocery store for dates. I don’t think I’ve ever bought them.

    • I was very pleased to find dates in the bulk section of my Kroger store. I hope you find them in your local grocery. Of course health food stores carry them but they tend to be more expensive there. These really are a delicious treat. I am at the beach with family and all of the adults love these and none of the children do. Very funny.

  6. Pingback: Anybody Looking for a Date? | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: Go Back Jack – Baby Steps Check In | my sister's pantry

  8. Pingback: Walnut Crust Apple Pie – GF, DF | my sister's pantry

  9. Pingback: GAPS Friendly Recipes June 2013 | GAPS Diet Journey

  10. Pingback: Herbed Sweet Tomatoes with Rice | my sister's pantry

  11. Pingback: Nutshroom Neatballs (GF,DF): Endless Possibilities | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

