Leftoverlicious Breakfast

Yep, that’s what I said.  And no, I’m not talking cold pizza (sorry honey).  I am talking about that super duper planning ahead that looks very much like making too much of something and then having an awesome breakfast.  Let me start at the beginning.

It’s a bit of a nutty week here in Lake WTH.  We returned from TN last Weds to a whirlwind of work related insanity and are now preparing for a vacation on the Atlantic, YAY!  We unpacked, untangled work issues, resuscitated the garden, yard, house, convinced the dog we still love him, said goodbye to our pre-K classmates, and now we are packing again.  Trust me I am not complaining, merely highlighting that there has been a pretty sustained level of chaos around here.  Because I knew it would be that way, I have been cooking for chaos all week.  For me, that means making extra of some elements of a meal in order to find other uses for them later in the week.  We’ve talked about ways to do that for lunch, but since we’ve acknowledged that breakfast can be a super sugary start to the day for a lot of folks, I thought I’d take a few minutes to share two leftover inspired breakfasts that I THOROUGHLY enjoyed this week.

Breakfast 1: Quinoaty Porridge with Date Cream and Strawberries

I mixed the grains in a bowl according to my hunger, added a dollop of date cream and sliced strawberries over the top.  I added a little almond milk to mine as I enjoy milk with my porridge, but it wasn’t necessary.  Delish.

Breakfast 2: Quingroaty Porridge with Date Cream and Blueberries

  •  leftover quinoa
  • soaked buckwheat groats (see below)
  • date cream
  • handful of blueberries (not from my yard, unfortunately)

Soaked Buckwheat Groats (not kasha, just plain buckwheat groats): I mixed about 2/3 c groats with twice as much water in a jar and left it in the fridge overnight. Rinsed well in the morning (they feel a little slimy before rinsing; this is normal and not an indication of ooziness). They will be ever so slightly crunchy, which is a nice contrast to quinoa, or any other soft porridge grain.

I mixed the grains in the bowl, added the date cream and a handful of blueberries.  Voila.  Fantabulous breakfast #2 all from a very ambitious estimate of our quinoa needs.

So while you were catching your last few z’s this morning, I was packing our ridiculous food life into boxes and coolers to play chef with Big Sis on the sandy coastline of North Carolina.  When I finish packing and my children arise, I will enjoy yet another bowl of quinoa and something….  perhaps apples and raw oats or some dried figs and just a touch of maple syrup and walnuts – that sounds like a winner.  Either option ought to last me until we can justify breaking out the road trip snacks. Delish!

9 responses

  1. Pingback: A Better (Veggie) Burger | my sister's pantry

  2. Pingback: Einstein’s Elephant -or- ReCon Convenience | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: The Berries Are Here! | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: Replace Those Unhealthy “Health” Foods | my sister's pantry

  5. Pingback: Great Grains: Quinoa & Summer Veggie Fun | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Sweet Potato / Apple / Oat Nuclear Incident: Fast veggies with the Sunrise | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

