Singapore Fling

I imagined that a recipe called Singapore Noodles would have garlic, ginger, soy sauce, sesame oil, scallions…. you know the usual cast of characters in Asian food.  Not to mention the usual cast of characters in my kitchen.  So how nice to discover that although I was drawn to this recipe by anticipating familiar ingredients, there were some uninvited guests who made the party refreshing and interesting.  Clearly I’d never heard of Singapore Noodles before and didn’t know that curry is a prominent flavor.

So, with a head of Napa cabbage that my husband bought (don’t know what possessed him, but there it was!), a lime, and some tofu, and the very last leek from the garden until Fall – I decided to use them all up.

The tofu I used was “pre-squeezed.’  Easy now… that sounds too good to be true doesn’t it?!!

I got it at Trader Joe’s and it is very firm and has already had the extra moisture squeezed out, leaving it ready for baking.  It does not state this on the label but they nicely had an explanation by the product that caught my eye.

It slices very thinly and easily and has a lovely firm texture…

I made a marinade as follows:

1.5  Tbsp roasted sesame oil
2 Tbsp. Bragg’s liquid aminos
juice from 1 lime
1/8 tsp. chili powder (I used chipotle which is strong – you might
like more if using standard chili powder)
I had leftover which I saved and added to the whole dish at the end.

To bake the tofu:
Put parchment paper on a baking sheet
Slice your tofu about 1/4″ thick and lay the slices on the tray.
Brush the marinade on the top of the slices and bake at 375
for 10 minutes.
Flip the slices and re-apply marinade
Put back in oven for 5 – 10 minutes and flip again if you like.
Keep in oven until you reach desired toughness / chewiness.
I cut some up to top the noodles and am saving some for sandwiches.

Here is my twist on a recipe for Singapore Noodles:

Singapore Noodles

1 pack thin rice stick noodles (rice vermicelli)

Then, thinly slice up:
1 red or green bell pepper  ( or half of each)
1 carrot into match stick size bits
3 cups Napa cabbage
3 teaspoons minced ginger
2 green onions (I used one small leek)

Then for the sauce mix together:
1/8 – 1/4 cup water or broth
1 teaspoon brown sugar  ( or favorite sweetener)
1/2 teaspoon salt  ( or 1 tsp soy sauce )
1 1/2 tablespoons curry powder, or to taste (I used 1 Tbsp.)
Prepare noodles according to package directions, drain and set aside.
Then in a skillet or a wok, heat some oil then add, scallions, sugar, ginger – then peppers, carrots and lastly cabbage

Add a little water to help cook down the cabbage.

Drain the noodles and chop

Mix with veggies and then add the remainder of the tofu marinade and taste.  I added another Tbsp or so of Bragg’s at this point.  Top each serving with some of the tofu pieces.

I also thought this would be yummy with some fresh fruit on it, so I added a few fresh pineapple chunks.  No picture with pineapple.  I ate it : )

My 11 year old in particular enjoyed our Singapore Fling.

11 responses

    • You are so welcome! The tofu worked like a dream. I’m just not that great with the steps that must be started hours before a meal, so this a big help to me. Just be aware that the package does not state that it is pre-drained. Enjoy!

    • Hey!! It’s similar to soy sauce. You can use soy in place of it in recipes or pick up some Bragg’s at a health food store or in the “health food” section of a regular store. I know they have it at my Wegman’s.

  1. Dude, I need my own singapore fling going on around here. Yay for pre-drained tofu!!! Trader Joe’s is finally coming to Utah. Dying with anticipation!

    • I bet you are excited about that! They have a really good dark chocolate bar with pecans and raisins at a MUCH better price than any of the other lower ingredient dark chocolates. MMMM maybe I need some right now – so glad you can get some too ;-)

Leave a Reply

