Some of My Good Days Look Like This… And Fabu Asian Peanut Sauce

We had a super busy day yesterday in mid-Maryland.  Evening plans and Father’s Day/my birthday on Sunday meant garden obligations had to be met in short order to allow festivities to be truly festive and to allow my neurotic soul to breathe easy and enjoy.  So as soon as breakfast was done (a big honkin’ kale smoothie made into a parfait with overnight oats – cause that’s just how I roll), I grabbed the lawn mower and got a move on.  The great thing about mowing around the garden is that it allows me to peek in and re-evaluate my plan of action.  I had originally planned to leave my broccoli and cauliflower alone as I wasn’t convinced they were done.  I had tomatoes to plant, preferably in the ground as my container tomatoes just don’t seem to do well.  I had basil to pot and various other things to plant, water, weed all in time for my 25th high school reunion (gulp, that sounds like a long time ago).

I quickly discerned that most of the broc and cauliflower were either spent or not budding (with 100 degree heat in the forecast, it seemed like time to give up).  I cleared those puppies out, planted a few new cucumbers and a tomato.  Dug up my ornamental fennel that a dear friend sent me seeds for from her plant in Michigan (i had thought it was edible so put it in the veggie garden – that’s a big plant for no eating in the veggie garden, but lovely and so yum smelling). “Mom…. a snake!”  Ran to children.  Observed large rat snake leaving patio, down retaining wall into woods.  Back to garden.  In went the watermelon.  Husband (pack mule) brought soil and compost to required location and did the part of the mowing that makes my knees go all wing-wangy.  Soil and compost piled in sunny spot, tomato planted.  Carrots pulled, beets pulled, raspberries picked (and eaten –  who could resist?!).  Dig, dig, dig, Hunh?

 Turtle in garden.  Shell completely closed.  Husband transported turtle to patio for warming.  Turtle slowly gained courage and eventually crawled away.  Weeds removed, basil planted, zucchini checked for mildew.  Japanese beetles on raspberry canes squished (without remorse).  Garden haul gathered and taken to kitchen.  Fresh carrot munched while removing leaves from 8 broc/cauliflower plants (rinse, wrap in cool wet and slip in plastic bag then fridge), beets same, carrots same.  Second fridge full.  Warmed leftover bulgur and added freshly harvested (raw) broccoli so it warmed and got the tiniest bit tender.  Stirred in homemade Asian peanut sauce from container in fridge.  Deeeeelish.  Shower.  Actually used a blowdryer – yes, a special occasion indeed.  Met friends, dropped off kids.

Reunion.  Such fun.  Hugs.  Fabulous old (and by that I mean young, vibrant, and absolutely wonderful) friends.  Stories.  Hugs.  Dinner. Cake. Wine. Bed.

Just about perfect.  Hope you are all enjoying a fabulous weekend.

Fabu Asian Peanut Sauce

  • Two large glops of peanut butter
  • A few shakes of soy or Bragg’s (to taste)
  • red chili flakes (or chili paste)
  • crushed garlic
  • minced/crushed/or powdered ginger
  • chopped cilantro
  • water

This is a wonderful sauce in that it is highly adaptable and easy to adjust for different tastes and uses.  I usually don’t measure (shocker, I know), start with the PB, and add the other ingredients to taste (which means I get to eat it while I’m making it, which is obviously a good thing).  Most of the ingredients are optional or could be changed out, but I find this combo to be the most yum.  When I’ve mixed everything but the water to taste, I add enough water to make it suit my needs.  If it’s a drizzling sauce I add more water.  If I want to dip veggies in it, less water.  It keeps beautifully and adds a lovely Asian peanut vibe to just about anything you might want to eat.  Great on noodles, fabulous on broccoli…. especially broccoli you’ve just brought in from the garden.

22 responses

    • It’s one of my staples, can really bring together a hodge podge of ingredients that I have on hand and make them seem like a meal… which is one of my favorite things to do.

    • It sounded like more than it felt like, if that makes any sense. Truthfully, the weather was so delightful and I was excited about all of our fun plans that it felt great to toil in the dirt for a while in anticipation of going all girly for the evening. ;-)

    • You’d have done the same. If you wrote down a few cooking experiments step by step I bet it would sound the same. I actually find this useful when I’m feeling like I’m not getting enough done. It’s good to remind myself of what actually did occur, including the absolutely delightful distractions in the form of wildlife and children’s discoveries. It was also about 78 degrees here, so I could have stayed out there all day.

  1. We also had an extremely busy day out in the garden, so I really loved reading this. Wonderful that you to enjoy your reunion as a well-earned reward!

  2. I don’t think there is much of anything that can’t be made better with a little peanut sauce ;) I like the simplicity of your recipe!

  3. this sounds so good! and the turtle is so cute :) I love that this is my first time here and I have read only a handful of posts but have already encountered black bears and pretty turtles mixed in with the delectable sounding recipes. I assume the wildlife at least is an anomaly – but I’ll have to come back to look for more recipes.

    • LOL. The way this summer has been so far, I wouldn’t be surprised to find a reindeer in the back yard. Thanks for stopping by! We will definitely keep posting yummy food, and any other visitors we get.

  4. Pingback: Throw Some Sauce on What You’ve Got | my sister's pantry

  5. Pingback: Go Back Jack – Baby Steps Check In | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Einstein’s Elephant -or- ReCon Convenience | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: On Becoming A Creative & Healthier Home Cook | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

