Dairy-Free version of Tomatoes with Mozzarella

I wish I could take the credit for how pleased I am with myself, but in truth I am very pleased with Angela Liddon… and with gardens, and summertime, and the smell of tomato leaves, and, and, and … Sorry, I’ll try and calm down.  Creating something tasty and healthy that includes things from one’s own garden grew is just so exciting!

We haven’t had a speck of rain in 2 weeks, which is great for playing kickball in the back yard but obviously not so great for the garden.  However, shower water, dishwater and lots of love have allowed some lovely tomatoes and basil to come our way.

One of my favorite things to do with tomatoes is slice them, add a slice of fresh mozzarella (you know the soft kind that comes in a tub with liquid) a leaf or two of fresh basil and maybe a drizzle of olive oil.  Truly a summertime treat!  However, as my husband can’t have dairy right now, I did not want to eat this in front of him.

Certainly one solution would be to eat it in the closet or in the basement, but I don’t have to stoop that low anymore!  Angela Liddon has a delightful recipe for cashew/basil cream cheese that fit the bill.

Here is the recipe:
Vegan Cashew Basil Cheese Sauce (she calls it sauce but it is pretty firm)
1 cup raw cashews
1/3 – 1/2 tsp. Himalayan sea salt -not sure the geography of my salt but it worked ;-)
1/2 tsp. cold-pressed sunflower oil – I used safflower oil
1 fresh basil leaf
1 small clove garlic
1.5 Tbsp. nutritional yeast flakes
1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice
Place 1 cup of raw cashews in a blowl of water, cover, and asd soak overnight in the fridge.  When cashews are ready, drain and place all ingredients (cashews, salt, oil, basil, garlic, yeast, and lemon juice) into a food processor and process until smooth, stopping to scrape sides of processor as necessary.  Keep refrigerated.

Squeezing in the lemon juice.

Then, place a dollop, or a slicey kind of scrape off the top of your wonderful cashew cheese onto a slice of fresh tomato, top with another basil leaf if you desire, and enjoy.

YUMMY!

Now, if you don’t have any tomato plants of your own, acquire some tomatoes from a farmer’s market, or better yet from a neighbor so you can pick it yourself in the wonderful summertime heat and make sure to smell the leaves as well.

21 responses

  1. I’m pretty pleased with you too!!! Look at you saving the day without dairy and not sneaking it in the house! I have to ask you though, did you see Annie’s cashew cheez?

    Seriously, vegan cashew cheez that melts, slices or grates, is lower in fat than the cashew sauce above and is incredibly delicious!

    made with agar agar

    http://anunrefinedvegan.com/?s=cashew+cheez

    made with pectin

    http://goodcleanfood.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/thin-crust-sriracha-bbq-tofu-and-moxerella-pizza/

      • The pectin version is even meltier. We have been eating grilled cheez and homemade tomato soup around here like it’s going out of style….

  2. I didn’t even know you posted this. I was in such a fog yesterday! Awesomeness abounds whether I’m paying attention or not. I am VERY excited to see this. Thank you my amazing Sis!!

  3. My favorite dish. I was thinking wishfully of it the other day, thanks for a vegan alternative! This looks lovely. Do you think this would work with olive oil instead (if I am not patient enough to get to the store for sunflower/safflower oil?)

    • Hi Erika! I think it would work just fine with olive oil. MIght even be better ;-) Variation is the mother of so many wonderful recipes, isn’t it? Let us know!

  4. Thanks for the great recipe! I tried it with a few modifications– used extra virgin olive oil and extra basil. I made it in the Vitamix and it was a bit too thick to process, so I added a splash of almond milk and a bit more olive oil which I think added a nice flavor. Spread it on gluten free bread topped with arugula and tomatoes. Delicious! This is a big step for me since I love dairy products so much, but am looking for some healthy alternatives. I really enjoyed this recipe! Cant wait to try the melty ones!!

    • So glad you liked it! I have to say that now that I miss dairy a lot less than I thought I would when our doc said my husband should be dairy free for awhile. Recipes like this make it possible! Thanks for sharing your blender version : )

  5. Pingback: Summer Dinners: Veggie Burgers, Vegan Cheese & Roasted Sweet Taters – Gazing In

  6. Pingback: Luscious-Lasagna-Like-Layers | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: Using Those Summer Veggies | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

