Gluten Free veggie burger/ potato cake

I was really lusting after the lentil/bulgur meat-like mix and burger Little Sis posted a few days ago.  I know, I lead a terribly exciting life…

Those burgers looked and sounded so good… and so economical.  Unfortunately, although it’s looking like my husband may eventually be able to eat gluten, the integrative physician treating his microscopic colitis wants him to stay off of gluten for now.  So… no bulgur wheat or yummy pretzel rolls over here.  I was going to settle for the spinach-chickpea burgers that Little Sis introduced me to a while back but my refrigerator, and my budget, had other plans.  My refrigerator told me that I did indeed have leftover lentils, that I had a big batch of homemade hummus that was not disappearing fast enough and I had just purchased some lovely yukon gold potatoes.   Hmmmmm.

Potato pancakes are fun, but honestly, standing over a frying pan for a half hour making a batch is much less appealing in the evening than it is (sometimes) in the morning.  And so, the veggie burger / potato cake was born or the VegPotSlab for short.

I mixed:
1.5 cups of homemade hummus (I only emphasize homemade because homemade hummus is CHEAP and we are trying to share more frugal ideas right now).  Little Sis shares several hummus recipes in earlier posts.
1.5 cups of cooked lentils
3 cups cut, boiled potatoes (I used yukon gold that were on sale – but any potato will do)
and mashed all three into unity with a potato masher  Ohm…. OHM… Whew – unity can be hard work :-)

Then I added 1/2 cup brown rice flour to thicken it up a bit…

dusty mash

Then I sauteed one medium/large onion and 4 large handfuls of torn baby spinach in some olive oil with a little rosemary from the garden

I mixed the veggies into the VegPotSlab mix,  added salt and pepper to taste, a large pinch of sage and 1/2 Tbsp ground cumin.

I schmopped large spoonfuls onto parchment paper lined baking trays and then tried to tidy them up a bit.  Faster and neater than the make patties in the hands method.

Starting to show some promise

Then I brushed one tray of the burgers with safflower oil and left the other alone just to see if it made a difference.  It did not.  Skip that step!  In fact, the browning that took place was on the bottom, so while I didn’t do it, I recommend flipping the burgers.  We ran out of time and had to eat so we could go to TaeKwonDo, but the burgers held together on a bun and made a nice GF entree for my husband which he ate along with my colorful cole slaw and some vinegared cucumbers.  I guesstimate that I had the burgers in a 375 degree oven for about 17 minutes – For firmer more browned burgers, flip them at this point for a little browning on the other side.

My son is sitting here watching me type and wanted to say something…

“They were awesome”  – biggsis’s son

Music to my ears.

10 responses

  1. I love that you coined the word “schmopped”! Hehe! The VegPotSlabs look super tasty. What a great idea to use potatoes as as a binder too as most veggie burgers use bread crumbs.

    Is your hubby taking probiotics? I would love to mail you 10 days worth of the one I’m using to see if it makes a difference for him. They are a bit pricey, so it’s nice to try before you buy with this one.
    http://www.gardenoflife.com/ProductsforLife/DigestiveHealth/PrimalDefensesupsupULTRA/tabid/639/Default.aspx
    I had taken other probiotics, but I swear this one stopped the colitis dead in its tracks. It has weird soil organisms in it as well as the beneficial flora….

    Thanks for the shout out on the pretzel rolls! Hopefully he will get well soon so he can have gluten :)

    • You are very kind and generous Somer! He is actually taking a probiotic and a number of other things as prescribed by this MD. The whole process has been really fascinating including blood work and saliva testing. Most importantly, he’s feeling better!! Thanks again for the offer, and yes he is looking forward to bread :-)

      • Good to know. I took a prescription probiotic and it didn’t do anything for me. I hope your husband is having better results. It’s crazy getting all the testing and stuff done, while interesting, it’s also horrible. So glad that he is feeling better. Do you think it’s a result of dietary changes? And bread is always something to look forward too. I’ve tried a bunch of gluten free varieties and while some are pretty good, most are just an insult to the real thing.

  2. Pingback: Sweet & Sour Lentils | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: A Better (Veggie) Burger | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: Nutshroom Neatballs (GF,DF): Endless Possibilities | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

