Soccacia / Gluten Free Pizza crust

Going gluten free to treat my husband’s colitis has introduced us to lots of new foods!  As of yet, nothing that feels quite like wheat bread, but I find that if I think of the gluten-free foods as something new and exciting rather than as a meager substitute for bread, I am often more than pleasantly surprised.  I know, it is not earth shattering news, the impact of positive attitude, but I am indeed trying to take some of the advice I freely give my 11 year old regarding trying new foods.

Back to the GF adventure… We have made a doubly pleasant discovery in the easy and flexible form of dosas and now Soccas.  Socca is a mediterranean snack that is basically a baked or broiled chickpea crepe/tortilla/crust/dough type thing.  It is really similar to a dosa except that instead of cooking the chickpea batter like a pancake, you bake it.   A gluten free dough-type thing I can bake in the oven is begging for topping.  “Please Ma’am,” it says in a nasal chickpea tone, “slather me with veggies and perhaps tomato sauce and vegan cheese!!”

I love it when my food speaks to me.  I also love combining elements of a meal so that I don’t have to serve a bunch of different items.   Throw it all together Baby, it all ends up the same place anyway, right?

I did not venture for pizza tonight as I didn’t have the ingredients or time for vegan cheese, (hubby is not eating dairy either) but a socca pizza is definitely in our future.  Tonight, I figured I’d experiment with this Socca thang and just plop some sauteed whatever-needs-to-be-picked-from-the-garden on top.

Swiss chard wins!  And Swiss chard rules by the way, so I was delighted to have a big armful.

Here is the recipe for socca that I used (borrowed from The Vegan Chickpea):

1/2 cup garbanzo bean flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
1/2 cup cold, filtered water
1-2 garlic cloves, sliced
1/2 tsp sea salt
Preheat oven to 375.  Prepare a 9″ round cake pan by cutting out a round piece of parchment to fit the bottom of the pan and then lightly greasing the sides of the pan and parchment. (Don’t go all crazy cutting this out perfectly, but pour carefully so it doesn’t go under and know that whatever hits the pan will stick a little.)

In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine garbanzo flour, water, garlic, and sea salt and whisk until completely combined and no lumps remain.  Pour into prepared cake pan.  (It is quite wet and I was sure I wouldn’t be able to post this because it wouldn’t work… but it did!!)

Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes.  (You can see below that it dries and firms up.)

Add your sauteed toppings and pop back if needed to synchronize warmth.  I sauteed onion with the swiss chard in a little olive oil and salt and pepper, but really the possibilities are endless.

Much more filling than wheat dough crust with some leftovers to take to work.  Easy dinner and easy lunch… That’s the way, uh-huh uh-huh, I like it!  Hubby is getting better as well, making all of the GF adventure very rewarding indeed!

13 responses

    • Absolutely not! I LOVE people to share :-) Honestly, sometimes I think I have more impact on people’s health through this blog than I do as a nurse!! Glad you found us and thanks for sharing.

    • It is not easy, is it? I’m sorry about the Crohn’s. I do know people who handle it with diet, I hope you all are having good results! We have been very happy with the advice and supplements prescribed by our local integrative MD – an actual MD who studies nutrition and balance of other body systems and hormones and such. Glad you found us – I’m heading to your site right now ;-)

    • It’s very easy because there is no rising involved, so nothing to flop. It starts dense… it stays dense. But it’s tasty and toppable! Good luck!

  1. We must be on the same wavelength. I made a socca pizza last week, but you didn’t see a post on it because it was one of my failures…. Note to self, canned garbanzos are NOT a good substitute for garbanzo flour (I was out and thought I was all clever and stuff with my substitution) It made a super soggy pizza that tasted like pizza on top of hummus….. We had to slop in onto our plates.

    • I’d be delighted to be on the same wavelength with you :-) I confess that what I poured in the pan was pretty soggy – but I guess the flour still had some absorption power whereas the beans did not. I love that you ate it anyway. We would have also…. or at least some of it!

      • We pretty much eat everything that’s not absolutely gross. Hehe. It didn’t turn out like I wanted but was still somewhat edible. I’ve gotta try again with the flour. I have some in my pantry now and Friday night is often pizza night at our house ;)

  2. Ohhh great! Always on the prowl for non wheat ‘traditional’ items like pizza that are kid friendly-ish. If you’ve never had poppadums (lentil flatbread) I’ve used them with nice results with the caveat that one must consume them straight away, lest they sog…
    *anna

    • We LOVE poppadum. And now that you’ve inspired me, and nicely given me the correct spelling… I’ll have to find a recipe and try them! I didn’t even realize that they were wheat free. My husband will be so excited! Thank you : -)

  3. Pingback: Carb Attack – Another Warm Loaf for Ya | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: GF pizza crust mix review and super fast pizza sauce | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

