Breyer’s Frozen Dairy Dessert Reply

Progress can be slow.  As slow as melting ‘Frozen Dairy Dessert.’

I wanted to keep you posted on my interactions with Unilever, the multi-national corporation that owns the Breyer’s brand.  If you missed the letter I sent to Unilever about the change in many of their Breyer’s products from ‘all-natural ice cream’ to ‘Frozen Dairy Dessert’, you can read it here.

Clearly, I am not the first person to complain about the change in quality and taste as well as the addition of UN-natural ingredients to the ice cream formerly known as Breyer’s all Natural.  My letter was met with an almost immediate email response (read below) and the promise of a more in-depth look at my concerns in the future.  The email includes a list of the flavors that will not be changed to Frozen Dairy Dessert – but beware!!!  The ‘Ice Cream’ label does not preclude the use of either tara or guar gum or of caramel color which is an additive that the Center for Science in the Public Interest places on their AVOID list.  Please feel free to add your voice to the discontent appearing in the Unilever in-box at this link.

Additionally, I just received a coupon in the mail for a free Breyer’s product.  This was also obviously a canned response as the opening sentence is, “Thank you for contacting us regarding Breyers Ice Cream.  We are very sorry to learn you had this experience.”  I’m not deriding them for the canned comments, after all they did respond quickly, just amused and wondering if I will indeed ever hear any more.

As to the coupon for the product I swore I would never buy again… I will actually use this coupon to obtain for free the least offensive of their ice creams because it is not putting money in their pocket…. in fact it is taking it OUT of their pocket.  If a lot of people sent them letters to complain about the changes, Unilever would be sending out a lot of free coupons.  Might cost them more than they are saving by using cheap ingredients!  I’m just sayin…  Here’s the link for comments again.

And finally the moment you’ve all been waiting patiently for… here’s the email I received.

“Thank you for contacting us regarding Breyers Ice Cream .

Breyers® products have consistently delivered high-quality ingredients, great flavors and smooth creaminess that our fans love and we assure you that we remain committed to using high-quality ingredients in all our Breyers® products. Our Ice Cream varieties and new Frozen Dairy Dessert options continue to use fresh milk, cream and sugar.

What distinguishes our Frozen Dairy Dessert from our Ice Cream is that it’s blended in a whole new way to create a smoother texture, tends to have lower fat, and maintains a better texture throughout distribution…from our freezer to your home freezer.

Breyers® offers a wide range of products to meet the different taste, nutritional, and value needs of consumers. Many flavors will not be converting to Frozen Dairy Dessert, including: Natural Vanilla, Natural Strawberry, Chocolate, French Vanilla, Vanilla/Chocolate/Strawberry, Mint Chocolate Chip, Homemade Vanilla, Coffee, Vanilla/Chocolate, Lactose-Free Vanilla, Triple Chocolate, and NASCAR® Checkered Flag.

Your comments are extremely important to us and we will share them with our staff. We thank you for your interest in our products and we will be sending you a complimentary coupon via U.S. Postal mail which you should receive within 7-10 business days.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Breyers”

All I can say is…. Eat Food!  REAL Food!

25 responses

  1. When a majority of us make our purchases from the produce section rather than from the scary, inner aisles of the grocery stores we might see some positive responses from these big food conglomerates. Their “food” is slowly (and maybe not to so slowly) killing us. Bravo for writing!

    • Thanks Annie. You are so right about keeping to the outer edges of the store where the real food is. It is so disheartening when a company like Breyer’s which offered a natural indulgence for those who eat dairy, that is, finks out on it’s vision, it’s customers and the planet. All in one fell frozen swoop!!

  2. Ack! I’ll stick w/ my simple little ice cream maker or quickie ice cream in the vita-mix thank you verry much Breyer’s. Your noble efforts fell on deaf ears it seems Bigg Sis, but it does not mean we should not continue to push the corporations. BOYCOTT!
    *anna

  3. I do smell a boycott-a-comin’ And I love the choco-nana Little Sis described in the Vita Mix, plus we have made the blueberry ice cream that is in the Vita Mix recipe book… with less sugar I believe – but I knew all the ingredients, no matter the amount!

  4. Too bad for Breyers. Breyers all natural was the only ice cream I would buy on occasion. I was really hoping they would come out with an organic, all natural version, but it looks like they’re going in the opposite direction.

  5. Well you tried. It is going to take them a while to get it. The food industry is so large they can really do what ever they want. The majority of the population eats the wrong food most of the time-Bryers can’t fix that problem even if they wanted to.
    We have to read the labels… and most importantly eat food without labels.

    • Absolutely. The whole thing was certainly a reminder to me that I can’t take ingredients for granted. Companies change hands and change their minds and change their ingredients!!

  6. Thank you so much! I just discovered this Frozen Dairy Dessert issue today AFTER purchasing Breyer’s & quickly researched on the Internet. The taste wasn’t as creamy & thick & I thought it was just me. Now I see even in the “natural” ice creams additives are now standard?!! Thanks for the list.

    • There are a few out there! I just got to taste Turkey Hill’s All Natural version in a black carton and the vanilla bean has nothing objectionable at all in it! I am travelling and hoping I can find it at home. Thanks for your comment! Hope you’ll visit us again :-)

  7. I have an unnatural love of Breyer’s Vanilla fudge swirl (maybe one of the lamest flavors ever, but I love it). I have noticed that the crazy flavors were the Frozen Dairy Dessert and now even my lame flavor too?! I am glad that I am not the only one aghast at this, I guess I am going to Turkey Hill full time now…

    • Hi Christy. Yes, there are many of us upset with Breyer’s (now owned by Unilever) – and losing your favorite flavor stinks. Turkey Hill does have a nice all natural!

  8. Apparently Breyers/Unilever has heard enough. The feedback page has been removed from their website, both via the link in your article, and the “Ask Breyers” link on their own FAQ page. It just goes to an error page that says “We’re Sorry”. I wonder if they really mean it?

  9. Forgive me for commenting on a blog entry that is a few months old.

    Anyway, I sent a letter to Breyer’s a few months ago myself regarding similar issues as yours. In mine I also pointed out that I was aware that “Frozen Dairy Dessert” both means that the product can’t legally be called ice cream, and that it contains less then 10 percent milkfat. Their reply? The exact same canned letter that you got, along with a coupon. I gave the coupon away (with the warning to carefully check each carton to make sure they are buying ice cream and not some parody of ice cream) and since then have never bought any Breyer’s product again.

    Another thing I have noticed that that their product is perhaps the most shrunken from an original one half gallon size of any brand out there. Most or all brands in my local stores are shrunken from that old half gallon size, but Breyer’s along with Dreyer’s/Edy’s and perhaps one or two others are by far the most. So not only has Breyer’s declined in quality by a vast degree, but they offer less for the dollar as well.

    I have heard this isn’t unique to the USA, in Canada they use the term “Frozen Dessert” and most or all of the flavors that are now “Frozen Dairy Dessert” are “Frozen Dessert” in Canada, due to the same or similar reasons as to why they are here in the States.

    • Thanks for your story Evan. They must think we are stupid or something. Never ceases to amaze me that the response to such an overwhelming complaint is a coupon for another. We have found some other ice creams that have the OLD Breyer’s ingredient list. Hope you have as well!

Leave a Reply

