I’m Crackers for/from Almond Milk Mash

Now that’s a confusing title.  I ditched some even more confusing titles, but suffice it to say that I’ve been trying to figure out what to do with the mushy almond stuff leftover after making almond milk.  This post is a Eureka! for my first success with AMM (almond milk mash).  The recipe provided can be used with or without the marvelous mash, so read on if you are not yet an almond masher!

Making almond milk is very easy and MUCH cheaper than store bought.  It is about 1/4th the cost after you pay for your nut milk bag.  I followed instructions provided by our dear friend Somer at Good Clean Food.  After using 1 cup of almonds (which swells to 1.5 cups when soaked for 24 hours in the refrigerator) I am left with about 1 cup of AMM.  I decided to add some of it to an awesome cracker recipe from Angela Liddon called Endurance Crackers.  They are gluten free and packed with energy.  These are NOT low calorie folks, but sometimes I need some calories – just ask Jillian Michaels who regularly leads me to new realms of soreness and exhaustion!

At any rate – Here is the original recipe with my alterations because even if you don’t make your own almond milk, you can still make these awesome, healthy crackers.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup chia seeds
1/2 cup sunflower seeds        (I used 1/2 cup AMM plus 1/3 cup each of sunflower, pumpkin and sesame seeds)
1/2 cup pepita seeds (or pumpkin seeds)
1/2 cup sesame seeds
1 cup water    (I replaced 1 Tbsp of water with 1 Tbsp of bragg’s liquid aminos – you could also use soy sauce)
1 large garlic clove, finely grated
1 tsp grated sweet onion (I’ve used regular onion as well and the onion gives a lot of flavor)
1/4 tsp kosher salt, or to taste
Herbamare & kelp granules, to taste (optional)  (I did not use /don’t have)

1. Preheat the oven to 325F and line a large baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, mix the seeds together.  In a small bowl, mix the water, grated garlic, and grated onion. Whisk well. Pour the water mixture onto the seeds and stir until thick and combined. Season with salt, and optional Herbamare and Kelp granules, to taste. Add spices or fresh herbs if you wish.

3. Spread the mixture onto the prepared baking sheet with the back of a spoon until it’s less than 1/4 inch thick. Not to worry if a couple parts become too thin, you can just patch them up.  (I found it much easier to spread evenly using my hand than a spatula or spoon.)

4. Bake at 325F for 30 minutes. Remove from oven, slice into crackers,

Carefully flip the crackers with a spatula.

Bake for another 30 minutes, watching closely after about 25 minutes.

The bottoms will be lightly golden in colour. Allow to cool completely on the pan. Store in a container or plastic baggy.

These crackers are hearty and tasty with or without AMM, but AMM saves me a little money and makes me feel like a good doobie who uses all parts of the animal… er, plant.  Now if I could just figure out what to do with the caps from the commercial almond milk containers that I saved figuring they must be useful in some way ;-)

41 responses

    • I do not have a dehydrator – but I am lusting after one! That is good to know. I have been keeping the almond meal in the refrigerator until I’m ready to experiment.

  1. So did you just mix in a cup of AMM? I have some in the fridge too…. And I LOVE those crackers. I got RAVES from my tap class for them. Nothing like bunch of dancing middle age ladies to finish off a plate of nut and seed crackers. ;-)

  2. So, we’ve even better improved the almond milk making so it’s faster and easier (thank goodness), and this is a reminder that I should update it! I love the idea of making crackers with the leftover meal – and all of those delicious seeds – they look delicious!

    • I’ve so appreciated your first instructions, but faster and easier is always good. Let me know when you update the almond milk recipe :-)

  3. If you’d like to take the crackers up another notch and feel good about recycle/reuse……when I make my crackers I also add some of the left over pulp from the juicer! That adds the veggie element to it too!!

  4. You make your own almond milk! Do you have a link on how to? There is no carrageenan free, store bought almond milk, so I had to switch to Rice Dream. I would love to make my own almond milk… if it’s easy, that is.

    Those crackers look soooo good!

    Thanks.

    • No problem Brad! The very first link in this post – Good Clean Food – will take you to the recipe I use for making almond milk. I recommend using a wide mouth jar to drain the milk into so you can get your hand in and give a final squeeze after it’s drained. And make sure you soak your almonds in the refrigerator as they can turn bad on you otherwise. It’s not hard and SO much cheaper. There is also a link for the nut milk bag I bought from Amazon for straining. Good luck and tell us how it goes!

    • Hey Brad – it’s not a 4 day max – that is only as long as we have had it before it is consumed, so I don’t know what the max is, but it is more than 4 days. If we ever have a batch last longer than that, I’ll let you know :-)

  5. I’m so glad you make the homemade almond milk! We started making cashew milk since the cashews dissolve completely (no waste) and don’t require straining. I even figured out a method that doesn’t involve soaking, but does involve boiling water, then ice ;) I may have to get back into almond milk though, it would be worth it to use the pulp for this recipe alone! Plus almonds are cheaper!

    • Ooh! Cashew milk sounds good also, especially that they dissolve completely with no waste. That sounds very interesting. Do you have a link to a “how to” Somer?

      It may take me a while to get around to making the almond, or cashew milk, but I will some day. I don’t know how you find the time to do all kitchen work you do.

      Thank you bigsis and thanks in advance Somer.

      • Hey Brad! Here you go!

        http://goodcleanfood.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/cashew-milk/

        use less water for a creamier method. My current no soak method is 1 cup raw cashews in Blentec. Add 3 C. boiling water and blend until completely incorporated. Divide the liquid between 1 or 2 quart jars: Add ice to dilute to your desired level of creaminess (skim is 2 full quarts, 2% is 6 cups, whole is 4 cups or 1 quart). Add a pinch of salt to each quart and a bit of agave or pure maple syrup to extend shelf life and improve the all ready delicious flavor.

  6. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

    I drank cow milk (yuk) for years, then about 8 years ago switched to store bought soy milk (too gassy), then almond milk (there are none without carrageenan), currently rice milk (Rice Dream, no carrageenan). Rice Dream is OK, and gets the job done with my oatmeal, apple pies and vegan cookies, but can’t wait to take it to the next level with the homemade almond and cashew milk. Thanks!

    I’m going to do both one of these days. First, I’m in need of a new blender after mine died and not looking forward to the big expense for a good one.

  7. Sorry! One last question: you mention shelf life, anyone know how long the homemade almond and/or cashew milk is good for in the fridge? I know store bought is about 7-10 days after opened.
    Thanks again!

    • 4 days is our tops so far – but only because it ran out… don’t know how long it will last beyond that! Do make sure you soak your almonds in the frig – I made some after soaking on the counter and the milk went bad in a day. Let us know how it goes Brad!

  8. Got it! Thanks! The 4 day max kind of put a damper on my enthusiasm for home-made nut milk. Will still give it a shot someday though.

  9. Pingback: Groovin’ the Cauliflower | my sister's pantry

  10. Pingback: Oh Those Tasty Sneaky Greens | my sister's pantry

  11. I’m allergic to dairy milk and so make almond milk instead. I was at a loss for what to do with the resulting mash and so am very happy indeed to find this recipe! :) I just wanted to comment that I had a dehydrator but gave it away because it was, frankly, more of a bother than useful. I found two great articles, one telling how to dehydrate foods in a microwave and another telling how to dehydrate foods in an oven. I dehydrated some carrots in my microwave and they turned out great! Now I’m looking forward to trying to dehydrate the mash as well and then maybe seeing about turning it into another type of almond flour. Then again, maybe not. Maybe I’ll just turn it all into these crackers instead. :) At any rate, here the links to these two articles. I hope you’ll find them helpful. Boy, am I ever glad I found this page!

    http://www.ehow.com/how_4867543_dehydrate-food-microwave.html

    http://www.ehow.com/how_4964887_dehydrate-food-oven.html#page=0

    • Sorry I’m so late in this response… so glad you liked the recipe! We make these regularly and I have experimented with adding other spice combos to make them interesting. They are so satisfying. Thanks for the articles! I keep rejecting the idea of buying a dehydrator due to lack of counter space and the affordable ones have plastic shelves which bothers me…. so other solutions are always welcome! I have not yet had luck drying the almond milk mash in the oven – but I’m going to try the microwave. Thanks again!

      • Since last time I posted, I have started dehydrating the almond mash every time I make almond milk and then grinding it into flour after it’s completely dry. (It can start to spoil and go bad if there’s any moisture whatsoever left in it after dehydration, so I prefer to have it extremely dry when I’m done, even if it means having it almost “toasty.”) It works fine – and also gives me another type of flour I can use whenever I want some for baking or making gravies or sauces or whatever other reason. this is especially good since I can’t use wheat or any other flour. I am allergic to ALL grains except barley, oats, and millet and have grinding my own flours from these three plus from various types of dried beans such as navy beans and black beans and so on up until. Now I’m staring the paleo diet and am in the process of slowly eliminating all grains from my diet, so almond flour and almond mash flour is a real blessing to me indeed!
        I am also going to get incredibly brave and start dehydrating any leftover pulp or whaever from juicing and grinding that into another type of flour and experimenting with that for new adventures in flour as well. Should be interesting, at the very least! :-)
        Also, I just wanted to comment that my magic bullet does a fabulous job of grinding the dried almond mash into flour for me and I use it a lot for this and other purposes as well. It is, however, too small for making my almond milk, so I use my regular size blender for that purpose instead.
        Before I forget, I just wanted to share that I went to Home Depot and bought a package of two paint strainer bags and I use those for straining my almond milk. They do absolutely the very best of all methods I have ever tried, and it is not consequently the only method I’m ever going to use from now on.

      • One last thing: I made and used my own soy milk and mash for many, many years; but now, when I try to eat or dring anything soy, I get extremely itchy; so now soy is no longer an option for me. I am so thankful for almonds….and also for such wonderful and helpful sites as this one! Thank you so much for existing! :-)

      • What great information. I hadn’t thought of grinding in the blender after drying. AHA! Now I too shall have almond flour for baking. I know that some people use the mash from their juicer for baking while it’s still wet, but I like your idea of drying and grinding it. I tend to bury mine in the garden as ready made compost, but another gluten free-flour-type thing would be welcome as well. Thanks for sharing all of this information – we appreciate your input and are so glad you have found useful information on our site!

      • I should mention that I actually make and use TWO types of almond flour, not just the almond meal flour. The other one, I just put almonds into my blender and grind them fine. Then I pour it all into a wire sieve placed in a bowl and rub it through the sieve. The “finished” flour goes through the sieve into the bowl. Then I take what’s left in the sieve and grind it finer in my coffe bean/spice grinder to get it finer, after which I repeat the sieving process. I keep doing this several times until there’s as much fine flour in the bowl as possible. Usually, in the long run, there’s only a small amount of very small stuff remaining that even the coffee grinder can’t do anything with, and I just discard that. This straight almond flour has a sweeter taste to it, whereas the almond meal flour tends to be more bland tasting, sort of like white wheat flour. I made biscuits with straing almond flour before I started dehydrating the mash, and my husband loved them! He said they were the best ones I’ve made yet! :-) One last thing: do NOT blandh the almonds before grinding into flour. Just use them straight out of the package they came home from the store in.
        One last thing: when you dehydrate almond mash, make sure youlet it cool off COMPLETELY before grinding it into flour. Otherwise, heat from the dehydrating process can reintroduce moisture into it and cause mold iet cetera problems as well. Also, I turn it over with a spatula about halfway through dehydrating to help it dry evenly on both sides; and after I’ve done the second side, I turn it back over and give it another thirty seconds drying time just for good measure. :-) It’s been working like a charm every single time so far.

  12. Pingback: Even Saucier – shortcut Harissa, North African Delight | my sister's pantry

    • Thank you for the details on making almond flour – I really appreciate it. Can’t stand throwing the almond milk mash away but we can’t eat enough crackers to keep up with it ;-)

  13. I was just reviewing the almond milk recipe the link to which I posted here and just wanted to make two comments on it, both of which have been very helpful and more satisfying to me.
    First, the recipe calls for 1/3 cup of almonds to 2 cups water. I tried this first but found the resulting milk to be a ittle to thin and watery tasting for my liking; so I upped the almonds from 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup, and this has turned out to be just right for me. Now it tastes just the way I feel it should taste! :-)
    Also, the recipe says just straining the milk one time through a wire mesh sieve is sufficient. Perhaps it is sufficient for some; but I always found it left a fair amount of pulp behind in the milk, and after several tries I partially resolved the issue by straining every glass of almond milk before drinking it. What a bother! I resisted the idea of buying cheesecloth because it seems to me cheesecloth is a little too porous to do a very satisfactory job. So when my husband suggested using the paint thinner bags, I jumped at the chance to get some and try them out. As far as I’m concerned, the results are absolutely perfect now, every time first try! :-)
    One thing I did learn about using the; rinse them thoroughly between milk batches and turn them inside out and rinse again before doing the next one. Before I started doing this, I was getting just the merest hint of mash at the bottom of each glass of milk and each batch altogether. Doing this now seems to have taken care of that problem very nicely.

    • I get by with one rinse using the nut milk bag I mentioned above – might be more expensive, but if you want to cut down a step, you might try it. Thanks again for all of the info!

  14. Pingback: Creamy Walnut Pesto (DF, GF) | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

