Easy & Delicious GF Pie Substitute

I hate to keep whining about this gluten-free thing, but I’m amazed how often it comes up.  Not just as an ingredient but as a convenience – what could be more convenient or available than a sandwich – and even as a tradition.  Every year (for 7 glorious, much-appreciated years), Dad and Step-Mom have invited us for a week at the Chautauqua Institution, a place full of thought, the arts, compassionate spirituality and for us, family meals that include pie made at a local farmer’s market.  My husband and my Dad often enjoy pie 3 times a day, with the ‘all that fruit’ offering the perfect justification for their over-indulgence.

What to do about this gluten-full tradition?  As much as I want to help, I am on vacation and not about to spend the week trying to perfect gluten free pie crust.  So, I sought to create a lazy alternative that would satisfy the pie-ready-triangle-shaped space in my husband’s gut.

Here is my easy peezy, lemon squeezy cobbler recipe that has been very well received.  Thank goodness!!
I made it twice, and guess what Little Sis? – the second time was better than the first!

Easy Peezy Lemon Squeezy Cobbler or EP Cobbler
- Fruit to cover the bottom of a 9 by 13 pan about 1/2 – 1 inch thick.
The first time I made it I used 8 peaches in a slightly smaller pan… The second time I used 3 peaches, 1 small nectarine and a pint of blueberries.  The result was better with the fruit more spread out.
- 2 cups oats divided into 1 cup measures
- 1/2 cup unpacked brown sugar – which translates to about 1/3 packed I’m guessing
- 1/4 cup dairy butter (I haven’t tried vegan butter or oil, let me know if you do!)
- 1/4 tsp salt (optional – I did not use, but it probably would only improve the flavor)

Pre-heat oven to 350
Wash and cut if using large fruit – don’t cut blueberries ;-)
Spread in bottom of lightly oiled pan
Mix in 1 cup of rolled oats and stir around

In mixing bowl mix 1 cup oats, butter cut into chunks, brown sugar and salt if using
Mash it around until it is small clumps.
Spread the small clumps out as evenly as possible over the fruit

Bake for about a half hour, or until lightly browned on top and fruit is fragrant and soft.

Serve to pie lovers on pie plates with pie forks and with loving instructions to place, with or without ice cream, in pie hole :-)

(Take a big serving for yourself because they’ll be back for more and eat it all.   You know how they are.)

21 responses

    • The Chautauqua Institution was started as a religious community focusing on intellectual and artistic interests as well as religious ones. It has been here for a very long time – I’m going to say early 1800′s but am not positive. The season is 9 weeks long and each week has an intellectual theme with speakers to address the theme, a guest preacher who leads a non-denominational service in an outdoor amphitheater each AM as well as a guest rabbi who also leads services and discussions. The arts come in the form of a symphony orchestra, several art galleries, a theater and an opera as well as programs for young artists in all of those media who come to study and then share their art. Last night we enjoyed a performance of the symphony and tonight we will see the North Carolina Dance Theater perform with a bluegrass band and the symphony. You can learn more at ciweb.org Gotta run – there’s so much to do today :-)

  1. Oh wow…amazing. Do you mean the Chautauqua in New York State? I know there are a few others around the country. My parents have a summer home across the lake from the Institution (in NY) and lucky me I grew up poking around that whole area – I just love it all, the farms, the big trees, the hills, the water and especially the Institution. I even got married there (okay so the marriage didn’t take, but not Chautauqua’s fault). Wonderful memories.

  2. Um, I want some for my pie hole! We make a lot of similar crumbles around here. It’s nice to have a light dessert that tastes delicious and satisfies everyone!

    • I’m with ya! It is great when health, taste and unanimous applause meet in the kitchen. Hmmmm, that would be a good title for a TV show. We should have a TV show. You game? :-)

Leave a Reply

