Oh What a Veggie-full Morning!

It can be challenging to fit a healthy breakfast in.  My 11 year old just began middle school which requires us to be out of the house at 6:50am.  Days I work at the hospital I am out by 6:00 but that is only 3 days a week and my boys are not exactly morning people.  Cooking breakfast is not always going to happen.  And just at this juncture I have decided that we need to incorporate more vegetables into our breakfasts.  I’ve been working on this and wanted to share a few ideas for speedy veggie-full breakfasts.  I would LOVE to hear any ideas you all have as well.

There is of course the green smoothie and with everyone getting up early it is possible to run the blender at full tilt without getting hit by a shoe or some other missile.   Little Sis and I have both written about kale smoothies (spinach works as well) and you can find green smoothie recipes here and there

And of course, sauteed veggies can be added to scrambled eggs or tofu for a quick veggie add.  I recommend sauteing extra veggies when preparing a meal and saving some for the next morning to mix in with eggs or tofu.  I also rarely make an actual omelet.  It takes too long for the egg to set – I am not that patient and don’t always have that time in the am, so I just scramble them all together.  It’s all going the same place anyway, right?  Adding good salsa to eggs is another way to slip in the veggies.

Adding sliced tomato to toast or bagel with cream cheese fits in a bit more veggie… and there’s still fresh tomatoes for awhile!

Lastly, and finally some recipes… there is the glorious sweet potato.  A fine ol’ tuber packed full of vitamins A & C and fiber.  Here’s a lovely way to start your day with a veggie.

Sweet potato and rice:
1/2 – 1 cooked sweet potato (I always leave skin on) per person
1/2 – 1 cup cooked brown rice
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 – 2 Tbsp. raisins (optional but highly recommended)
1 – 2 Tbsp. pecans or walnuts (optional but highly recommended)
A splash of milk of whatever kind for those who like moist (optional)

Place together in a bowl.  You can chop the sweet potato if you wish – I just cut it as I ate and mixed in the other stuff.
Re-heat and eat.  Very satisfying, healthy and delicious – and it’s really already made if you cook the potatoes and rice the night before!

Incorporate sweet potatoes into baked goods including pancakes.  I cut up a cooked sweet potato into small chunks (leaving the skin on) and mixed it into my gluten free pancake recipe.  I used one medium sweet potato for 1.5 pancake recipe.  I also used less almond milk as Hubby is not doing dairy and threw in a little cinnamon.  It was the best pancake I ever ate in my life.  I loved encountering the chunks of sweet potato.

Here are links to a couple of recipes that use sweet potato or pumpkin for breakfast that I’m going to try as well.  All of the recipes on this post are gluten free as well.  Bonus!

Healthy Pumpkin Bites

Blueberry Oat Breakfast Muffins

Oh what a veggie-full morning!
Oh what a veggie-full day!
I’ve got a veggie-full feeling…
I’m getting healthy today!

27 responses

  1. I’d say bars or muffins. You could always add in purees of say carrots or pumpkin instead of applesauce for the oil.
    I know what you mean though – last year my oldest son was eating badly due to me being unable to get out of bed being pregnant (he was in 8th grade). This year, hah, not so likely buddy! I’ll be up and at ‘em!

  2. An easy cheat is to use quinoa as a breakfast grain, instead of oatmeal. You aren’t getting the veggies, but you’re using a complete protein. You could also puree some veggies, especially cauliflower, and use them in pancake batter, making a whole bunch, and then throwing them in the toaster in the morning.

  3. Yes, this! I’ve done a few posts on this I don’t cook at the buttcrack of dawn thing. Ok, maybe not using those exact words… The things that have stuck have been the crockpot oatmeal, and making the scrambled eggs & veggies ahead of time to microwave later.

      • I was talking about this over the weekend, and got some new suggestions for you: French toast, with the syrup/butter/whatever in the middle, then made into a sandwich (good reheated or cold), also the same thing, but with pancakes. Not exactly vegetabley, but looks like you have that part covered :)

      • Thank you! My son actually prefers his French toast with some peanut butter on top. Much healthier than syrup…. Of course he then sprinkles cinnamon sugar on top :-)

  4. Thanks you! I had completely forgotten about sweet potato in the pancakes. I tried it a LONG time ago when the kids were younger and they didn’t go for it, but I think it’s been long enough that they may not remember. And I like the rice idea as well. I used to do something like that without the potato and with an egg – so your version is just right for my new self. :-) And thanks so much for all the awesome posts so I could be truly away.

  5. Pingback: Tuber Gratitude | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Gluten free pump-king pancakes | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: Baby Steps Down the Road to Better Health | my sister's pantry

  8. Pingback: Go Back Jack – Baby Steps Check In | my sister's pantry

  9. Pingback: Almond Lemon Jots | my sister's pantry

  10. Pingback: Einstein’s Elephant -or- ReCon Convenience | my sister's pantry

  11. Pingback: Shweet Potato Stew | my sister's pantry

  12. Pingback: Lettuce and Eggs? You’ll be Glad You Did | my sister's pantry

  13. Pingback: Pumpkin French Toast | my sister's pantry

  14. Pingback: Healthful Breakfast In A Flash | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

