Our Weekend Pleasure

Just about every weekend, we have pancakes (I trust this is not new information for those of you who’ve been here for a while). We all love pancakes, and while typical pancake breakfasts are not exactly low sugar, I’ve cut the sugar out of the batter, and we’ve greatly limited syrup. The kids get to have some with their first pancake, and then we turn to jam. There was a smidgen of resistance the first time we announced this policy change, and not a gripe since. They are just happy to have pancakes; and I am happy to see them happy eating wholesome homemade breakfast food. I am even happier that I have a weekly opportunity to tweak the family favorite and experiment with grain combinations and flavors. Today’s offering… Momma’s MultiGrain Thanksgiving Pancakes. As you might have guessed, these include our favorite tuber in a starring role.

Momma’s Multigrain Thanksgiving Pancakes

  • 1.5 c whole wheat flour
  • .5 c all purpose flour
  • .5 c corn meal
  • .5 c spelt or buckwheat flour
  • 3 t baking powder
  • 1.5 t baking soda
  • 1.5 t salt
  • nutmeg to taste
  • 3 eggs (I used flax eggs)
  • 3 c butter milk or soured milk (I used soured almond milk)
  • 6 T oil (I used canola)
  • cooked sweet potato cut into small bites
  • handful of craisins (any dried fruit, I used craisins because I had some leftover from a large purchase BEFORE I looked at the sugar content)
  • handful of pecans (toasted if you’re really going for it)

When I make pancakes, I mix the dry ingredients and prepare the flax eggs (1T flax meal to 3T water for one egg, in bowl, in fridge) the night before.  I can’t speak for everyone, but I am hungry when I wake up and I don’t like waiting TOO long for breakfast.  I also put my pans in the oven and set it pre-heat them before we get up because I’m fussy like that (more on pancake technique here).  On rising I task whichever munchkin is up with mixing the dry ingredients while I whisk the oil and flax eggs together.  Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until just combined.  I then remind wakeful and hungry munchkins that we must let the batter rest.  While resting, I gathered my “flavors” (sweet potato pre-cooked and cut into small pieces, toasted pecans leftover from making a salad, and the stupid big bag of Craisins).  Remove warmed pans from oven and turn on heat on stove to bring to temp.  After at least 10 minutes of resting, pour batter using a 1/4c measure onto med warm pan.  Add mix-ins (I find it takes surprisingly little, especially of things like craisins, to get the flavor without overwhelming). I realize many people mix in their flavors, but I prefer adding them to the pancakes once in the pan.  This way the fruits get a little brown edge and you can SEE what you are eating, and you’re more likely to get all the bits in one bite – yes, I am that particular.  Flip when pancake edges are firm, and there are a few bubbles in the batter.  Serve to famished and delighted family.  Happy Thanksgiving… errr..  delish!

10 responses

  1. I’ve been meaning to call and ask you how you sour almond milk, perhaps others would like to know???? Going to attempt gluten free / dairy free biscuits tomorrow and need a buttermilk substitute. And thanks for the pancake inspiration. Pancakes (especially Aunt Little Sis’) Rock! Just ask my boy : )

  2. Pingback: Thy y y yme is in my sauce | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: We’re Nuts About Nuts and Now the Scientists are Too! | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

