Mustard Tempeh

Tempeh is a cake of cultured, fermented soybeans that originated in Indonesia – at least that’s what Wikipedia says.  Unlike tofu, it is tough and will hold it’s shape and has a strong, nutty flavor.  It can be sauteed and treated like a burger or used as an ingredient, which is just what I’m going to do with it!

This is one of my fave old recipes and one of the first that I could truly claim as my own – not that it’s dazzlingly brilliant or anything – just not based heavily on another recipe.  I stopped making it because it seems like the price of tempeh went way up, so it is now a bit of a luxury.  How does a hunk of fermented soybean cake get to be so expensive?  Well, I’ve never made it, so I guess I can’t answer that.  But it is good for you and so I indulged… and my son approved it for THAS (thermos @ school).  Big thumbs up.

Mustard Tempeh
Ingredients:
1 med – large onion
2 Tbsp mustard seeds
1/2 Tbsp ground cumin – or more if you have seed which is better
2 -8oz cakes of tempeh
2 Tbsp dijon mustard
3 Tbsp applesauce
1/8 – 1/4 cup water

1) Prepare brown rice or quinoa or other grain for under or beside

2) Chop onion

3) Heat some oil in a pan on medium heat and add mustard seed and cumin until seeds begin to pop

Draw pictures in the seeds with your spatula or read your partners fortune in the seeds…. “You have an awesome partner who is cooking this nice meal for you.”

4) Add the onion and some salt and cook until onions are becoming translucent

The smell will make you want to stop and eat right here but hang in there…

5) Chop your tempeh into bite sized-ish pieces to preference or size of mouth :-)

6) Add tempeh to the mix and allow to brown a little / get glistening before you

7) Add dijon and applesauce

8) Add water a bit at a time to achieve a little sauciness… but don’t go so far as to make it cheeky or disrespectful

9) Serve it over (or beside) your grain of choice.

Once again, by the time dinner was done, table was set and all were assembled with clean hands and grateful hearts…. I forgot to take a picture on the plate.  So sorry – although many of you have seen my dishes many times now and can just imagine the tasty little beige blocks on a red plate with black edges ;-)

I would love to hear if any of you have a favorite tempeh recipe.  Now that I know that my boy will eat it, we may have to indulge more often!

16 responses

  1. yummm… I miss tempeh…used to get an awesome one when living in PA from cricklewood but it’s not available here…I don’t care for most of the regular brands at the HFS though. Thanks for the tempeh reminder :)
    *anna

  2. Pingback: Einstein’s Elephant -or- ReCon Convenience | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

