Gluten free pump-king pancakes

Pump-king pancakes indeed.   INDEED!  Let me tell you that the king of the Cucurbit family which also includes cucumbers, melons and squashs, is a grand thing that makes incredible baked goods, soups and now, GF pancakes.  One of these days I will grow pumpkins and go through the process of extracting that incredibly healthful and tasty flesh, but for now 1 large can of pumpkin had me set to make gluten free pumpkin pancakes and the healthy pumpkin bites I mentioned in my post on getting more veggies in the morning meal.  Plus, I couldn’t leave you, our dear readers thinking that only Little Sis’ family is fixated on pancakes.  I love seeing all the wonderful things she does with pancakes including topping them with a yummy berry sauce… but with a gluten free husband, we can’t try all of her pancake ideas.  The following recipe seemed like a match made in crack of dawn heaven.

So one Saturday morning, along with the help of my 11 year old photographer, we attempted to see if one really could make a decent pancake that is mostly egg and pumpkin.

Grain Free “Orange Vegetable” Pancakes
From : Katie Kimball
http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/recipes/orange-vegetable-pancakes/

Ingredients
1 c. cooked, pureed squash* (I used canned pumpkin)
4-5 eggs**
2 Tbs. coconut flour OR 1/4 c. whole wheat flour OR almond flour OR 1/3 c. sourdough starter OR brown rice flour (I used brown rice flour)
½ tsp. cinnamon
¼ tsp. cloves
¼ tsp. ginger
¼ tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt
1-2 Tbs. maple syrup (optional) – I opted yes
1 tsp. vanilla (optional) – again, I opted yes
Instructions
Separate eggs. In one bowl, whip egg whites a few minutes until frothy/foamy.

I dumped the yolks right in the mixing bowl and placed the whites in a separate bowl.

This is supposed to make the pancakes more fluffy but is not required. I will probably skip it next time to see how big a difference it makes.

In a separate bowl, combine yolks with squash, flour, sweetener, vanilla and spices. Fold in egg whites.


I used safflower oil with a little depth to it -not the usual barely there for pancakes.  This is not a low fat breakfast!!

They smell divine – and look pretty good too!

The author offers this : The lazy way: Instead of separating the eggs, just mix everything together willy nilly in one bowl. The pancakes might not have as much height or fluff, but they’re still perfectly fine, especially for a weekday morning! I often use my stick blender to whiz it all together, especially if I have un-pureed squash or sweet potato.

They were (obviously) a little different in texture from the normal p’cake.  We all thought they were fabulous.  I made 1.5 times the recipe because that’s how much pumpkin I had and we only managed to save a few for freezing.

Oh what a veggie-ful, and delicious morning!

http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/recipes/orange-vegetable-pancakes/

27 responses

  1. Pingback: Super Squash Sweetens Fall’s Chill | my sister's pantry

  2. Pingback: Veggie Basics and Dinner | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

