‘Hot & Hearty’ – Better than Porridge

Did you hear that joke about oatmeal?

It was a lot of mush…

Actually I like oatmeal, but I get tired of oatmeal, and variety is the spice… and I’ve got this big honking bag of quinoa in the pantry that I bought from CostCo, so… I had to try some different hot cereals.  Another plus is that both oatmeal and quinoa are on our list of healthy pantry items that can come through for you in a pinch.  (See post “Peeping in our pantries’)

I did, but I just need to state that I think we need a better name than ‘hot cereal’ or ‘porridge’..  Hot & Hearty is not that great either, is it?  Seriously, neither ‘hot cereal,’ ‘Hot & Hearty’, nor ‘porridge’  (please, Sir, could I have some more?) gets folks leaping out of a warm bed into that cold kitchen.  So in Little Sis’ honor, I will call my creation ‘Warm Bowl of Yum’.  This is not an instant recipe, but make a big pot, because with a little extra milk (whether dairy, soy or nut) to moisten, it works for a couple of days!

This, as is so often the case with people who cook from scratch for children, was developed over time with changes here and there to finally find the Warm Bowl of Yum that both my boys (one a smadge older chronologically, but not at heart), and I, enjoy.  I especially enjoy it because I’ve snuck some protein and lots of trace minerals in by using nuts that my son won’t eat when they are whole.  (Grind ahead of time if your children object to nuts!)

Warm Bowl of Yum

5 cups liquid : I use 2.5 water and 2.5 almond milk
1 cup oats
1 cup quinoa
1 cup ground walnuts (you can certainly try other nuts, but walnuts really seem to thicken this and they are not very noticeable either ;-)1 tsp salt (optional)
1-2 tsp allspice / or 1 Tbsp cinnamon (optional)

toppings like raisins, honey, more nuts, maple syrup, etc.

Bring your liquid and salt, if using, to a boil.  Be careful!  Almond milk is the wallflower of boilers.  It waits and waits and then suddenly gets inspired, leaps into the fray, jumps out of the pan and into the saucer under your burner there to create a rather ghastly smell and even ghastlier mess.  Do not step away from the stove until you’re at a safe simmer!

‘pot full of milk’ waiting to be transformed into ‘pot full of yum’

Once it boils, toss in your quinoa, turn down to a simmer and cover.  Let simmer about 10 minutes and then boil again Baby!

Toss in the oatmeal, turn down to low and cover. Let simmer about 5 minutes.

While it is simmering, grind your walnuts.  I am blessed with a Vita-Mix which is a noisy but effective way to grind nuts.

Noise, Noise, Noise! Why do you have to be makin’ all that noise?

Stir in the ground nuts and cook covered for a few minutes or until the oats are tender and the quinoa is tender.

A few large walnut lumps – but he doesn’t seem to notice!

Schplop into bowls with your favorite schplopper and enjoy!

I am feeling very grateful for raisins right now.

If I have leftover rice in the frig that is not ear-marked for something to be cooked, I have been known to toss that in as well at the final stages.

I’m sure some of you have your own ‘warm bowls of yum.’     Do tell – spice up my life ;-)

 

 

This post was featured here:
Our Delightful Home

75 responses

  1. What a great way to start off a cold morning! I love the texture quinoa imparts to porridge.

    In other news, I’ve nominated you sisters for a Beautiful Blogger Award! Check out the post on my blog for more information. Congratulations and keep up the good work!

    • Love it. We’ve been eating lots of cold bowls of yum lately as well. In fact, on occasion we have just slightly warmed a bowl of soaked oats – which if you don’t do much of that is still sort of raw, I guess?

  2. It seems like I am always on the scrounge for new breakfast ideas that are hot, not cold. This recipe looks amazing! I can hardly wait to try it! BTW, I found you through The Little Dutch Wife who nominated you for a Beautiful Blogger award. Congrats!

  3. I like creamy oatmeal day after day, but I also like the idea of adding leftover cooked grains for texture. I probably have cooked quinoa, rice, & wheatberries in my fridge now, so I’ll try it!

  4. Love this! I’m a bit scared of breakfast quinoa ever since I made a gross batch early on in our gf days. But I just bought another box and am willing to try again with your bowl of yum! And the gound up nuts addition? Brilliant! You know they sell bags of ground nuts, flax, etc to use for things like this or smoothies. Cheaper to do it yourself but less noisy to buy :)
    -Dana

    • LOL – less noise is definitely a good thing… especially first thing in the morning. We are considering buying a juicer and I was drawn to the one that said ‘whisper quiet’ :-)

  5. Pingback: Peeping in our Pantries? | my sister's pantry

  6. Oh my word, this looks yummy! I have all the ingredients on-hand, so I’ll have to try it for breakfast sometime this week. Thanks so much for sharing this . . . I pinned it so I wouldn’t forget!

  7. This is something I will definitely try, as I’m all over delicious mushy things for breakfast, and I’m terrible at actually using the quinoa in my cupboard and this will fix that! My go-to morning mush is oatmeal with dried cherries and slices of pear (when available); I can do other toppings and love mixing in multiple types of raisins, but dried cherries have kind of stolen my heart.

    • I’ve gotta say that dried cherries and slices of pear is an inspiring combo. Dried cherries are particularly spectacular in cookies as well. Sounds yummy…. gotta get some dried cherries!

  8. This looks delicious! I love the addition of the quinoa and the walnuts. I’m a sucker for anything oatmeal and am always looking for new ways to try it, so I will have to give this a go! :-)

  9. Warm bowl of yum! This looks delicious. I could eat it right out of the pan! GREAT recipe!! Thanks for sharing. (And for the encouragement about making my own granola the other day.) Cheers!

  10. Pingback: Refried Bean Burritos with Black Beans and Rice « crispyshipley

  11. Pingback: Top 10 of 2012… DrumRoll Please | my sister's pantry

  12. Pingback: Waldorf Saute – Walnuts are Wonderful! | my sister's pantry

  13. Pingback: The Sweet Beast and Morning Decadence | my sister's pantry

  14. Pingback: Healthful Breakfast In A Flash | my sister's pantry

  15. Pingback: We’re Nuts About Nuts and Now the Scientists are Too! | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

