CranCherry, Almond, and White Chocolate Cookies

So yeah…. meant to get this one up before the holiday, but I also meant to get approximately 8000 other things done before the holiday, so today is the day.  Besides all that, my sister asked for the recipe so since I would have to write it down anyway, I figured I would write it down here. :-)  

These cookies are sweeter than my usual offerings, so I think they’d make an excellent first step for someone who’s just starting to think about cutting back on sweets and sugar OR an excellent indulgence for those who’ve committed to a low sugar scene.  If you’re trying to cut gluten (or eliminate it altogether), these are also a good bet for you.  Frankly, they were delicious and while I am going to have to wean myself back off the sweet stuff because of this diversion, I’m going to say it was well worth it.  So whether this is an indulgence or the beginning of a change for you – enjoy!

CranCherry, Almond and White Chocolate Cookies 

  • 7 cups rolled oats, dividedIMG_8622
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 c maple syrup
  • 1/2 c coconut oil
  • 1/2 c applesauce
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 4 eggs (I used flax)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 cup dried cherries and cranberries mixed (I imagine 1 full cup of either would also work)
  • 2 c white chocolate chips (real chocolate chips would also be delightful)
  • 2 c almonds, rough chopped

Use a food processor or power blender to turn 3 c of the oats into flour.  Sift the oat flour together with the baking soda and salt.  Combine the sugar, syrup, applesauce, banana, and coconut oil in a bowl and mix until as incorporated as the coconut oil will allow. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until incorporated.  At a lower speed (or with a slower hand), add the flour mixture a little at a time.  Mix in the remaining oats.  Add the mix-ins.  Cover the dough and refrigerate it for at least 1/2 hour.

Preheat oven to 350.  Line or lightly oil baking sheets.  Use a spoon or scoop to drop balls of dough onto the baking sheet.  Flatten slightly with fork or finger.  Bake for about 8 minutes.  Rotate pans (and move top to bottom/bottom to top if your oven is like mine).  Bake about 8 more minutes or until bottoms are browning and some browning is on top as well – or to your cookie done-ness preference.  Allow to cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet and remove to wire rack for cooling.  Eat, quickly, before the others catch on…..  I mean share with loved ones. Delish!

For other lower sugar treat options, check out our treats category on the sidebar. If you’re thinking about making some changes in the New Year, check out our Baby Steps or Sugar Busting series – we’ll be recapping some of these strategies to help all of you who want to try something new in 2013.

30 responses

    • I think that would be a super combo – and far healthier. I had leftover white chips from a previous transgression and I just couldn’t bring myself to throw away an unopened bag. ;-) Now that they’ve been breached I can toss the remains.

  1. Having had the pleasure of relieving Little Sis of some of these while we were enjoying Christmas together (YAY!) – I can tell you this is indeed an AWESOME cookie. And gluten free means hubby had some too (and also loved them). Little Sis rocks.

  2. I just love this combination for a great winter time cookie, looks delicious. Hope you are having a great weekend and thanks for sharing you awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  3. Your cookies sound scrumptious and I love that you have used so many wholesome ingredients! Thank you for sharing this recipe with the Hearth & Soul hop.

  4. Pingback: Baby Steps Check In: Are You HONGRY? | my sister's pantry

  5. Pingback: Blogiversary Cookies.. and a Giveaway | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: 12 Healthy Cookies, Treats and Giftables | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

