Baby Steps Check In: Are You HONGRY?

I don’t know about anybody else, but since the holiday season I have been super HONGRY. I want to eat all the time. It doesn’t help that I still have a few holiday treats lingering (like these amazing cookies) that I can just scoop up and pop in without even breaking stride… I’ve slowly cut down on the sugar overdose (that was mild compared to years past, but still – whoa), but I couldn’t figure out why I was feeling SO deprived for just passing up on a cookie. So very, very HONGRY. And then it struck me, the sweets weren’t the only holiday slippage.

BabyStep6CheckInWhen I apply myself to a new initiative, I really go for it. Not much for half measures, this girl. Of course not much for finishing either but that’s a different and way too long to finish – HA- story. So when I made some pretty hefty dietary changes last spring, I really went for it. Eliminated a bunch of things systematically that I thought were making me feel blechy and upped the produce content of every plate and snack by A LOT. It was easy. I didn’t feel deprived. I felt great and I did NOT feel HONGRY. So in examining my habits since the holidays I noticed that I was not only eating more sweets but I was eating less of the things I was snacking on before – veggies and fruit – produce. So I decided to run a little experiment.

For the past few days every time I get HONGRY I’ve grabbed some plant matter (mostly carrots because I really like them and they require so little fuss) and jammed it in my gaping gullet, a little pre-emptive produce (PEP) as Bigg Sis calls it. I haven’t dictated to myself that there will be no more cookies, but I’ve instituted the same policy I have for my kids – if I’m hungry I should eat something REALLY nutritious first. Guess what? The HONGRY has calmed down to just hungry and the cookies are getting easier to pass up as my sweet tooth settles down again. Such a simple lesson that I learned a while ago, and yet in all the crazy holiday-ness I forgot one of the most important principles: your body needs food. If you only give it crap, you will be HONGRY.

How’s it going for you? Shaking off the holiday stupor? Finding yourself feeling deprived or HONGRY? What’s going on the plate as you take the holiday indulgences off? Feed that body; feed it good. And when you’ve done a good thing, and are feeling really proud of yourself – go outside and look at the birds. Rewards are all around us – not just in the cookie tin.

 

Interested in our Baby Steps Series?  Click above or on the sidebar, or just move straight to Step 1 here.  You’re not late; it’s always a great day to eat real food.

17 responses

  1. I’ve been “HONGRY” too haha! Snacking on nuts instead of chips has been a new habit in the new year. And steel cut oats in the morning is keeping us very full. I’ve also been reading great things about chia, so I’ve been sprinkling it on everything. One more habit – lots of seaweed, like every day, along with liberal servings of kim chee. Sadly, I can’t exercise due to a broken foot and sprained ankle, but maintaining until I can get moving again.

    • Hmmmm, I like the seaweed idea and I’d let kim chee fall off my radar again – thanks for the reminder! Sounds like you’ve made a lot changes! Hope your foot and ankle heal quickly so they can catch up with the rest of your healthy self!

    • Butter wrapper… you are so funny. Thankfully I didn’t wander too far with the dairy (it makes my allergies go CRAZY so there’s an immediate price on that one for me), but the sugar and carbs… mercy. A banana – now there’s a good idea. I am still a bit hungry. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Incredibly, I’m doing okay with that HONGRY effect, even though I have removed the usually draconian sugar quota over the holiday season. Maybe it’s all the tea I’m drinking – I guess liquids in your tummy makes you feel full like fiber-ful vegs? I _am_ craving fruits. But can’t complain about that. And like contadinak, I’m doing serious seaweed. Allright, I’m downright addicted to dulse.

    • Okay, I give. I’ll get some seaweed stat. If it works for you two, there must be something to it. ;-) I imagine you’re right that the liquids are helping a bit. Every now and again I’ll try a “maybe I’m just thirsty” experiment. Works much of the time. And now that I’ve said that, I am actually quite thirsty. :-)

  3. Great point! I’ve been aware for a long time that eating just carbs when I’m hungry will satisfy me for only a few minutes, yet I sometimes still do it without thinking.

    The snack I keep on hand in my office now is almonds. I never eat them out of the jar; I put 8 of them on a napkin. That’s always enough to keep me satisfied for a couple of hours at least.

    At times when I feel like eating but I’m not really sure I’m actually hungry–especially if I’m craving sweets–I have herbal tea in a fruity or mint flavor. The sweet-ish taste and the warmth help a lot, with no calories.

    • Great suggestions. I use the tea strategy myself at times and find it very satisfying. And as to the 8 almonds… also very smart and I can see the cast of Monty Python extolling the number 8…. And the number shall not be 7, being too few, nor shall it be 9 being too many, but 8. :-) Great to hear from you.

  4. Pingback: Groovin’ the Cauliflower | my sister's pantry

    • LOL. Yeah, baking can totally do me in. And my husband is nearly unstoppable if there are cookies in the house. We usually just don’t have them, or I make a healthier treat and put them somewhere not very obvious so we don’t eat them all before I can put them in the kids’ lunches. ;-) Thanks for hosting us Mary!

  5. We switched to real food, organic, two months ago and are no longer “HONGRY.” We have also discovered some new food like quinoa which I am having fun with.

    Thanks for sharing on Tuesdays With a Twist, feel free to share until Saturday, and than come on back on Tuesday.

    • Thanks for stopping by Joyce! It’s amazing what eating well can do for our “hungry” isn’t it? When I eat junk I’m a bottomless pit. When I eat real food, I know (more or less) when to stop. Such a sensible and simple thing! Thanks for hosting us and we’ll see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

