SOTW: Wild Rice and Mushroom Soup

While it is sunny and lovely today, we’ve just come through a long spell of cold, colder, and then (my personal fave) cold and wet.  My soup pot has taken up permanent residence on the stove.  There is, simply put, nothing better than soup on a cold day.  Warms the belly and soothes a grouchy spirit (at least it does mine).  So we’ve been having soup as often as I think I can get away with it.  We have one soup detractor in the bunch – yes, the same detractor that I site for most other food groups, but the rest of us really do enjoy a hot bowl of yum.

IMG_8711This particular soup was so delicious, and so simple, that I am declaring it the Soup Of The Week so that I can share it with you with the appropriate verbal fanfare.  The  broth is so warm and comforting and the wild rice adds so much texture and nuttiness that I may just have to make another batch.  I’d thought I’d made enough to freeze some, but the soup’s popularity defeated that plan.

This recipe originated in my Moosewood Restaurant Daily Special cookbook.  The book is chock full of soups and stews and the salads and sides that can make a soup meal really special.  It’s a great resource, and this particular recipe definitely made the book a favorite on my shelf.  I’ve made a few changes, based on what I had on hand (you KNOW how I feel about having to go to the store to follow the recipe) so I’ll share my version with you.

Wild Rice and Mushroom Soup

  • 1 c raw wild riceIMG_8710
  • 3 cups water
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 c chopped carrots
  • 1 c chopped celery
  • 1/2 t dried rosemary
  • 1/2 t dried thyme
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 t salt
  • 3 cups fresh mushrooms (the book suggests wild, I used cremini)
  • 4 c water
  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 1/4 c dry sherry
  • black pepper to taste

Bring rice and 3 c water to a boil in a covered pot.  Reduce heat and simmer until rice is tender and water is absorbed – about 45 minutes.  While the rice is cooking, heat oil in a large pot and sauté the onions for about 5 minutes.  Add the veggies and seasonings and sauté for another 5 minutes.  Stir in water, soy sauce and sherry and simmer for 10 minutes.  Remove bay leaves.  When rice is tender, stir into soup.  Add pepper.  Serve in largest bowl you can find so you can have a lot before you get up for seconds.  We ate ours with some whole wheat bread and a green salad.  Absolutely delish!

23 responses

    • I could too. I SO wish I could get my daughter past her objection. I won’t accommodate her all the time, but in the interest of harmony I try not to torture her. I suppose there’s always lunch now that they’re in school. Lunch soup is good too. :-)

  1. Pingback: Soup De Doo! | my sister's pantry

  2. Pingback: Mushroom and Wild Rice Stew » Once Upon a Time in a Bed of Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

