Blogiversary Cookies.. and a Giveaway

It has been a whole year. I absolutely cannot believe it. Bigg Sis and I had been talking about doing some writing together and it dawned on us that there was a way to get started, like right away. And so we dove in, and wrote post after post, but I don’t think that we had any idea that, unlike putting a book or a series of articles out there, the space of the blog was going to be one that was going to give so much to us. That we would develop relationships with other bloggers, that our own dietary choices would continue to evolve because of the amazing real food community we’ve stumbled into. I’m a little overwhelmed. I’m not kidding.

I have been deeply gratified by the comments we’ve gotten that essentially tell us that we’ve made a difference for someone. It’s like karmic payday. I have been delighted and surprised by the support I’ve received and the way I’ve been stretched as a cook, as a writer, and as a Mom. I feel lucky, and together Bigg Sis and I wanted to be sure that you know how much we appreciate you. Those who show up every time; those who pop in and comment, and all of you lurkers. We appreciate you and hope that we give you some small piece of what you all give to us.

In the vein of giving back, we’d like to offer everyone a blogiversary cookie, and for one lucky reader, a blogiversary book. But which to do first? Me, I’d go for the cookie, but I’ve seen what happens on these here internets, and I’m betting you’d like to know about the giveaway….


So I made a big stink about this book… Salt Sugar Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us.

The book, for those of you who missed my original comments, is written by an investigative journalist and outlines the way in which processed food companies have intentionally sacrificed healthful ingredients in favor of addictive and harmful foods that will maximize profit. I wrote about the book because 1) I got so angry when I heard the details of this author’s investigation I nearly had a stroke and 2) a concern about the contents of processed food lies at the very heart of all the dietary decisions we have made over the years. There are plenty of reasons to start eating healthier, and this book outlines a big one. YOU should be able to decide what you want to put in your body, and if you eat the food they design for you, that decision gets harder and harder to make. If you’re not sure why we make such a stink, or if (like me) you occasionally need some of your assumptions confirmed in order to shore up your commitment, this book is for you. And if you enter the giveaway, THIS copy of this book may literally be for you, that is if you live in the continental U.S. (Sorry to all of you fabulous people elsewhere, especially our loyal Canadian pals).

How Do I Win?

Pretty simple friends: 1) Follow us. 2) Leave a comment that tells us why you want the book. 3) Check back next Thursday to see who won.  Yep, that’s it. We’ll announce a winner next Thursday. Until then, maybe we should eat some cookies. Happy Blogiversary to Us!!

Sweet Potato Cookies with Walnuts and Dark Chocolate Chips (GF, V) – based on my very own Crancherry, Almond, and White Chocolate Cookies

  • 3 c almond flour (I made mine from homemade almond milk meal as described in my pal Sarah’s post, I think you could also use oat flour made by blitzing the mess out of rolled oats as in above crancherry cookies)
  • IMG_89712t baking soda
  • 1t salt
  • 1/2 c preferred solid sweetener (I used turbinado sugar)
  • 1/2 c maple syrup
  • 1/2 c coconut oil, melted
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 2/3 c mashed sweet potato
  • 3 eggs (I used flax)
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 4 c rolled oats
  • 1 c chopped walnuts (or your preferred)
  • 1 c dark chocolate chips

IMG_8963IMG_8965Preheat oven to 350.  Sift almond flour with baking soda and salt into small bowl and set aside.  Combine sweeteners, coconut oil, banana, sweet potato in large bowl.  Mix to combine (I used a machine for this, although I imagine you could do it by hand. You will want to be sure to be more thorough in mashing your sweet potato in particular.).  Add eggs and vanilla to incorporate.  Add small dry bowl to large wet bowl and stir or mix to combine.  Stir in oats.  Stir in nuts and chocolate.  Do NOT drool in the bowl as you do this – it is not socially acceptable, or so I’m told.  Use a tablespoon or scoop to place on parchment lined or greased cookie sheet.  Flatten cookies a bit with your finger or a spoon as they will not melt into the traditional cookie shape.  Bake for about 18-20 minutes (rotate tray in middle if that’s what works for you, and watch the time, my oven is wonky) or until browned to your liking.  Cool on baking sheets for a couple of minutes before removing to wire racks to cool.  Yes, you should always eat one warm.  Store in fridge if you have any left. Delish!

79 responses

  1. Happy Blogiversary Sisters!!! It is no wonder your blog has become so popular and gets so much support and feedback. You have a very “put-together” blog that looks like you’ve been doing this for years. But the best thing about your blog in my opinion is that you truly share a part of yourselves when you write. There is nothing more appealing to me than a genuine communication!

    • Thank you Patty! You are indeed one of the lovely friends we have made along the way, and you must find our genuine-ness appealing because that is exactly how I feel about your posts and your comments on our blog! So glad to be sharing this ride with you and your journey as well.

  2. ok, I’m a lurker! I’ve followed your blog and tried some recipes but I’ve never commented. I’m actually really new to all of this, but I’ve realized that I’m in charge of making sure my 4 sons eat healthy food without extra sugar. It’s hard, because they are not happy- I’ve told them I will never buy Pop-Tarts, granola bars, or frosted flakes again!
    I’ve been making my own granola bars, and my next step is trying homemade pasta sauce. If I don’t win this book then I will buy it, because I’ve already made my husband and oldest son read the post, also an article from NY Times by Lustig called “Is sugar toxic?” I love you girls because even though I will probably never have a garden, or probably never go dairy free because I love cheese, y’all never judge or make me feel like a failure. I can certainly handle baby steps, and I love realizing the freedom to choose wisely what we’re buying and eating!

    • Stevi – this comment means so much to us. You’ve basically just told us we are succeeding in encouraging small and realistic changes by being encouraging and informative. Who needs more judgmental in their life? Not me, that’s for sure. Hang in there Momma; the kids will get on board. We’ll be with you every step of the way. :-)

  3. I do follow you via GFC. Slowly inching towards being a vegan, I’m interested in nutrition and eating as healthy as I can. I would love to read this book to learn more and perhaps also share with my readers as well! Congrats on your year anniversary! And your cookies look delish!

    • Baby Steps! I love it! I really think that most of us, shy of having a heart attack for motivation, can not successfully change all of our eating habits overnight. Healthier as still healthier, right? So glad you are with us and thanks for following :-)

  4. Oh yummy sounding! I’ve been following for a bit via google reader and really like your recipes. I would like the book to leave around for my hubby read so he can start thinking like me. hehe, wait is that a legit reason? I’d also like to read it myself. :)

  5. I am one of your “pop in and comment” readers, but I usually comment on Bigg Sis’s Facebook page. Your encouragement that we eat real food has great traction when you give recipes, as well. It’s easier to be inspired to try a new food if one can also try a new recipe. You two persuaded me to try kale, for instance–what a great vegetable! The book is one that I’ve been interested in reading, but, since I don’t have a copy, it’s been easy not to get around to it. I would love not to have that excuse anymore. :-)

    • Melanie, thanks so much for coming and visiting in person (;-)). I feel like I already know you because of Bigg Sis’s FB page, but it’s lovely to see you here. And yay for kale!!

  6. I’m totally going for the cookies first! Happy blog anniversary, sistahs! So glad to have connected with you.

    Thanks to your post, I added that very book to my Amazon wish list. Really need to read that one. Thanks for the giveaway, ladies!

    • Hope you liked the cookies. I haven’t tried them yet, I’m back-logged on stuff of Little Sis’ and of yours to try! Although gotta tell you, Smoky Chickpea Stew is a now a staple at our house. Deee-licious.

  7. Gah! Those cookies look amazing! I look forward to trying them :)

    I am already following you—I think for maybe six months or so, but I’m one of those lurkers :) In fact, I think your blog may have been the first that I ever decided to “make the commitment” to and subscribe via e-mail (because I like your respective senses of humor, your warmth, and your recipes, which are very much in line with the things I love to make and eat! And also because I love my own sister and I am tickled to see sisters doing a project together).

    I feel simultaneously interested in the book and also trepidatious—will I just find it depressing or disheartening? Will I just feel cynical about it? Or will the part of me that likes learning and deepening my understanding win out? In general, I am very interested in why we humans do the things we do, and it’s intriguing and makes sense to me that the salt-sugar-fat trifecta started being researched as a thing for military rations.

    Congratulations on your blogiversary!

    • I always feel a little nervous about information like the kind this book focuses on as well, but am happy to report that it does include the author’s own efforts to change his family’s eating habits, which I find encouraging in the face of the negative aspect. Thanks so much for all of your reading and your support.

  8. Those cookies look fabulous! And congratulations on your blogiversary. I often recommend your blog to people who are looking for good resources on eating real food. I would love to win a copy of the book. I wrote about it on my blog too, based on the excerpt in the NY Times magazine.

  9. Congratulations and keep up the good work! I want to read “Salt Sugar Fat” with my college daughter who eats mostly manufactured “food.” I am worried about her.

    • College can be such a trying time for eating habits. While I think we should all eat as well as we can, there is some comfort in a line I heard on the West Wing once: “You were 19; you could have eaten Tupperware and your body could have handled it.” I DO wish I had learned more about food at that time; even if it hadn’t sunk in from a nutritional perspective, probably would have saved me some money. Go Mom!

  10. I just found your blog through another link-up. It seems great; can’t wait to explore a little more and receive your regular updates. Keep up the fight for real food! Oh, and I can’t wait to read the book!

  11. This sounds like an awesome book! I’m in the process of changing my eating habits and this books is something that I really need to read to help me with these changes. Love your cookie recipe. I’m going to make these without the chocolate chips.

  12. Congratulations to the two of you on a great first year…I have enjoyed following. How knows…perhaps I’ll be the lucky one ,although I am already a winner by enjoying your posts.

  13. Happy blogiversary! So glad I found you to follow and looking forward to many more posts to come. Now, if I could just win that book so I can share the information with family and friends that tend to dismiss my concerns as another food trend…..

    • Oh, we know all about that food trend thing… hang in there, and share some of your wonderful real food. They’ll come around. At least some will. :-) I should know; I was one of Bigg Sis’ converts.

  14. I have recently gone from vegetarian to plant-based vegan and similar to you, I would love this book to shore up my recent commitment.

    • It’s funny Sara, but I felt my enthusiasm flagging a bit, and was getting tired of planning my meals, etc, then I heard this interview…. boom. Pumped up again. Be sure to check back on Thursday, and thanks for stopping by!

  15. Congrats on a year; how exciting!! I have become such a food nerd and that book looks right up my alley. I was sitting in bed thinking sweet potatoes would be a great binder for oatmeal cookies so this post made me super happy! Can’t wait to try them (like tomorrow!).

    • Thanks Beth! Food nerd… LOL. I think if you’re going to be a nerd (which all of us nerds knows means you are incredibly knowledgeable and awesome) about something, shouldn’t it be food? Let us know how you like the cookies!

  16. I’ve been wanting this book since I read about it on your post- I printed it and had my husband and oldest son read it! I’ve only recently started the baby steps, mostly concentrating on eliminating excess sugar from my children’s diet. I’ve realized it’s my sole responsibility to make sure my children have a healthy diet; my kids rarely make healthy choices for themselves, and the food industry certainly doesn’t make healthy choices. I love y’all’s website because it’s full of great ideas, and I get to choose the ideas that work for my family without feeling guilt or pressure from y’all. Thanks for all of your help!

  17. Good Morning and Congratulations on your 1st Anniversary!
    Thank you so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you have a lovely week and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  18. This sounds like a fantastic book. I have just started changing our eating habits. Sounds like it would be an eye opener to me. The cookies sound great too!!

  19. Happy Blogiversary! You do an amazing job! The cookies look fantastic! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! :)

    Thanks for linking back to the Gluten Free Fridays post!

    Party starts tomorrow night (thursday) at 7:05 pm eastern time! Hope to see you there!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  20. These cookies sound really good. I am looking for recipes for healthier snacks as I am really trying to get healthier, but I want to be able to have things to make with and for the children and hubby.

    I am now following you via email and I would love to have this book so I can learn and share with my hubby as it is hard to get healthier with all the junk we bring into the house. He is not the only one guilty, but it sure makes it hard for me to get back on track. Maybe he can have his eyes opened by this book.

    I would also love if you could stop by and share this with my weekly Kids and a Mom in the Kitchen linky
    http://totsandme.blogspot.com/2013/03/kids-and-mom-in-kitchen-38-no-bake-mint.html

    • For a long time my husband resisted my healthier eating suggestions, but as we’ve gotten older he’s become totally willing to go along – it came a little at a time. Sometimes I found that just making something and serving it, without calling it healthier food, was a better strategy. If you are the chief cook, you have a lot of quiet power. ;-) I hope we can be helpful to you – plenty of healthier snacks here to choose from. And so glad to have you with us. We’ll swing by and check out your linky.

  21. Pingback: Simple Meals Friday #22 | Nourishing Simplicity

  22. These look really delicious! Thanks for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday” and for hosting a great giveaway. I am always trying to prepare healthier meals for my family, so I know I would enjoy the book.

  23. Pingback: Simple Meals Friday | Natural Living Mamma

  24. Pingback: Carribbean Flair – Cheap, Easy, Delicious | my sister's pantry

  25. Pingback: Baby Step 13: Saving on Produce | my sister's pantry

  26. Pingback: Brown Baggin’ It | my sister's pantry

  27. Pingback: 12 Healthy Cookies, Treats and Giftables | my sister's pantry

  28. Pingback: Naturally Sweet Sweet Potatoes | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

