Pumpkin Pudding for the Peeps! GF, DF, Fast and healthy!

Surely, this should be a post of a strawberry dessert for the holiday, but my goodness it is cold here in Middle TN!  We escaped the snow but it is cold enough for snow and very windy and this weather is making me think of the last of the winter-time foods.  Easter provides SOOOOO many opportunities to over-indulge in nasty high-sugar and fat treats, why not indulge in something that tastes great, is very easy and will win fans among guests and family alike?

We don’t need dairy or gluten for this fine recipe.  Grab that remaining can of pumpkin and some cashews and let’s go!!

This recipe began as part of pumpkin pie.  The inside part.  :-)

As I licked the spatula after spooning the filling into the pie I decided to skip the crust and the baking next time and just go for the filling.  Everyone in my household is so glad I did.  They get this much more frequently without the demand of a pie shell (no small feat in this GF household) or baking time.  I thank Food 52 for this delightful addition to our dessert repertoire.  It will grace the table at my Easter gathering.

Plant Based Pumpkin Pudding for the Peeps
2.5 cups pumpkin puree
1 cup cashews soaked for at least 3 hours in water and drained
1/2 cup sugar (original recipe calls for 3/4 – I don’t think it’s necessary, but just so’s ya know!)
2 Tbsp. tapioca starch
2 Tbsp blackstrap molasses
1.5 tsp. vanilla (original recipe calls for 1 tsp.)
1.5 tsp cinnamon (original only 1 tsp)
1/2 tsp dried ginger
1/4 tsp nutmeg
pinch of cloves
2 Tbsp – 4 Tbsp. almond milk (or whatever milk you prefer)

Place all of this in a blender or food processor and whiz it up to creamy perfection.  Add more milk to desired consistency if you want it thinner.

That’s it!  Schmop it into bowls:

2013-03-21 17.12.45

and everyone will say, “Oh my, this makes me want to hop like a bunny!”  Or something like that.

I also decided that instead of eating Peeps this year (OMG what IS in there anyway) we will make a Peeps diorama.  I will provide Peeps of different colors and species (;-)) as well as scraps of felt, feathers, and construction paper so we can dress up our Peeps and put them into an action scene.  Much better than eating them!  Alternatively, and I highly recommend this, you can put a Peep in the microwave…. give it about 8 seconds at a time and watch how it inflates and then recedes.  This is indeed great fun for the whole family.  Be careful because I imagine cleaning up and exploded Peep would not be fun.  For more Peeps fun check out the annual contest held by The Washington Post for Peeps dioramas.

And have a wonderful and blessed (and hopefully warm) week blog-land Peeps!

This post was shared at the Creative HomeAcre Hop.

54 responses

  1. We’re definitely past the pumpkin weather here, but I still like this idea a lot. I would make this and try using brown rice syrup instead of sugar. I’ve also recently been playing around with a very light crumb topping (instead of crust) made with almond flour, cinnamon, nutmeg and avacado oil.

  2. Pingback: Friday Faves, Part 2 | Living Simply Free

  3. We love pumpkin and this pudding looks wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing this awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday and have a great weekend!
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  4. My son asked me to make a pumpkin pudding recipe we saw in a cookbook but I convinced him to choose something else. Glad I did, now I can make this one with him next week instead.

    • I do use raw cashews Janita. I get them bulk and keep them in the freezer until I need them. Let us know if you give this a try!

    • We were a little disappointed in our peep microwaving – it has come to my attention that peeps are much smaller than they used to be and without the wad of marshmallow on the inside, the growth is not as impressive… but still fun! (And still better than actually eating them!)

  5. Pingback: Playing with Peeps | my sister's pantry

  6. Oh, you had me at pumpkin! YUM Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! :)

    The party will be GREAT this week! We are giving away a tote full of goodies from Namaste Foods! The items are gluten free and allergy friendly! Can’t wait to see what you bring to the party!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  7. This is a great recipe for anyone who can’t tolerate dairy or gluten or for someone who likes to incorporate GF and DF meals into their diet, like me! Thanks so much for sharing at Marvelous Mondays! Pinned to my Marvelous Mondays board.

    • Sorry I missed this comment Julie! Thank you for the pin! I have been pleased with how much better I feel having essentially eliminated dairy and almost eliminated gluten in support of my husband. It’s working for me as well! Let us know how you like this recipe!

Leave a Reply

