Healthy bechamel sauce with mushrooms and kale

Bechamel is a French word for yummy, creamy sauce.

Not really.  I made that up.

I don’t know what the literal translation is, but bechamel, according to Wikipedia, is a butter and flour based white sauce and is the ‘Mother Sauce’ of French cuisine.  Oooh la la!  We have lots of mothers of things and now we have the mother sauce.  Well!

Too bad we don’t eat butter (dairy) or flour (gluten) over here at this house due to medical advice for hubby and honestly we all feel pretty swell since we stopped.

So what to do when one needs a yummy, creamy sauce?

Kathy Hester, author of The Vegan Slow Cooker has an answer within a recipe for slow cooker lasagna.  In typical gluten free style – I stole the sauce and ran with it!  Gluten free noodles work once in awhile but I wasn’t convinced that a slow cooker noodle dish was the place to try them out.

So I made the sauce, combined it with mushrooms and kale and served it over brown rice with a little wild rice thrown in for ….. well, because I had a little bit left.   This is also a VERY fast dinner to make if you make your rice ahead of time.

Kathy’s sauce (see link to her book below) from her recipe for mushroom lasagna with garlic-tofu sauce (p. 106):
1 package silken or soft tofu
Juice of 1/2 lemon
1 cup water
3 cloves garlic or 1 tsp dried
1/2 to 1 tsp salt
1 1/2 Tbsp. bouillion (I use Edward and Sons veggie bouillion)
1/4 cup nutritional yeast flakes

Puree all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

P1000659

Create sculpture with your materials because inserting a little art into your day can be so refreshing, don’t you think ;-)

P1000661

Sautee one pound of sliced mushrooms of your preference in a bit of oil of your choice.  Pantry tolerance is also refreshing, don’t you think?

P1000658

Then add as much kale, or as long as we’re being tolerant – dark leafy green of your choice, as you can fit in the pan and still stir a bit and get a lid on.  Put it in right on top of the mushrooms as the juice from your mushrooms is going to help steam the kale.

P1000660

Stir so it’s all wet and put the lid on. Stir a few times until it’s looking a bit limp.  Add your yummy, creamy, healthy bechamel sauce and stir so all is heated….

P1000663

Serve over rice …. or you guessed it my open-minded friends, grain or noodle of your choice!

Eh Voila!

P1000665

It looks very nice, n’est-ce pas?

This was very tasty and kept very well.  It does thicken up a bit in the frig and made an excellent leftover for lunch several times in the days after.

Little Sis has another yummy and creamy sauce that is avocado based that is delicious!

Please share your healthy versions of the Mother Sauce of French cooking.  We will be eternally grateful and sing Edith Piaf songs and sip french wine in your honor!

11 responses

    • You are welcome Sheryl! I am envious of your kale – I will have to wait for the Fall for kale here in TN but swiss chard is coming along! Let us know who you like the recipes :-)

    • I really don’t have any suggestions for alternatives to yeast flakes. I’m sorry. The yeast flakes are the only thing I have found that imparts a cheesy kind of flavor to vegan dishes. Anybody out there know a sub for yeast flakes??? The yeast flakes are not related to candida if you have concerns about the yeast.

  1. Pingback: Nofredo Orzo with Chickpeas, Peas, and Kale | my sister's pantry

  2. I just saw a recipe similar to this and I made a mental note. THEN, I saw you on Miz Helen’s. I take that as a sign I must make this asap!! I’m so glad I found you!!! This looks delicious, and I’m excited to see / read the rest of your blog. Looks fantastic!

Leave a Reply

