Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes with Maple Cashew Butter

It’s been a while. I haven’t shared a pancake recipe in ages and we’ve been happily munching along, eating all the varieties I’ve already shared, but it occurred to me that we had a challenge that I really wanted to face where pancakes are concerned.  It’s the syrup thing and the non-filling thing. I love pancakes, but I can’t say that I love them for the nutrition that they provide me or that I love them without syrup or jam.  I’ve also found that we all get hungry again a couple of hours later, and this happens whether you have two (me) or four (my monsters).  So, I decided that the topping was the place to try to take on these problems.

IMG_9525Part of the problem with syrup is its liquid nature – it runs everywhere or simply sinks in on the spot and even the most reasonable children (or health conscious adults) might be convinced that more syrup is required.  So, I wanted to thicken it up. To find a way to get that syrup to stay put. It occurred to me that adding nuts would also address problem number two, the fleeting satisfaction of pancakes for breakfast. And so the notion of maple cashew butter began stirring about in the noggin.  I started putting together what I thought would be a good maple cashew topping and let the food processor churn on that for a while. I whipped up some pancake batter, with the help of an always willing pancake assistant, and while it was resting, checked back in on the sweet spread, added a bit more water and let it churn, baby, churn.  I’ll give you the details in the order that I did things, just in case you’re not the type who reads through the whole recipe twice before starting… If you’ve not heated pans ahead of time, do it now. Here’s a primer on pancake perfection in a cast iron pan.

Maple Cashew ButterIMG_9510

  • 1 1/2 c raw cashews
  • 1/4 c maple syrup
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 4 T water

I threw all this in my food processor
and just turned that baby on. Checked back periodically and scraped down the sides.

Whole Wheat Blueberry Pancakes (V)

  • 3 c white whole wheat flourIMG_9520
  • 1 c rolled oats
  • 3 t baking powder
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 T coconut sugar (or whatever dry kind you use)
  • fresh ground nutmeg (love my Microplane) to taste
  • 6 T coconut oil
  • 1/2 c applesauce
  • 1 banana, mashed
  • 3.5 c coconut milk (or whatever kind you like)

Mix dry ingredients (through sugar). Add wet ingredients except for the milk, use a fork or a pastry cutter to blend in.  Add milk and stir to combine. Let rest for 10 minutes. While it rests, check back on your spread – consistency is entirely your call on this one.  Mine was a little on the thick side.  If you want it thinner, add a little more water. Next time I may squeeze in a little lemon and add just a pinch of salt.

When your resting time (10 minutes) is up, pour batter into warm-hot pans.  Add fresh blueberries by plopping them onto the pancakes in whatever ratio works for you. Wait for bubbles and flip. Serve. Shmear with maple cashew butter awesomeness. Less sweet, more filling, stays put. Delish.

IMG_9513 IMG_9514 IMG_9516

13 responses

  1. These sound so yummy! I’ve been on the look-out for something healthy to replace my diabetic wife’s pancake syrup with. “Lite” and sugar free versions of “maple syrup” taste like blech and aren’t any better for you with the chemicals replacing the sugar. The maple-cashew butter sounds like something I’d eat straight from the jar. I better make extra when I test this recipe…. Thanks for the idea!

  2. That’s the thing! Maple syrup just gets all soaked up and makes the pancakes soggy and (for me at least) it’s really just too sweet. This is why I switched to a schmear of straight nut butter as a topping, but this is a nice little combo-solution. Yum!

  3. Pingback: Prune Cardamom Sauce and Crazy Combo Contest | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: We’re Nuts About Nuts and Now the Scientists are Too! | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

