Herbed Sweet Tomatoes with Rice

I got ya with the second word didn’t I?  I do like sweet and it is certainly the biggest potential stumbling block for me in terms of maintaining a healthy diet.  Sweet is like the golden ring – the pinnacle – the happy juice of food and food rewards, isn’t it?  Having just spent a week with Sweetie-Dad, my sweet tooth has been tested and also shown what the real Master of Sweets enjoys!  Of course my Dad is also just plain sweet – but Little Sis and I come by our sugar cravings very honestly.  It was Sweetie-Dad’s Mom who would roll out the pie or cake after most any meal and ask, “What’ll you have?”

Both please! With ice cream! And can I have a little bit of Co-Cola with that please Grammy?

Back to present time and reality…. I actually do not crave those things like I used to and have found that I can appreciate naturally sweet foods more while
taking the edge off that sweet tooth.  And because Little Sis and I are also the offspring of Carni-Mom our sweet tooth is really sharp ;-)

Super Step-Mom and I rolled out a delicious rice-pasta dish which I chose to re-make at home with rice and walnuts – yummy both ways and using LOTS of sweet little tomatoes.  Oh I DO love those sweet little tomatoes – beautiful grape tomatoes and sweeter varieties of cherry tomatoes blended with some basil, oregano and parsley from the garden.  I’ll have seconds of that my wonderful Grammy and save the cake for another day.

Fresh from the garden Baby.  So good!

Fresh from the garden Baby. So good!

Herbed Sweet Tomatoes with Rice

2 cups brown rice (cooked in vegetable bouillion for extra flavor) – don’t forget to make extra rice if that will help meals for the next few days!
1 Tbsp. olive oil
1 medium onion (sweet if you have it!)
1-2 cloves garlic (I used 1 large clove)
2 med. or 1 Lge zucchini cut how you like (I slice coins and then cut coins into strips)
3-4 cups sweet little ‘maters
Optional – other fresh veggies – SWEET peppers are especially good, didn’t have any ripe
1 Tbsp. fresh oregano (1 tsp dried)
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
1/4 – 1/2 cup chopped fresh basil (I hold a stack of leaves and cut strips with scissors)
chopped walnuts
salt and pepper to taste

Set the water (or bouillion) boiling for rice
Chop onion and mince or crush garlic
Cook onion and garlic in large skillet in oil until transparent, or even browning a bit
Chop zucchini and tomatoes (I just cut my little maters in half)

P1000786
Add zucchini and oregano and cook until desired tenderness
Add tomatoes just to warm them up
Remove from heat and stir in parsley and basil
Serve over rice
Top with chopped walnuts as desired – I used about 2 Tbsp in my bowl because they are SO good.
Add more basil and parsley if it doesn’t have enough Ka-Pow.

This passed the 12 year old test, and the no leftovers test as well.  I will have to make more next time!

P1000788

If you don’t have any herbs in your garden, you might consider a few in pots in a sunny windowsill or on the porch, deck or balcony.  They are easy, generally don’t have many insect problems and add so much to food.  With some fresh herbs from the garden you can make incredible dishes and sauces like this Chimichurri from Little Sis

Enjoy the summer bounty of the best sweets of all – fruits and vegetables!

And if the situation calls for something sweeter – check out these sweets recipes:
Celebration Krispies

GF / DF apple pie with walnut crust

Brownie Bites

P.S.  Thanks to my wonderful Little Sis who has been blogging away while I finish my semester and get started on a project we’ve been discussing.  She is the best project partner evah!

8 responses

  1. We still have some fresh tomatoes and this is a great dish to try. Thank you so much for sharing your delicious recipe with Full Plate Thursday.
    Have a great weekend!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

