Simple Pakistani Fare (GF,V)

A few years ago I got a cookbook. It was a life changer. I know that sounds a little melodramatic – and it is I guess, but food can change us, and the way that we look at food can change us.  Before my kids were born I started thinking about simplicity a bit, and was immediately attracted to the idea behind More-With-Less. This cookbook encouraged me to think about the role of processed food in my home, to think about my relationship with meals and food, and to slow it all down a little.

Over the years I’ve used this book to explore international cuisine from a non-restaurant perspective, international cuisine that regular people in other countries actually eat in their homes. Before we made all of our dietary changes, this was the perfect companion to simpler and yet more interesting meals. And now, I find the simple recipes in this book so very easy to adapt and the philosophy behind them is so peace creating for me that I wanted to share it with you.

IMG_9673Tonight I returned to an old favorite of ours, and made a little switcheroo so I could still eat it on a weekday. The author shares a recipe for Pakistani Kima, made with ground beef.  When I made it in the past, I used ground turkey.  Tonight, I made lentils the star of this simple curry show. Surprise! Another fabulous lentil dish.  Perhaps we really should call ourselves the Lentil Lodge… At any rate, this easy curry was fantastic and just the thing for the half of my crew fighting a nasty little end of summer bug.  Lentils, curry spices, fresh green beans, potatoes, onions and tomatoes.  Fantastic.

Pakistani Lentil Kima – adapted from More with Less by Doris Janzen Longacre

  • 3 T coconut oilIMG_9681
  • 1 c chopped onion
  • 1 clove of garlic, minced
  • 2 potatoes, rough cut 1 inch pieces
  • 1 T curry powder
  • 1 1/2 t salt
  • dash pepper
  • dash each cinnamon, ginger, and turmeric
  • 2 1/2 c diced tomatoes
  • 2 c fresh green beans, cut in half
  • 2 c cooked lentils

Warm coconut oil in pan (I used cast iron). Saute onions on med heat until they are at least translucent.  Add garlic and stir until fragrant.  Add potatoes and stir to coat with coconut oil.  Add spices and stir to coat. Let cook for a minute or so.  Add tomatoes. Turn heat down to simmer and cover.  Cook about 15 minutes; check potatoes for doneness and simmer until nearly cooked through. Add green beans and cover.  Simmer for an additional 5 minutes (more or less to your green bean doneness preference). Add lentils and stir.  Heat until lentils are warm. Serve over rice (or whatever gran you have on hand). We garnished with a little coconut and fresh cilantro.  So easy and so delish.

IMG_9640 IMG_9677 IMG_9685

14 responses

  1. I love my More-With-Less cookbook! I have had it for almost forty years now. The recipes are very good and the information in it is priceless. The follow-up book, Extending the Table is even better, if that is possible.

  2. I have eaten Indian cuisine at restaurants for the past 25 + years, but never attempted any recipes at home. I began a turmeric regimen this week and I as I downed a tablespoon of a tumeric mixed in a tepid water blend , my taste buds started dancing a happy jig ! i so immediatrky craved East Indian fare!
    Was so delighted to see this post this morn- and LORD willing, I’ll be making the “my sister’s pantry” tweaked version later in the week- I’ll keep you “posted ” – THANKS! Pakistani Lentil Kima loads :-)

  3. Pingback: Healthful Freezer Faves | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: Chickpea and Cashew Tikka Masala (GF,V) | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

