Fall Veggies and Other Garden News

We’ve been so very busy this summer that I completely missed the dates for starting seedlings for fall veggies.  Honestly, with the whole deer situation, I can’t say that I’m sad I haven’t been coaxing along the next batch of deer fodder.  However, when in my local garden center, and I do hope you have one you like, I couldn’t resist taking a stroll into the area where the fall veggies for transplant were sitting, calling to me: “Super fresh cauliflower, broccoli and lettuce, right here, delicious and affordable nutrition awaits….” with the way the weather has been, I simply couldn’t resist grabbing a few and enlisting some help getting those puppies in the ground – which was made easier by the great job Bambi has done clearing the field…  Why on earth am I doing this?

IMG_9723

A little fabric protecting those tender fall veggie transplants from the slightly blaze-y late afternoon sun.

At any rate, I remain hopeful as the deer didn’t seem all that interested in the brassicas before, so perhaps she will ignore them this time as well.  Perhaps it goes even deeper and the admittedly unpleasant odor of the broccoli and cauliflower plants will dissuade Her Hungriness from continuing to torment us.  It’s okay – I’m really not bitter, because I know sometime in the next few months we will find our new dog, and Bambi will take a hike. It will all work out, and maybe I’ll get a couple more rounds of fresh broccoli, cauliflower and lettuce before then.

If you veggie garden, but have never tried planting a fall crop, give it a try.  There is really nothing so satisfying as continuing to bring veggies in while the leaves are changing and painting the world orange and red. If you’ve missed seeding time, check out that funny little garden center you haven’t gone in.  They’ll know if you’re too late.  They may even have a secret or two about something you NEVER thought would work in your neck of the woods.  My next trip (which will be SOON) I’ll be asking lots of questions about persimmons, pawpaws, and berry bushes. The permaculture book is taking hold….  and it looks like a lot of fresh food in my future.

IMG_9724 IMG_9725

Just a few pics of my chard jungle.  Spectacular.

As for my other garden news, I’ve undertaken some renovations in my front yard.  I’ve discovered, with some trimming, digging, and devining, that there are a fare number of lovely shrubs that the former owner planted and that have since been overshadowed by tall trees that have prevented these shrubs from being all they can be.  And so, it is time to pull and move.  Am I afraid? No.  A hidden non blooming underperforming shrub is wasted garden soil.  If I leave them where they are, they will die or be consumed by one of the many invasive vines that will slowly drag them back to the earth.  This way, I pull, they come out, I put them somewhere that is currently without adornment. I water the crap out of it. If the transplanted shrub lives, spectacular.  If it doesn’t, I’ve lost nothing.  Win win.

I’m also dividing where possible – pulling pieces off the spirea, the thyme and oregano, and the sedum. In return for all this dividing, I get cleaner plants that are better sized for their spot, and maybe, if I’m lucky, a new plant… FREE.  I’ll say that again… FREE plants. Yeah, I’m all about that. Next on the agenda is finding a spot for the baby redbud tree and shrubs whose names I can’t recall that my wonderful stepmother gave me. Fall is awesome. If you’re not having it yet, enjoy your summer. I’ll take as much fall as I can get.

IMG_9720 IMG_9721 IMG_9722

A few pics of my newest rescues, divisions, and transplants. Yay for free plants!

8 responses

  1. Love the chard jungle! My chard survived while we were away as it rained about every other to third day (very unusual for this time of year) and I am very grateful. The boy loves chard in his pasta sauce and I am happy to oblige. Enjoy your chard and here’s to Bambi taking a hike!

  2. Fall gardening is not something people think much about but it’s totally possible and gratifying. It gets a little chilly in the mornings to run around harvesting before school. Last year, I was literally picking green beans in the cold dark because they were wild and out of control through October! A first for me! It looks like I might be headed the same way this year. Grrrr. I also grew some broccoli and beets in the greenhouse over the winter and was so thrilled to have them in spring. They didn’t do much during our cold, New Englad winters, but they survived and rewarded me in the spring!

    • Nice! I had some kale and chard over-winter and was wondering if I could coax some broccoli along – if you can up there, surely I can find some way down here in the Mid Atlantic. ;-)

  3. I love that you try to reuse what you’ve already got growing. I’m determined to find a way of moving the bushes in our yard that just aren’t where I want them. But I’m told over and over that they’re much too large. The hostas will for sure be moved (poor things are being eaten alive by honeysuckle and slugs) as well as the peonies. We’ve got loads of pecan trees growing around the maturing one we’ve got, if you’d like one or two or five, I’ve got you covered!

    XO

    • Boy howdy would I love a pecan tree! We’ll see how all these moves go. The lilac I’m trying to bring back to life is not very happy about it. I think I’m going to have to offer it a little protection from the sun that it’s been missing for so long. We shall see. It is so gratifying when it looks good and you didn’t have to buy any new plants.

Leave a Reply

