Fresh Nectarine Cream Pie with Walnut Crust (GF,V)

I’ve been a bit of a slouch all summer where dessert is concerned.  Truth to tell much of the time I’d prefer fresh fruit and since it’s so abundant in the summer, I say let them eat fruit.  But this past weekend we had special guests.  Fruit is still great, but I wanted to put in a little extra effort to give our guests the best of our pantry. I’d been thinking about my sister’s apple pie, but I have to tell you, I don’t do apple pie in the summer.  Just don’t. No excuses.  So I focused on the part of her pie that I was really interested in playing with. What could be better with a nutty crust than creamy goodness?  What to do, where to start?

I thought of cashews, of course, but my kids really don’t like cashew cream.  It has been the downfall of many an otherwise great vegan dish at our house.  So I decided to experiment with my favorite (and I should point out significantly less expensive) creamy dip, sunflower cheese.  A few recipe alterations and we go from my favorite savory dip/spread to a slightly sweet creamy filling that I knew would do the trick. We were well on the way to a fabulous guest-worthy, company good dessert.  Let me share the details on how to get this far and then I’ll describe the final steps and healthy sweet goodness.

Fresh Nectarine Cream Pie with Walnut Crust (GF,V)

Crust

  • 2 1/2 c walnutsIMG_9876
  •  1 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 2 T coconut oil

Cream Filling

  • 2 c soaked sunflower seeds (soaked in water at least 15 minutes)
  • 1/2 c coconut milk (or whatever alt milk you dig)
  • 2 T maple syrup
  • 1 T fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • small handful raw cashews

Super Fab Fruit

  • 2 large ripe nectarines
  • 1.5 c blueberries
  • 2 T jam

Preheat oven to 350. Get that food processor out.  It is the workhorse of this dish.  Put the ingredients for the crust into the processor bowl and process until nuts are chopped fine. Press into pie pan using a spatula or your fingers.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, until the crust browns and is crumbly at the edges. remove and allow to cool on the counter.

IMG_9856 IMG_9861

While the crust is baking, put the ingredients for the cream filling into the food processor and process until smooth and creamy, scraping down the sides as necessary. When finished, move to bowl and keep in refrigerator.

IMG_9852 IMG_9860

Slice nectarines and mix blueberries with jam. When the crust has cooled, spread cream filling (I didn’t use all of mine and enjoy it on pancakes) into the walnut crust. Be gentle, the crust is delicate. Arrange sliced nectarines however you like and garnish with blueberries. Chill until serving time.  Serve modest pieces – it’s really satisfying and super delish.  The best of summer with a little creamy goodness  and nutty crunch. Lovely dessert, lovely time.

IMG_9864 IMG_9867 IMG_9878

15 responses

  1. Oh Baby – that looks and sounds dee-lish! I served the sunflower cheese spread with basil at a gathering and had to provide the recipe to half the guests – I’ll have to forward this versatile option on the sunflower spread. Yum!

  2. Pingback: Prune Cardamom Sauce and Crazy Combo Contest | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: Change the World Wednesday, but it’s Thursday | Living Simply Free

  4. Pingback: Fruit Glorious Fruit! | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

