Spaghetti Squash with Sunflower Lemon Pesto (DF / GF)

Walkin’ that line between summer and fall
Feelin’ like maybe I can have it all…

And I can!  Well, I can have fresh squash and basil anyway!  Speaking of pairing foods in a speed dating type situation…. (we talked about that in our last post and are dreaming up a fun contest around that theme)…..

Spaghetti Squash says, “I’m new around here, what do you plants do for fun?”
Basil: “I just turn all my faces up and keep reaching for the sky!”

Reaching for the sky IS fun and even on a cloudy day, there is tons of room up there for dreams and hope and autumn leaves twirling their way to a moment’s repose on the ground.  Reaching for the sky turns my eyes into and onto larger ideas, beliefs and a faith that I am part of the seasonal change that defies all of the little problems that cloud my vision of the beautiful, expansive sky.

So you’re probably thinking “This must be an easy recipe if she has time for all this ruminating on the sky!” :-)

It is indeed an easy recipe and another one that modifies a recipe we’ve posted earlier.  This time I was getting jiggy with the dilly sunflower cheese Little Sis introduced us to after a bear visited their suburban backyard.

You can make this sunflower cheese ahead of time and then use some of it with your spaghetti squash, or you can make it the same day, it just depends on how much time you need for gazing and reaching upwards that day ;-)

Here is the basil/lemon version of the sunflower cheese which Little Sis adapted from Janet L. Doone’s sunflower cheese spread

Sunflower Lemon Pesto (dairy free)

  • 1 c soaked sunflower seeds (soak them in water overnight and rinse well)
  • 1/8 – 1/4 c water
  • juice from 1 to 2 lemons
  • 1 medium to large clove garlic
  • 3/4 t salt
  • 2 handfuls fresh basil
  • black pepper to taste

To ensure that garlic is mixed in evenly you may choose to press the garlic, or to chop it with the processor blade first, but in general you want to put everything but the basil in and wrangle it all together.  Then add your basil and mix it until it as finely chopped as you desire.  If your mixture is too thick add a little more water until you are satisfied with the texture.  

Cook a medium to large spaghetti squash by cutting it in half lengthwise and placing it boiling water for about 15- 20 minutes or until tender.  I apologize for the lack of pictures here… I wasn’t thinking about blogging at this point, only about happy basil leaves.  Thank you Laura Dolson for your tips on cooking squaghetti squash in a number of ways.  I chose to boil.

Like the lion and the lamb, my 2 squash halves did not both lie down together all the way in the pot, so I used a lid and switched their position about halfway through.  Without anybody watching and my imposed fairness, they managed to work things out and both tenderized nicely.  The skin becomes a little more translucent when it is cooked through at which point you carefully, and using pads of some sort – it’s hot – hold the squash and scrape out the lovely strands that resemble spaghetti.

Place a pile of squash in a bowl, a schmop of sunflower pesto on top and a little happy basil leaf (if you have to take a picture of everything before you eat it ;-)

P1000994Look closely and you can see a reflection of the sky in this full plate on our deck.  We are so very fortunate to have a deck from which to enjoy the sky, the sun and all of the lovely nourishing gifts that come from the ground as the seasons change and I try to remember to daily reach for the sky.

18 responses

  1. In my part of the world we’re walking the line between winter and spring right now (bought my first bunch of asparagus yesterday – happy dance), so chances are I won’t be making this dish soon. But I’ve always wanted to try spaghetti squash and never been quite sure what to do with it, so I’ve bookmarked your post for next autumn – thanks for sharing it.

    • How lovely to hear from someone walking the line between the other side of the seasonal switches :-) I do envy you your asparagus happy dance a bit…. but all in good time, I shall have asparagus, and you shall have spaghetti squash. I hope you enjoy both! Thanks for stopping by :-)

  2. Pingback: Prune Cardamom Sauce and Crazy Combo Contest | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: Fabulous Feature Friday

Leave a Reply

