Sanely Delicious Chocolate Cake (DF)

The season of birthdays has begun here in Mid-Maryland. For whatever reason a good portion of my family was born in the spring and summer and once the parade of birthdays begins, it doesn’t slow down until September.  Friends, that’s a lot cake.

I do love to celebrate and Mr. Little Sis LOVES cake, so despite my lack of enthusiasm for it (more of a pie gal honestly) I decided to honor his birthday with his favorite variety, a serious chocolate cake. While I’ve baked a lot, I don’t consider myself an authority on dairy free baking, particularly when it’s not for bite sized bits for lunch boxes. I decided to turn to a friend with more experience, and as usual the search for assistance bore delicious fruit.

Big Sis introduced you to our friend Somer (if you didn’t already know her, that is) with her Cheddar Cheesy Cashew Spread and I turned back to that same fabulous vegan cook for a little cake help. Somer delivered with her Insane Chocolate Layer Cake, a low fat, whole grain decidedly chocolate cake.

IMG_0351I made just a couple of changes to make it work better for my family and it was a lovely and actually quite sane chocolate treat. I swapped maple syrup for Somer’s agave and cut it to 3/4 c. Readers who are not accustomed to less sweet treats or who are new to healthier baking should use the full cup.  I also cut the apple cider vinegar to 2 T. because I cut the sweet I thought it was important to cut the sour zip to maintain balance. I also used only a little raw cacao and mostly used regular cocoa powder. I find that if I use too much raw cacao, nobody around here sleeps, and I’ll just admit it that one of the reasons I am the sane Mom that I am is that at the end of the day, people go to sleep. The cake baked up just as Somer indicated that it would, although when I make it again, I will use 8 inch pans rather than 9 inch. It rose, but the layers were not as lofty as I wanted them to be visually.

IMG_0333 IMG_0334 IMG_0336

For layering and topping our cake I used a cashew cream and a chocolate ganache. Concensus at the table, particularly amongst the younger crowd, was that I should have used less nut cream and more chocolate. It is important to note that my crew would pretty much always call for more chocolate.

Cashew Cream

  • 1 very full cup of cashews, soaked in clean water for at least an hour
  • 1/2 c coconut (or other alt milk)
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 1 T plus 1 t maple syrup
  • 1/4 t salt

Place all ingredients in food processor and blend until creamy. Yes, that’s it.

IMG_0340 IMG_0343 IMG_0345

Dark Chocolate GanacheIMG_0353

  • 1 1/2 c dark chocolate chips
  • cream from 1 can full fat coconut milk, refrigerated overnight (the cream will solidify at the top of the can and can then be scooped out, and yes, it’s awesome)

Place chocolate chips in the top of a double boiler (or stacked pots) with water in the bottom heat on medium high. Keep an eye on the chips as they melt, stirring occasionally. They hold their shape even when they are essentially melted. When the chips are melty enough to stir, remove from heat and stir in the coconut cream. What you do at this point depends on how you want to use the gananche/frosting. If you want to frost the cake in a more conventional way, you should chill it for at least 20 minutes. If you wish to drizzle, as I have, drizzle away immediately and then place the cake in the refrigerator so the chocolate can set up a bit. Wow that’s chocolate-y. And oh so very delish. Happy Birthday Mr. Little Sis.

IMG_0346 IMG_0347 IMG_0349

 

 

7 responses

  1. What a delicious sounding cake; I never cease to be amazed at just how much we can play with what we believe to be the ‘right’ way to bake. This definitely gives me good ideas for how to re-imagine birthday cakes here, and we’re full of spring/summer babies in our family too!

Leave a Reply

