Another Birthday Cake For Bigg Sis (GF,V and lots o’ chocolate)

The week before our annual trip to the beach with Bigg Sis and Carni-Mom, I was ambling through Costco (no, not really ambling, more like scrambling) to pick up a few items for the trip. I cut
through the book lane, with my hands half covering my eyes, but I still managed to see Angela Liddon‘s beautiful cookbook sitting there on the table. What’s a girl to do? I bought two, because I always feel better about indulging myself if I also indulge someone else. What better gift for a fabulous sister than a beautiful whole food plant based cookbook?

 photo IMG_0384.jpgNeedless to say Bigg Sis was delighted with her present, as I suspect any plant strong eater would be – this is a lovely and well put together cookbook. This wonderful book also solved my annual quandary of what to make for dessert for my wonderful sister’s birthday.

Bigg Sis, being kind and generous, insisted that we not make a fuss and that I not sacrifice any playtime for birthday desserts – bah. As luck would have it the whole troop wanted to take an excursion that involved over 500 stairs. While ye olde foot is well along in recovery, 500 stairs sounded a bit much, so I begged  photo IMG_0400.jpgoff and spent a delightful morning listening to the ocean (rather than the happy din of children at play), reading, and in a short time creating Ms. Liddon’s most amazing chocolate torte for Bigg Sis’ birthday.

I only made one modification to Ms. Liddon’s stellar recipe – and that was to leave out the espresso. While I’m quite sure it would only have deepened the fabulous flavor, little people with espresso in the evening does not for a pleasant vacation make, in my humble and occasionally extremely tired opinion.

This recipe calls for hazelnuts, oats, coconut oil, salt, maple syrup  and oat flour for the crust. I just brought oats and made my own oat flour in a food processor (Bigg Sis and I both have this one). And then added the other ingredients to make a heavenly dough for the crust in the same machine.

 photo IMG_0386.jpg  photo IMG_0387.jpg  photo IMG_0389.jpg

Baked that puppy until it was browning at the edges and then put it on a rack to cool… okay, so beach house living forced an improvisation here…

 photo IMG_0391.jpg  photo IMG_0392.jpg

While the crust was cooling, I blended up the soaked cashews, melted dark chocolate, coconut oil, cocoa powder, maple syrup and salt to make some delightful chocolateness.

 photo IMG_0393.jpg  photo IMG_0395.jpg

Scooped the chocolate in, spread it around, chilled and voila, a little gluten free dairy free birthday magic at the beach. Thank you Angela Liddon for an easy and elegant dessert. Thank you Bigg Sis for being so incredibly awesome.

 photo IMG_0396.jpg  photo IMG_0398.jpg

10 responses

  1. So that’s when you made the cake ;-) We missed you at the lighthouse, but I have to say that it was indeed one of the most amazing desserts I’ve had the pleasure of eating. And I would have to argue that YOU are the most awesome sister. Thanks for making my birthday even more special.

Leave a Reply

