Avocado Bisque with Garden Peas & Dill (DF)

 photo IMG_0421.jpgThe peas are ready! The peas are ready! Oh how I do love garden peas – the real deal, the kind you have to shell. I didn’t much care for them as a child (one for each year of life with a liberal swallow of milk so as not to choke), but have grown to like peas, but this is one area where frozen is really not the same as fresh. If you don’t care for peas, see if you can find the real McCoy at a farmer’s market and give them a go – raw, straight from the shell. Oh mercy. Spring is glorious.

I have found that my family enjoys garden peas most when they are left alone. Yesterday’s harvest may have yielded enough to cook and serve as a side, but I knew they wouldn’t like them as well, so I just rinsed those puppies and threw them in a bowl – shell and eat at will. But what else to serve? A ravenous 7 year old cannot live on garden peas alone, even if his mother would…

An old standby of mine that was ripe for an update: Avocado Bisque. I first encountered this recipe in the cookbook that came with my VitaMix, the cookbook that my sister previewed for me and annotated. Avocado Bisque earned a Bigg Sis rating of “Great,” and it is. I made a few adaptations to remove the moo and the chick and we enjoyed a lovely and light dinner of Avocado Bisque (with garden peas and dill), whole wheat bread (as evidenced by the crumb that snuck into my soup picture), and a fabulous green salad with garden lettuce.

Avocado Bisque - adapted from Whole Food Recipes for Better Living, yields about 4 1/2 cups

 photo IMG_0426.jpg

  • 2 large ripe avocados (yes, just the pulp)
  • 2 Tb fresh lemon juice
  • 3 c veggie broth
  • 3/4 c non-dairy milk (I used coconut)
  • 1 t salt
  • pepper to taste (I used white to sneak it past Ms. Picky Pants)

 photo IMG_0422.jpgPlace all ingredients in a robust blender in order listed. Blend on high for a few minutes. Can be served immediately or chilled.

We had ours with peas and dill added in the bowl so each could choose their level of dilly pea-ness (yikes, autocorrect alert). I think it would also be lovely with chopped fresh cucumber, red peppers, or if you are in Maryland, a little bit of crab. Fantastic early summer eating. Delish!

4 responses

Leave a Reply

