Traveling Beverages

Image

Is it some kind of foul and evil experiment involving old jars, a Coleman cooler and evil chemicals?  Are Little Sis and I analyzing the contents of Coca Cola?  Naaah!  That’s already been done!

It’s much tamer than that.  And although I am guessing that it is not high etiquette to use one’s blog in a self aggrandizing or self congratulatory way….. I’m going to do it anyway!  Actually, I’m sure you’ll forgive or even laugh at me because it’s such a small accomplishment that it’s hardly worth any praise.  However, it is one of those tasks that has been on my ‘to-do’ list for a long time.

I am not a caffeine-drinker, but when we travel I need a little help to keep eyes on the road and wheels within the lane markers.  My drink of choice at this point is some iced tea.  It does not cause my heart to speed up or skip a few beats as does caffeinated coffee, but gives enough boost to keep us safe in the car.

Convenience store at the gas station, here we come.  Just don’t check out the labels on your average bottle or can of iced tea.  It’s a little scary.  (And of course I hope you do check the labels!)  Even Arizona tea with the wonderful Asian symbols and natural sounding flavors like green tea with ginseng and honey has high fructose corn syrup in it.  In fact HFCS is the second ingredient in that flavor, honey is the third and it also lists ‘natural flavors’ as an ingredient.  I promise not to dwell too long on this, but McDonald’s sweet tea does not even achieve a first or second place listing for tea.  The first ingredient is water, the second sugar and the third is tea.  There are 45 grams of sugar in a medium (21fl oz) McDonald’s sweet tea.  Suffice it to say, that the teas available to me as I travel all have sugar in various guises.  And lots of it.  So I’ve been saving bottles, both from the tea I’ve chosen over a nasty high speed collision, and anything else that is conducive to drinking and storing, with the intention of making my own iced tea and taking it on the road!

I finally did it!  As you can see in the picture above it was indeed a motley collection of bottles / jars (minus the one we drank on the first leg of the journey) filled with home brewed black tea and 1 tablespoon of sugar in what turned out to be about a half gallon of tea.  In comparison to McDonald’s sweet tea that’s 4.5 grams of sugar in 21 oz. rather than 45.  Mind you this tea was not sweet to speak of, but it tasted great, did the job and removed the repugnant necessity of giving my money to companies that make crappy products albeit in the name of highway safety.

So yeah for me!  Self congratulation done and there is plenty of tea left for the return trip as well.  Next hurdle…. the free breakfast in the hotel that has waffles that come from a pourable carton and Fruit Loops.   Ahhhhhhhh!

6 responses

  1. I love your containers almost as much as I love homemade beverages on the road. Long drives really can be a challenge when you’re trying not to eat junk. I’ve found that packing a small cooler with snacks we like and beverages for all of us has saved us a lot of dietary errors AND a whole lot of money. It also seems that because this is the norm for us, when I do find something reasonable to purchase at a stop, the kids see it as a special treat and are very appreciative. And anyway, if you pack it all, you don’t even have to stop at all… oh, right, caffeine, beverages, bladder…. there’s always that empty jar….. yes, I am kidding. : )

  2. Hahaha – easier for guys to use that trick! Y’all over there are sooo healthy! Good for you making the extra effort – your bodies are thanking you, I’m sure. Wish my system were responsive to iced tea – I have a fierce addiction to espresso!

    • Personally, I am more of a coffee drinker, and so we’ve amassed a collection of travel coffee containers and we fill ALL of them before we embark on a serious road trip. With summer coming, I might be convinced to throw some tea into the mix, especially since I have been taken in by the Arizona ginseng tea in the past… My husband is with you and would probably just as soon find a way to install an espresso maker in the car.

  3. Pingback: Sugar Busting | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: Replace Those Unhealthy “Health” Foods Part 2 | my sister's pantry

  5. Pingback: Suh-weeeeeeet!! | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

