Humble Pie and Hummus?!

When last we spoke, I was in a bit of a snit.  While I am happy to have shown you that I am a complex individual with an impressive range of emotions (for those of you who know me well, let’s keep it to a snicker here, shall we?), I would like to apologize for the road weary negativity that drove my last post.  A night of sleep (even with the pre-K snoring) did indeed make the difference.  In the morning I was able to find my big girl panties, put them on, and greet the new day.  Asheville is awesome.

While Daddy was busy at meetings, the squirts and I meandered over to the Western Carolina Nature Center.  Once we slowed down enough to allow the eighteen field trips that were there get a head start on us, we settled in for a tour of the local flora and fauna which included all manner of fox, wolves, bears (good gravy), cougars, bobcats, farm animals, LOTS of snakes (I tried to remain scientifically engaged and not shudder while the kids were looking), and MY personal favorite, the otters.  It was a lovely visit, and the fact that our earlier membership purchased at the Maryland Science Center got us in free just made it that much sweeter (shamelessly cheap, I am). I convinced the kids to walk the short nature loop with me, so Momma got some exercise, green spotting, and the kids had their first honeysuckle.  We ate a picnic lunch (of our car lunch leftovers) and it was glorious.  78 degrees and de-freakin’-vine.  There is something soft about North Carolina breezes that I have always loved.  And the hummus that we continue to rely on to fill in the meal gaps is SUCH a winner, that I thought I would share yet ANOTHER hummus recipe.  This one incorporates fresh herbs, and so I think it could be a really fun recipe to play with.

NAVY BEAN HERB HUMMUS – adapted from Dreena Burton’s White Bean Hummus in Eat, Drink and Be Vegan

  • 2 c cooked navy beans (cook until decidedly VERY soft, unless you like chunky hummus)
  • Juice of 1 small lemon
  • 2 T tahini (or other unsweetened nut butter)
  • 1 large clove garlic
  • 2 T olive oil
  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • ½ t mild (such as Dijon) mustard
  • ½ t sea salt
  • black pepper to taste
  • water as needed
  • 2 T chopped fresh thyme
  • ¼ c chopped fresh basil
  • 2 T chopped fresh parsley

Throw all ingredients except water and herbs in food processor.  Got to it until desired consistency, adding tablespoons of water as required to achieve your hummusy heart’s content.  Pause periodically to scrape the bowl so all of the beans get through the blades.  Add herbs at end and pulse a few times to blend without mutilating.  (Wow.  I may need to go get some right now.  Just talking about this one makes me hungry.  Serve with whole wheat pitas, crackers (like these homemade power houses on Angela Liddon’s site), or a fresh baguette.  Best enjoyed after fresh honeysuckle in a North Carolina breeze.  Delish.

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Smoky Baba Ghanoush | my sister's pantry

  2. Pingback: SOTW: Slow Cooker Tomato Soup | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: Brown Baggin’ It | my sister's pantry

  4. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan 5/4-5/10 | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

