Tahini for Two, or 10 for Tahini

The sauce is huge.  Don’t you think?  Dressing, spicing, basting, flavoring, slathering and pouring on that scrumptious sauce can turn a few simple ingredients into what Little Sis would call “Company Good” food.  Sometimes the sauce is a simple blend of balsamic vinegar and oil, or avocado and rice vinegar.  Sometimes it is a whole production in and of itself and of course many sauces include milk, cream and/or some kind of cheese.

The elimination of dairy from my husband’s diet has narrowed the slathering-covering-dripping element of our cuisine and has sent me in search of alternates to enhance flavor and texture.  Bloggers to the rescue yet again!  I have not yet failed to find fantastic solutions to any culinary question or difficulty when searching amongst the myriad of blogs representing folks who try and share their work.  Thank you!

The following seems to me to be a combo of Angela Liddon (Oh She Glows) and Little Sis – the great deconstructionist / substitutor who can happily feed a crowd of diverse eaters.  Everyone in my family of 3 LOVES this recipe and it works with whatever I have coming out of the garden at the time (even cauliflower leaves).  It’s different every time, except for the sauce, which is truly yummy, creamy, dairy-free, and filling – good for you as well!

Here is the recipe from Angela Liddon for Protein Power Goddess Bowl.  (Some days I feel like the goddess, some days I feel like the bowl.)

Lightened Up Protein Power Goddess Bowl

Adapted from Protein Power Goddess Bowl, which was adapted from The Coup Cookbook.
Yield: 6 cups
Ingredients:
1 cup uncooked green lentils (yield 2 & 3/4 cups cooked)
1 cup uncooked speltberries (yield 2 cups cooked) OR grain of choice, like brown rice
1/2 tbsp olive oil, for sautéing
1/2 red onion (~1 & 1/3 cups), chopped
3-4 garlic cloves, minced
1 red bell pepper, chopped
1 large tomato, chopped
3 cups spinach or kale, roughly chopped (I used Lacinato kale)
1/2 cup fresh parsley, minced
1 batch of Lightened Up Tahini-Lemon Dressing (recipe below)
Kosher salt & black pepper, to taste
Lemon Wedges & lemon zest, to garnish

Okay garden…. where’s the spinach, kale or red onion?
I beg your pardon… I never promised you a grocery store garden!
However, my lovely garden offered me leeks that, although a bit small were not going to get any larger in the TN sun.   I also had swiss chard.  Hello you gorgeous red stalked wonders, I believe I can get cooking now!

So with the help of a store bought pepper and garlic I did the following…

Ms. Liddon’s Directions:

1. Cook lentils and speltberries (or grain of choice) according to package directions. I did this the night before to save time. Drain and set aside.   – I (BiggSis) used quinoa instead of speltberries and am going to try lentils with rice next time.

2. Prepare the Lightened Up tahini-Lemon dressing in food processor (see below for recipe).

3. In a large skillet over low-medium heat, add your olive oil and sauté the chopped onion and minced garlic for a few minutes, being careful not to burn. Now add in the chopped red pepper and tomato and sauté for another 7-8 minutes.

Chopped leeks first for a few minutes and then I added the chopped stems of the swiss chard.

Add the pepper

– I did not use tomato this time.  First time I made this I added uncooked tomatoes at the end and thought that was awesome!

4. Stir in the chopped kale or spinach and sauté for another few minutes, just until tender.

Beautiful swiss chard!

Stir in the full batch of tahini-Lemon dressing, the cooked & drained grains and lentils, and simmer on low for another few minutes.

– To accomodate all eaters, I kept the quinoa, lentils, sauteed veggies, tahini dressing and toppers of parsley separate so that each diner could compile their own version of this wonderful dish.  Even Little Sis’ picky one would find a way to eat some of this stuff 😉

Remove from heat and stir in the minced parsley. Season with salt and pepper to taste and garnish with lemon wedges and zest. Makes 6 cups.

Here is the wonderful Lemon-Tahini dressing.  It seems like a lot of dressing but tahini is not a strong taste and it adds a lovely creaminess to the dish – so heap it on there!

Lightened Up Tahini-Lemon Dressing

Adapted from Tahini-Lemon Dressing.
Yield: Just under 1 cup of dressing
Ingredients:
1/4 cup Tahini
2 garlic cloves
1/2 cup fresh lemon juice (about 2 lemons)
1/4 cup Nutritional yeast or a bit more, to taste
2-4 tbsp Extra virgin olive oil, to taste
1 tsp kosher salt + freshly ground black pepper, or to taste
3 tbsp water, or as needed

Directions:
1. In a food processor, add all ingredients and process until smooth. Makes just under 1 cup. – I just put it all in a large measuring cup and stirred.  Worked just fine.

Eh Voila!  Wish I could have provided a picture before any was eaten but I was very hungry and forgot until a little nourishment got my brain working better again.

lightened up protein power goddess bowl.

Enjoy – in whatever combo works for you and those whom you nourish!

7 responses

  1. I saw that salad on OSG! Woohoo for salad challenge! Yours looks super tasty! Congrats on removing dairy from your husbands diet too, has it helped him? Oh, and your beg your pardon reference is totally making and 80’s song that uses that quote lodge itself firmly in my head. 😉

    • Sorry to have lodged a song firmly in your head… I’ve heard doing math can get lodged songs out 🙂 My husband is doing much better – this is the longest spell of wellness he has had in over 3 months, so we’re hoping that will continue. The loss of dairy has helped me immensely! I have less allergies, less sludgy feeling and I find that I am rarely even tempted to eat it. It doesn’t appeal anymore!

      • That is such good news! I was hoping that would be the case. Isn’t amazing that our diet can heal our bodies?

        It has really changed our lives as well, and though I don’t miss actual dairy, I am really enjoying the counterparts in almond milk, cashew cheez, and homemade nut or soy milk yogurts. My kids especially appreciate those things and it has made the transition even easier. All of us have had tremendous health improvement and that makes me super happy!

      • It’s funny how it gets easier to pass up the things you thought you couldn’t live without once you make the connection with how bad they make you feel. How lovely that your family is also benefitting! Thanks for asking about my husband 🙂

  2. I juuuust made that dressing last week and promptly went to the store for more lemons. I am truly addicted to it now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

