Top 10 of 2012… DrumRoll Please

So, I guess it makes a certain amount of sense now that the hooplah is over and we are all returning to our usual routine (or at least some approximation of that) to take a moment to reflect on the previous year.

While we’ve not been at this enterprise for the full calendar year, time is certainly passing at its usual breakneck pace and I can’t believe how much writing we’ve done, how many of you are interested (or at least moderately amused), and how very much fun and community we’ve discovered in this bizarre virtual realm. We are oh so grateful to you and look forward to the next year of writing, communing, and discovering fabulous new foods and super ways to enjoy them with the people we love. Salut!

Our top 10 posts of 2012, in countdown order….

Number 10: Souped Up, We Double Dare You

In this post my fabulous sister and I had a bit of a soup off. Two delicious vegetable soups from one of our favorite vegetable gurus, Deborah Madison.   Simple, healthful ingredients, all piled together in a big bubbly pot just waiting to satisfy you.  You don’t need no stinkin’ can.  Perfect for cold weather dining. Delish!

Number 9: A Better (Veggie) Burger

In this post I finally conquer the veggie burger world. While these babies draw from many other veggie burgers I’ve found from wonderful chefs, I just kept tinkering and found the one that works best for us, and for my fabulous sister as well. They really are deeply satisfying. Skip that freezer aisle and make your own. You won’t regret it.

Number 8: Baby Step 3: Pantry Perusal
Step number three from our ongoing series, Baby Steps to Better Health. Here we suggest a long hard look at the ingredients you keep on hand. If you don’t have real food in the house, you can’t cook real food.  We’ll help you make the change if you’re ready – it’s a new year – what’s in your pantry?

 

 
Number 7: To Life, L’Chaim

My Uncle Chuck would be so delighted by how many of you stopped by my tribute to him. Uncle Chuck was a wonderful man and we toast him whenever we raise our glasses, or our loaves of bread. A nice warm loaf of homemade bread makes hard things a little easier for a minute. Lovely picture of New England Coast line alert on this one. L’Chaim.

Number 6: Baby Step 1: The Old Switcheroo
The first step in our ongoing Baby Steps to Better Health series makes a simple proposal. Choose one thing you know you shouldn’t eat. Switch it out for something better. One item, one switch, as often as possible. This step is the foundation of the revolution that my sister and I have experienced in our eating habits and in our health. Join us – we promise it will be easier than you think. One item, one switch, as often as possible.

Number 5: “Hot & Hearty” – Better Than Porridge
I can’t speak for you – but I’ll speak for me and my sister (and my son, and a few other people I know), and when we wake up we are HONGRY (which is more than hungry, in case you are wondering). Boxed breakfast cereal is tasty, and there are an increasing number that offer more nutrition than the box they come in, but it’s always a gamble and the fact is that boxed cereal is REALLY expensive, and for me, it lasts about an hour. This fabulous hot breakfast will take you to lunch time with no problem. A few minutes of heat and a stir and you too can be in hot breakfast heaven. You don’t need no stinkin’ box. Come on in, the porridge is fine.

Number 4: Holiday Fudge Pleases Mom and Child
When we talk about changing our eating habits, I see the look of fear that comes into people’s eyes. I know what they’re thinking. They’re thinking “These insane women are going to tell me to stop eating chocolate. I have to get away, right now.” There, there. We wouldn’t do that to you. We’ll just find a different, and totally awesome gift-worthy way to enjoy it. Bigg Sis stole the show with this amazing fudge.

Number 3: About the Pantry

Yep, really.  Number 3.  Apparently you want to know all about us.  I’m thinking we ought to add a little more to this page. 🙂

Number 2: Peeping in Our Pantries
In her generosity my sister offered everybody a look inside OUR pantries – WITH PICTURES. Mercy. I overcame my fear of being judged by all of those super organized people and agreed. Big lists here of the kinds of foods we keep in our pantries so that we’ll always be able to make some real food. Easy, cheap, healthful. Yay!

And finally……
Number 1: Frozen Dairy Dessert, Really Breyer’s?
Believe me when I say neither of us had any idea how much outrage was simmering out there in the ice cream eating population. In case you are a Breyer’s fan and haven’t taken a good read of the label lately, give it a good look – it’s not like you remember. My sister reminds us that reading labels isn’t just a once and done kind of job, and encourages us to demand real food with our voices and our wallets.

From My Sister’s Pantry (and her sister’s pantry) to yours – Happy New Year! May 2013 find you indulging in healthy and satisfying dishes with the people you love most in the world!

24 responses

  1. What an absolute pleasure it has been making this journey with you my dearest sister! Your humor and brilliance continue to inspire me… and apparently others as well.

  2. You had a very delicious year! But my absolute favorite is the “better than porridge” one! Thank you for sharing this at Wednesday Extravaganza – Hope to see you there again next week with more deliciousness 🙂

  3. Your posts are so informative and your recipes look delicious. Thank you so much for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday.” I hope you will be able to join us again this week! 🙂

Leave a Reply

