Shweet Potato Stew

Oh is there no end to the wonderfulness of the sweet potato?

“I yam what I yam,” she replies coyly from her bed in the soil.  “You dig?”

Oh I do dig – well not literally, not yet anyway.  I have not attempted to grow sweet potatoes but I should because they are so versatile and good for you, and so darn shweet.  I am afraid to count how many posts Little Sis and I have written about sweet potatoes.  If I count we might have to change the name of our blog to My Sister’s Sweet Potatoes… and that’s a little un-savory.  And that translates to a little Shweet, don’t you think?

This stew tastes complex but it’s quite simple and I know we will be eating it again real soon.  It definitely falls in the category B on Baby Step 7 of recipes that don’t take long but do require a cooking time component.  If you need it faster or Category A of fast, healthy dinners, you could either microwave your sweet potatoes first, or cook them on a day when you have time and keep  in the fridge until you’re ready to make the stew.

The lumpy orange shtew was a big hit (once again – I’m on a roll) with the now TWELVE year old boy, and would have passed the “wants to have it in the thermos for lunch at school test” had there been any left.  We ate all but a measly little portion that nobody could stuff in.

This is based on a recipe by Mark Bittman in the New York Times.

Shweet Potato Stew:

1 med – lge onion, chopped
oil for the pan
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1 tsp. fresh grated ginger (place fresh ginger in the freezer and it is very easy to grate with a grater or microplane.)
5 c. cubed sweet potato (I left the peels on)
1.5 c. cubed apple (I also left the peels on)
1 c. chopped carrot
1 can coconut milk (I used lite)
1.5 cups stock (I used vegetable stock)
fresh cilantro for garnis
peanuts for garnish

– Saute onion and spices in pan until translucent
– Add sweet potatoes, carrots and apple and cook for about 5 minutes
– Add coconut milk and stock, cover and bring to a gentle boil.  Cook until sweet potatoes and apples are very soft – about 20 minutes depending on how small your cubes of sweet potato are.

2013-01-028

It doesn’t look too good yet, does it?  It’s that coconut/stock mix…. hmmm… don’t worry – shweetness is coming!

Smush it some… or should I say Shmush it some with a masher.

2013-01-27 17.47.08

Okay, now it’s looking decidedly un-appetizing.   Hang in there just a little bit longer.

Put in a bowl, garnish with cilantro and peanuts…. and Behold!

2013-01-27 18.12.09

Shweetness abounds.  Next time I will double this recipe because I was so looking forward to some leftovers as lunch.  Next time… anticipation can indeed be sweet!  And little is sweeter than a tasty, hearty recipe that’s easy and even healthy.

And in case you are now as enamored of sweet potatoes as am I:
Sweet potato Gratin
Sweet potato for breakfast
Sweet Potato pancakes
Sweet potatoes helping fight hunger
Exotic roasted sweet potatoes

 

This post was featured at:

55 responses

  1. I am interested in your suggestion about the fresh ginger. Do you peel it before you put it in the freezer? Do you peel it with a knife or??? I want to get into using fresh ginger but it sort of baffles me. I have recently begun buying the ginger paste in the produce section of the grocery store but I don’t know how long it will last before going bad. I could freeze some of that too, but I really just want to know more about your method. (this recipe looks good, don’t know if my DH would agree though)
    toni

    • Hi Toni! I do not peel it at all. I throw it in the freezer and use my microplane grater. The skin grates off easily as well and I have not noticed any ill effects on flavor of that practice. If I am starting to grate a completely skin covered piece I will grate the first bit over the sink to get rid of that layer of skin, that way I’m mostly grating the flesh and only a little skin goes in. If you leave it out in the freezer it gets kind of dry after a month or so, so I’ve been meaning to try putting it in a baggie, or some foil or something to keep it from drying out. It is SO easy to grate once frozen. A little harder to measure because it gets kind of fluffy in the grating process so I make sure and taste as I go! Thanks for asking and for stopping by!

    • Thanks Heather – yes this is a perfect day for a soup like this! It is very cold here in Middle Tennessee as well, although the sun is shining and the sky is clear. So glad you stopped by and do let us know how you like the soup… once you emerge from the warm blanket 😉

    • I have to credit my biggest Bro with that tip – and I use ‘fresh’ ginger much more often than I used to because of it. I agree – it’s icky otherwise.

  2. YUM, I “yam” going to like this!
    Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Thanks for linking back to the Gluten Free Fridays post!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

    • You gotta love a vegetable that is so tasty, healthy and supplies the potential for so many jokes! Thanks for the pin and for hosting. We do appreciate it!

  3. I love the ginger and coconut milk in this stew! Very delicious! Thank you so much for sharing this at Wednesday Extravaganza – hope to see you there again this week with more of your deliciousness 🙂

  4. Pingback: Hearth and Soul Hop

  5. Pingback: Carribbean Flair – Cheap, Easy, Delicious | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Brown Baggin’ It | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: Gingery Sweet Potato Black bean soup | my sister's pantry

  8. Pingback: Soup De Doo! | my sister's pantry

  9. Pingback: Weekly Menu 12/8-12/14 | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

