Lettuce and Eggs? You’ll be Glad You Did

Sam I am would be delighted to eat this ‘Green Casserole’.  The eggs aren’t green, but there is enough green stuff in there that they might as well be.  This dish comes out seeming very refined somehow, and yet it is easy and very tasty.  Sort of a savory vegetable tart.

I gently changed the Green Vegetable Casserole recipe found in “Healing Psoriasis” by John Pagano.  It is a very adaptable recipe to whatever greens you have around, but the surprising thing to me was the inclusion of romaine lettuce in a dish that you bake.  I was dubious, but it is really tasty and the romaine holds up well.

Personally, I think leeks are a centerpiece of this dish, but you can try it with any combo of greens, other than tender lettuce, you like.

And if you use some, but not all of your leeks, you can freeze the tops to use to flavor soups.  I just throw them in a bag, freeze them, and then let them stew in the broth for awhile before removing.  I love not wasting any leeks.

DSC07716

But back to the recipe at hand!

Green Casserole

2 cups leeks, chopped (original recipe says finely chopped, I cut coins about 1/4″ in diameter and then cut them in half)
2 cups spinach, chopped
1 cup romaine lettuce, finely chopped (again, I am not a fine chopper!)
1 cup fresh parsley, chopped
(original recipe calls for 1 cup chopped scallions – I liked it much better without scallions and just used more of the other ingredients)
2 Tbsp. flour (I used brown rice because we are gluten free – any flour will do)
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
10 – 12 eggs
oil for the baking dish

Preheat the oven to 325.
Coat a 9X13″ baking dish with oil (I use safflower oil)
Place all the chopped veggies in a bowl and add flour, salt and pepper and stir.

DSC07715

In a separate bowl, scramble the eggs.  The reason for the range of eggs is you want enough egg to coat all the veggies and fill the bottom of the pan at least 1/2″ or so to give you a base for the ‘tart.’
Pour your egg mixture over the veggies, mix and pour into prepared 9X13 casserole.

DSC07717

If you don’t feel there is enough egg, then scramble a few more and pour on.
Bake for an hour or until firm on the bottom and browned a bit on top.

DSC07718

Delicious hot or cold.  I eat it for breakfast sometimes which helps me get more veggies in my morning!

DSC07734

48 responses

  1. I am all for eggs and greens – this looks like a yummy and healthy option! Thanks for the recipe, looks great! I’m your newest follower from the Clever Chicks. Would love for you to come visit as well!

  2. YUM, I love the leeks! We have been adding more greens into our eggs! YUM Thanks for kicking off a great party this week! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Thanks for linking back to the Gluten Free Fridays post!

    We have a giveaway next week!!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

    • Thank you for hosting Cindy! I grew some leeks last year and it was SO delightful to pull fresh leeks from the garden for cheap because they are so wonderful. Thanks also forthe pin and the tweet 🙂

  3. WOW, so healthy and yummy!!! Thanks so much for sharing at Nap-Time Creations’ Tasteful Tuesdays… so glad to have you around for the party! I’m pleased to tell you that this recipe is being featured tomorrow in a CELEBRATE GREEN (st. Pats) Round Up! I would LOVE if you would post the featured button on this post to show off your feature and follow via GFC or E-mail if you don’t already. Don’t miss out on any of the fun! (link will be live Sat. morning) http://www.nap-timecreations.com/2013/03/celebrategreen.html

    • Hi KewKew! I get leeks in the produce section of my grocery store. They look like giant, tubular spring onions – usually sold in bunches of 3 or 4. If you find some and use them beware that you have to wash them carefully as dirt can get between the layers. I usually cut some slices after washing and that makes it easier to open up some more to washing. Let us know if you find them and like them! They have a milder flavor than spring onions – less bitey.

  4. I’ve stumbled across three of your awesome healthy recipes today. We love eating eggs with vegetables for breakfast……. usually as breakfast burritos. Thanks for sharing and encouraging us all to eat healthy!

  5. What an interesting casserole, I have to try this it looks awesome! Hope you are having a great weekend and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

    • Thanks Miz Helen! This is an interesting casserole. It feels very French to me somehow… not that I know or anything. Thanks again for hosting! We love the Red Plate!

  6. Pingback: Greens, Soup, and Comfort Food from the Hearth and Soul Hop

Leave a Reply

