Veggie Basics: Roasted Cabbage? Yes, Please!

Brussels sprouts are so cute.  Their big ugly cousin, the cabbage is usually shredded, embedded and outside of coleslaw, dreaded by most children.  While I can’t say that this latest endeavor with cabbage won my son’s heart, he would eat it.  For me it was an addition to Little Sis’ journey to simplify vegetable preparation.  It doesn’t get much easier than this folks and the result was very tasty with lots of room for you to adapt to your family’s taste.

If you can roast Brussel’s sprouts, then why not cabbage?  Maybe other people already are, but this was new to me.  An acquaintance wishing to remain anonymous suggested this idea and I eagerly tried it as the store is full of cabbages for St. Patty’s Day right now.

3 Slice Roast Cabbage.

Yup, you heard me – 3 slices.

One slice to cut the head in half and then 2 more to bring you to 4 pieces.  Ain’t math grand?  I love it that 3 slices makes 4 pieces.

DSC07776

Thar she blows!  One globe reduced to 4 quarters – so sorry for the blow to unification.  The separation only gets worse.

DSC07778   Brush each quarter with oil of choice – I used olive, salt and pepper.  Here is your first opportunity for variation.  If you don’t use much oil, or you would like to experiment with flavor, why not use sesame oil and a little soy sauce… or just a little soy sauce, or balsamic vinegar, or a little veggie broth, or some other sauce that you like.  You could add herbs.  Marjoram comes to mind… and of course oregano is always tasty on roasted vegetables.  Roasted cabbage is a touch sweet, and I though it was delicious with just oil, salt and vinegar, but variety is the spice and the basis of food blogging, right?

After you’ve brushed, sprinkled or dumped, wrap each quarter in aluminum foil and place on a baking sheet.

Bake at 375 – 400 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour and test for tenderness.  Would be nice if a simple fork or knife prick could detect human tenderness…. Alas that test takes a bit longer.   Tender!

DSC07779

And tasty as well.

It is at this point that you have your second opportunity to individualize.  Give it a first bite and then add if you like.  I am going to try it with Raw Pad Thai sauce, and then perhaps with Little Sis’ Basil Avocado Cream, the Easiest Tomato Sauce Ever would be quite tasty, and, well… Easy!  Whatever sounds good – and if you adapt at this stage you can offer different sauces to different family members.  I only smile when my son puts ketchup on broccoli because I buy ketchup that is not so crappy and…. he is eating broccoli!  I would smile to see him put ketchup on roasted cabbage as well.

DSC07783That’s a lot of cabbage and I ate the whole thing.  The best part was the bottom that got a little carmelized.

DSC07781-001

Enjoy and please share your own sauces for veggies, roasted or otherwise!

This post was shared on Wildcrafting Wednesday.

This post was featured at:

87 responses

  1. Did this last night for dinner w/ the (non vegetarian addition of chorizo) and onion. Quarters are nice, but I was in a hurry so I just made thick slices all the way across the cabbage for big rounds down to the core, then chopped up the bits w/ the onion….cooked 425 and done in 20 min 🙂 YUM might even be more tempting to the wee ones as they caramelize more… I love cabbage:)
    *anna

    • Hey now…. throw other stuff in there as well – brilliant! Meal in a pouch. Toss, bake and eat, right? Convenience without the chemicals! You are so smart 🙂

    • I hadn’t either… Honestly I’ve not been a big fan of cooked cabbage outside of Asian food, so I was delighted to find that I like this!

  2. I wonder if it would soften enough in 30 minutes @ 450? I’m always looking for things that are really, really quick to do. And what about a few pine nuts thrown into the package too?

    • Another reader states she does 20 minutes at 400! She did mention that she thinks softer would be more appealing to kids, so I guess that means it wasn’t that soft at that time length – but 30 minutes at 400 might be enough! 450 might burn the bottom a bit, but I don’t know. Let us know! Pine nuts is a great idea as well 😉

    • Thanks Barb! So glad you enjoy reading our posts. I amuse myself and it’s nice to know that sometimes I amuse someone else as well 😉

    • Thanks Barb! So glad you enjoy reading our posts. I amuse myself and it’s nice to know that sometimes I amuse someone else as well 😉

    • And you gotta love the 3 slice approach 😉 Please let us know if you spice or sauce differently so we can all try it. Thanks for stopping by Elise!

    • And you gotta love the 3 slice approach 😉 Please let us know if you spice or sauce differently so we can all try it. Thanks for stopping by Elise!

  3. We just love Roasted Cabbage, your recipe looks awesome! Have a great St. Patrick’s Day and thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday!
    Come Back Soon,
    Miz Helen

  4. I don’t like cole slaw, EXCEPT the recipe my friend makes where he roasts or grills his cabbage then mixes a vinaigrette as the dressing instead of a mayo based one. Yum! Thanks for the reminder . . . . I want to try this!

  5. Super de-duper excited to try this! I have not roasted cabbage before. Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Thanks for linking back to the Gluten Free Fridays post!

    Party starts tomorrow at 7:05 pm eastern time! Hope to see you there!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

    • Thanks for the pin and for hosting the Gluten Free party! We appreciate your work and all of us trying to reduce or eliminate gluten appreciate the resources.

  6. Pingback: Show Off Frdiday #47 -First Day of Spring! | What-About.co

  7. This looks great– what a new and different way to make cabbage! Thanks for linking up with “Try a New Recipe Tuesday.” I look forward to seeing what you share this week! 🙂

  8. I may have to try this! I’ve never really played with cabbage but I did have some in a dish once and enjoyed it. Thank you for posting! It reminds me also that you can roast lots of different vegetables with the same oil and S&P.

    Blessings,
    Nicole @ WKH

  9. It sounds so great. I have always been very fond of cabbage, raw, cooked and roasted – I will try your version with some shredded nutmeg.
    Elsebeth

  10. We’ve done this on the grill with olive oil, salt & pepper and Moroccan preserved lemon slices. They were fantastic. I did one on the grill and it picked up the smoke flavor. The other slices were wrapped in foil and stayed moister.

  11. Never thought about roasting cabbage or Brussels – we boil both of those here in the UK. Roasted cabbage looks pretty good, but roasted Brussels sound amazing! Please can you give me instructions as to how you roast ’em? Thanks 😀

    • Hi Zoie! I roast my brussels by cutting the tough little end off – cutting them in half and then shaking them up with a little oil, salt, pepper and roast them on a baking sheet at about 375 for about 30 – 60 minutes depending on how big the sprouts are and how tender you like them. I have never cared for Brussel Sprouts before cooking them this way. Let us know how you like them!

  12. Pingback: Cinnamon Cabbage Stir Fry | my sister's pantry

  13. When we grill, I chop a cabbage head up coursely, add spices, and atablespoon of bacon grease. Wrap up in tin foil and cook aroung 30 minutes. YUM.

  14. Found this over at Melt In Your Mouth Monday and cannot wait to try it! I love cabbage and roasted veggies but for some reason I’ve never done it before.

  15. We have been harvesting lot’s of great cabbage from our garden and this will be a great recipe to try. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope you are having a great week.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  16. Pingback: New Nostalgia – Anti-Procrastination Tuesday

  17. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan 3/2-3/8 | my sister's pantry

  18. Pingback: Celebrating St. Patrick Baby Steps Style | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

