Creamy non-dairy mashed potatoes

Okay, so maybe you like dairy in your mashed potatoes just fine, thank you.  Carni-Mom makes mashed potatoes with butter, cream cheese and sour cream.  And they taste good.  But dairy is rough on a lot of people’s waistlines, heart health and digestion, …. The good news is that if you are trying to cut back on dairy, or have someone who is lactose intolerant, or are just trying to eat less animal stuff and more plant stuff, you do not have to sacrifice delicious mashed potatoes.  Honest.  I swear up and down and sideways too.

You also don’t have to work that hard, because mashed potatoes are just a little more interesting with skin in.  Carni-Mom does not peel her potatoes ever since she burned them a bit one Thanksgiving and told us all that the brown bits were from peels.  Nobody minded.  My cousin dubbed them “Whole Wheat Mashed Potatoes” and there have been few peelers in the family ever since.  One little white lie can go a long way and become family tradition… Uh – that didn’t sound right, did it?

At any rate, these plant-based mashed potatoes arose out of leftovers, but will become the main point of cooking in the future!  They begin with an incredible and easy chickpea stew created by the wonderfully innovative Annie at anunrefinedvegan.  It is called Smoky Chickpea Stew with Spinach, Sausage, and Cashew Cream.  It is to die for and quite easy.  My family loves this and I highly recommend it.

Now as far as the cashew cream goes….. Well, it goes, baby.  It goes down real easy!  Yet, we have not used it all on any of the 3 occasions I have made the stew recipe.  I have added leftover cashew cream to an oil and vinegar salad dressing, used it as a dip or spread and when I had some leftover boiled red potatoes sitting next to the cashew cream in the refrigerator, it was a simple leap and a joyous union.  (I think they had been flirting for some time and I just abetted their inevitable relationship.)

I recommend you make the chickpea stew for dinner one night, and maybe even have some potatoes on to boil while it’s cooking if you won’t have time the next night.

2013-03-20 16.01.05

On the next night, if you can keep your family away from the leftover chickpea stew that you wanted to take to lunch, haul out those leftover boiled red potatoes (with skins), heat them up and stir in the leftover cashew cream.  Now I didn’t measure this but you can hardly go wrong.  Just add cashew cream and a little unsweetened almond milk (or non-dairy milk of your choice) so that you can mix ’em up.

2013-03-20 16.05.52

Add some salt to taste and watch them disappear.  My 12 year old does not use the cashew cream on his chickpea stew and in general is not a fan of the cashew concoctions we’ve been trying, but he LOVED these potatoes.

2013-03-20 16.29.39

While I won’t bore you with lots of scary data, the data is out there that more plants in the diet is an excellent thing for health.  How lovely when you don’t have to lose an old favorite while getting healthier!

If you try the Chickpea Stew, make sure and let Annie know you liked it!

More help increasing the veggies in your life?… Veggie Basics and Dinner

More cashew goodness: Plant-based Creamed Kale

Cashew, sunflower seed cheese on burritos

And how about even easier Slow cooker burritos?

The options are endless when cooking with plants.  So celebrate Springtime, renewal, and hope (and reward your body) with delicious plant-based bounty.

28 responses

  1. This sounds yummy. I want to try the chick pea stew. Can I use kidney beans instead? Ane what do you think of the vegan sausage? Is it gluten free? Thanks Bigsis 🙂

    • Hi there Suzanne 🙂
      Kidney beans will be softer – so maybe wait a little longer to add them so they don’t get too mushy – but I wouldn’t think the flavor would be changed too much. I don’t often use vegan sausage, it’s very expensive and it’s a little process-y for my tastes. I have used a little turkey sausage, and I have also made it without sausage – but if you find some good vegan sausage to recommend, let us know. Thanks for stopping by. I can tell by your questions that you must be a Bigg Sis as well 😉

      • It turned out to be a very tasty dish. I used both chick and kidney beans My husband loves it and went back for seconds. He wanted me to tell you that I made this recipe ;). I used morning star veggie link sausage. It is a little soft for my liking but had a good flavor. I served it over left-over rice. And yes I am a big sis too!

  2. I enjoy chickpeas, always have so I will have to try this. When we went dairy free in our home, must be 20 years ago, I began to experiment and found my boys enjoyed their mashed potatoes just as much. Some times I will add some garlic to the cooking water then reserve some of the water to mash with the potatoes. Other times I will boil them in vegetable broth and mash with some of that. Potatoes are versatile and limited only by your imagination in our home.

    • Indeed – imagination is all that limits us in most anything, isn’t it? And of course our willingness to learn from the imaginings of others. I hope you like Annie’s stew!

  3. I have never heard of cashew cream. Something to look up now 🙂
    We are fortunate enough to be able to buy raw milk and can make our own butter if we chose, so I don’t worry to much about dairy, but it’s always nice to find other things to substitute with.

    • Look no further 🙂 The cashew cream is part of the recipe mentioned for Smoky chickpea stew. It is easy to make and directions are included in that recipe – see link above!

  4. Mashed potatoes with the peels on always look so much better. These look yummy! 🙂 Thanks for linking-up at A Humble Bumble each week. 🙂

    • You are very welcome. we do not do dairy over here either and I miss it less and less as we find these wonderful plant-based alternatives. Let us know how you like them!

  5. Pingback: Savory Refrigerator Pancakes | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Healthier Holiday Foods: Thanksgiving Edition | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: Shepherd’s Pizza (Potato Crust-ish Tasty Thing) | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

