Waldorf Saute – Walnuts are Wonderful!

Walnuts are indeed wonderful.  As are apples.  And celery.  Well, of course lots of other foods as well, but this combo has been on my mind and was evidently on the mind of the clever person who put them all together in Waldorf salad.  Why stop there?  Why stop with Waldorf salad?  Why stop at all except for sheer exhaustion?  That’s my usual M.O. anyhow until Little Sis says, “But what are you going to do to relax?”  She gets a certain tone when she says this – sheesh!  As if she’s one to talk 😉  Sometimes I call her to let her know I am just sitting or reading or doing something calm and still.  Hmmm. Haven’t done that in awhile….

At any rate – I got a bee in my bonnet about that Waldorf combo and thought it should be explored in other avenues.  I was thinking about Waldorf chili, but I wasn’t in the mood and was unsure about walnuts and tomato (please correct me if I’m wrong!), so I just decided to saute the Waldorf combo with some other lovely vegetables and my favorite spice cumin and it was a hit.

So I give you,

Waldorf Saute
1 Tbsp coconut oil
1 sweet onion (med – large)
3 large ribs celery
2 – 3 cloves garlic (I used 2 large cloves)
2 tsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. salt
3 -4 cups fresh spinach
1 large apple, cubed (I did not peel)
1 cup walnuts
1 cup peas (I used frozen)
2 – 3 red potatoes (optional)

– Chop and mince your onion and garlic respectively (and respectfully)
– Chop your celery (not mine)

DSC07962– Heat coconut oil in a pan and saute onion, garlic, celery and cumin until onion is a little translucent (nice to have it a bit crunchy with this dish)

If using potatoes (I made once with and once without – nice either way) slice thinly and add at this point until tender

Add salt and spinach until the spinach is wilted

Add apple, walnuts and peas to warm.

Serve.  We did not use rice or other grain, although you could.  I just wanted all that vegetabl-y goodness all by itself!

DSC08147

DSC08150  It’s even better outside… if your regional weather allows that yet.  If not, hang on!  Spring has sprung and is heading your way as well!

Little Sis uses walnuts in this incredible veggie burger
I like walnuts in my hearty breakfast porridge
And here’s a lovely loaf that combines walnuts, celery and apples with lentils – dee-licious

Have a wonderful Waldorf day and please share your own wonderful ways with walnuts!

38 responses

  1. Wow, that looks really good! We have two baby walnut trees and two baby apple trees we have planted in the past two winters, but I don’t think I’m gonna wait that long before I try this recipe! 🙂 . Thanks for posting this one. Found you on the Simple Lives Thursday hop.

    • How wonderful to have walnut trees – hopefully you won’t have to wait too long for walnuts. This recipe will get you ready for your own walnuts! Thanks for stopping by.

  2. What a neat take on a classic. Having dipped to 1 degree (celsius) today after enjoying plus 20 earlier in the week, a warmer version definitely appeals! I also felt warm reading this as my grandmother worked at the Waldorf Astoria in NY for many years.

    • How lovely to evoke a grandmother memory for you – and I wish it was warmer for you!! We had a frost 2 nights ago and it was in the 30’s last night but now it’s high 60’s. Hope you have warm days soon.

    • How lovely to evoke a grandmother memory for you – and I wish it was warmer for you!! We had a frost 2 nights ago and it was in the 30’s last night but now it’s high 60’s. Hope you have warm days soon.

  3. Oh Oh Oh, this looks great!! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    We have a Gluten Free gift basket giveaway this week! One lucky winner will score an awesome basket, just in time for Mothers Day!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  4. Pingback: Leftovers Transformed – Pot Pie Palooza | my sister's pantry

  5. Pingback: We’re Nuts About Nuts and Now the Scientists are Too! | my sister's pantry

  6. Pingback: Fall Recipe Parade – Yes, there’s some pumpkin | my sister's pantry

  7. Pingback: Healthier Holiday Foods: Thanksgiving Edition | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

