Caribbean Flair – Cheap, Easy, Delicious

I can’t count the number of posts that I’ve started by way of saying that I was running late and hadn’t planned dinner well…  Well, I guess I could, but honestly I don’t really want to.  The simple fact is that planning is not my strong suit.  So how do I eat healthy food without breaking the bank? I keep a healthy pantry and that pantry allows me to start with the ingredients that I have and cobble together something that works for most of us most of the time.  (Learn more about our real food pantries here.)  So last night, running on about 3 hours of sleep and a miserable day of contract work I stood in front of my magic pantry and waited for inspiration.

And then it happened.  Oooh, sweet potatoes.  Oh right, I just got some quinoa!  Black beans, hot dog!  Chipotle, garlic, cumin, salt, coconut oil… oh and cilantro!  Oh yes, life is good.  Dinner for four in about 35 minutes featuring:

Chipotle Roasted Sweet PotatoesIMG_9183

  • 1 1/2 – 2 pounds sweet potatoes washed (not peeled)
  • 1 generous Tbs coconut oil, melted if it’s cold where you are like it was here yesterday
  • 1/4 t chipotle powder
  • a couple of shakes garlic powder
  • a couple of shakes ground cumin
  • salt to preference

Preheat oven to 475.  While the oven is heating, cut the sweet potatoes into chunks about 1 inch square (no I didn’t measure, are you really asking me that?).  Place potatoes in large bowl.  Pour on coconut oil and toss to coat.  Add spices and seasonings.  Toss to disperse. (If you’re going to have quinoa too, now would be a good time to start that.)  Place on baking sheet lined with parchment or oiled to prevent a catastrophic mess.  Roast for 20-25 minutes, stirring/turning potatoes about halfway through.  Swoon at the smell.  We served ours on a bed of quinoa with some black beans and what I thought was cilantro and discovered was parsley when already well into prep – still good, but cilantro would have been better) and a squeeze of lemon (yes, lime would have been stunning).  Absolutely delish.   I also remembered we had some pineapple I’d cut up the night before and that made it on the plate with my seconds.  The kids liked theirs wrapped in tortillas with some cucumbers.  Whatever works, right?

IMG_9180 IMG_9181 IMG_9187

Sweet potatoes for breakfast please? Try this great barley and sweet potato breakfast.

Sweet potatoes for treats? Try these Sweet Potato Cookies – they’re fantastic.

Feeling Soup-ah? How about some Shweet Potato Stew?

Sweet potatoes for health? Check out the power of sweet potatoes in world health.

26 responses

  1. Yours is one of the best tips out there for how to maintain the routine of cooking your own vegan meals when so many easily give up and run to the fast food or pizza place –keep a well-stocked pantry! Love the combo and colors of your dish and no doubt it was really tasty.

    • Thanks Patty! I don’t know what we would do without my pantry. I always swear I’m going to start being a better planner…. Thanks for stopping by and for the lovely comment!

  2. Looks great! Kind of reminds me of the dinner I slapped together tonight, brown rice, wilted greens with garlic, leftover roasted sweet potatoes (not as awesome as yours!), black beans, shredded cheddar, chopped avocado, salt, pepper and a few shakes of red pepper flakes – it came together super fast and it was awesome. I love easy cheapo meals like these! Can’t wait to try your sweet potato recipe.
    -Dana

  3. This sounds amazing….how many more years until all the kids are out of the house? I have two that really dislike sweet potatoes so I don’t use them as much as I would like to.

    Thanks for sharing on our Healthy Tuesdays Blog Hop.
    Kerry from Country Living On A Hill

    • My kids are 6, so they’ll be here occasionally eating sweet potatoes for quite some time. 🙂 They are warming to them – faster than to lots of other things. Thanks for stopping by Kerry!

  4. Oh, I like it!! Thanks for linking up at our Gluten Free Fridays party! I have tweeted and pinned your entry to our Gluten Free Fridays board on Pinterest! 🙂

    Can’t wait to see what you are bringing to the party this week! We have another GREAT giveaway!

    Cindy from vegetarianmamma.com

  5. Pingback: Naturally Sweet Sweet Potatoes | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

