Pumpkin French Toast

Okay, so it’s springtime and I’m still talking about pumpkin.  So sue me.  Well, please don’t… instead admit that you too love pumpkin, and perhaps even have a few cans in the pantry from when they were on sale, or when you didn’t get to that pie you were going to make.  Or like me, you bought a whole case of pumpkin from Amazon because you could get organic there for just a bit more than for non-organic in the store and then you had a whole case of pumpkin to use up!  Happily use up, I might add.

Rarely does a recipe call for the actual 2 cups of pumpkin available in these little cans, so what does one do with the little bits / 1/2 cup, 1/4 cup, 3/4 cup of pureed pumpkin left over.  Makes a nice science experiment if left in the back of the refrigerator too long, but I try very hard to not lose precious pumpkin in this way.

Call it synchronicity, call it confluence of errors, call it poor planning, …but there I was having promised french toast to my son last weekend and I didn’t have enough eggs.  I usually make a large batch of french toast to freeze for easy school and work morning meals using 10 or 12 eggs, almond milk, vanilla and cinnamon.  I had 7 eggs and I hate to not produce my full compliment of leftovers for later use.  Truly, making enough for leftovers is the key for me being able to providing healthy meals.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it, even if my story is a combination of cartoons and obscure haiku!

So I combined (beat the heck out of) my:
7 small eggs, plus
1/2 cup pureed pumpkin
1/2 cup of flaxseed eggs.  (see below)
1 – 2 tsp. vanilla
oil to rub on skillet or griddle
cinnamon for sprinkling.  (I sprinkle cinnamon on each piece after laying down to cook because I hate the way the cinnamon clumps in the mixture with egg.  Okay, so now you know my story is a combination of rather orderly and anal cartoons and obscure haiku.)

If you’ve never made a flaxseed egg, it is:
1 Tbsp. of ground flaxseed
mixed with 3 Tbsp. water.
The mixture is stirred and then allowed to sit for about 5 minutes to gel up.
And it does thicken and become gelatinous…. in a nice way 😉  So my 1/2 cup of flaxseed in the Pumpkin French toast is about 2 eggs which = 2 Tbsp. flaxseed (which can be purchased ground or whole which you grind in our blender or grinder) plus 6 Tbsp water.

“Flaxseeds are rich in alpha-linolenic acid (ALA), an essential fatty acid that appears to be beneficial for heart disease, inflammatory bowel disease, arthritis and a variety of other health conditions. They also contains a group of chemicals called lignans that may play a role in the prevention of cancer.”  This info courtesy of Care2.com

I was pleasantly surprised by the ease with which these cooked and flipped.  I recommend stirring before each new piece of bread is dunked because the heavier stuff did start to settle out at the bottom.  And if you use cast iron – Little Sis has great ideas for perfect pancake and French toast making here.

0511130818

So you’ve now added a little bit of vegetable to your breakfast plate, and a twist on French toast.  If you’d like to include more veggies in your breakfast we have some Veggie-ful ideas for you here.   We also have ideas for alternatives to syrup – Apple drizzle and Date cream.

Now you wouldn’t necessarily want to scramble a bunch of flaxseed eggs, but they made a healthy expander to my low egg count.   This also got me thinking about ways to incorporate fruits and vegetables into the french toast concept and also ways for vegans to enjoy French toast.  Our friend Somer has a vegan french toast that Little Sis says is awesome.  Hmmm I’m thinking about experimenting with some ground walnuts with pumpkin and the garbanzo bean flour mentioned in Somer’s version with milk…. Anybody out there have some interesting french toast recipes to share?

PS – I apologize for only one mediocre pic – our camera broke and this was the best I could get out of my phone.  Better pics next time.

This post was shared on Wildcrafting Wednesday.

18 responses

    • G’day Joanne! I had never heard of it before either 😉 Thanks for stopping by and let us know what you think if you give it a whirl!

  1. Pingback: Friday faves, there’s an app for that. | Living Simply Free

  2. Pingback: The Berries Are Here! | my sister's pantry

  3. Pingback: Fall Recipe Parade – Yes, there’s some pumpkin | my sister's pantry

Leave a Reply

