Roasted Onion and Fig Relish

Okay – so I fell for a sale.  Surely I am not the only one.  And I seem to always be a sucker for a buy one get 1 free sale.  Such an appealing word – free.

This time it was brown turkey figs – buy one, get 1 free.  Discount abundance is a wonderful thing unless you really have no idea what to do with the booty!  Everyone in the family tried one and they were okay, but it was clear that the abundance would not be used before they rotted, so I had to get thinking.

They are pretty.

pretty figs

Not sure where this idea came from, but I have been on a kick of roasting red onions as parts of several recipes, so I decided that red onions and figs were either destined (or doomed) to meet in my oven.

And hey – there’s my bottle of balsamic vinegar.  Balsamic vinegar is awfully good on onions, and also on fruit!  I think I’m onto something!  Nice to be creative in the kitchen as I’ve been working on an off-shoot project that Little Sis and I dreamed up from the blog and not trying to be experimental lately.  She’s been keeping things up and running which I greatly appreciate – both for her efforts and for her recipes because she rocks at making up great recipes.  At any rate a little time to ponder a new food led to this relish which I like on a cracker – it’s also good with cheese, on sandwiches, or plain (teehee).

Roasted Onion & Fig Relish

1 lge sweet onion
1 lge red onion
8 fresh brown figs
1 Tbsp olive oil
2 Tbsp balsamic
1/2 tsp salt

Pre-heat oven to 400.

Lightly oil baking sheet with edges (I used the bottom of a broiler pan)

Chop those onions fine – I used a food processor which left some big chunks using the top wheel, but I didn’t want mush either.  Might be better to chop fine by hand if you don’t like a few big chunks.

P1000877

Add the figs to the food processor – or chop by hand into small bits

Mix together in a bowl and add oil, vinegar and salt

Spread out on baking sheet – it’s pretty wet.

Roast for about 30 minutes, stirring every 10 or so.

It dries out a bit as it roasts so go until it is of a consistency you like.  Your house will smell really great while this is going on!

kind of puckered and dried out looking

kind of puckered and dried out looking

We put it on crackers, we mixed a little into the rice we were eating, added a small amount of goat brie.

I’m going to put it on a tomato sandwich today as the birds are sharing some of their tomatoes with me lately 😉

P1000884

What do you do with figs?  And could someone please start a store, a band or a park called ‘Discount Abundance’?

33 responses

    • Thanks for the compliment – but you should know that there are plenty of adventures that I don’t post because they don’t work out so well. My family soldiers on and eats those as well 😉 I hope you like it!

  1. I love figs and it’s a great recipe as they’re coming into season! I’ve never made a relish this way before, it seems easier than ways I’ve tried – and will mean no burnt saucepans! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I’ve had a spread that seemed to be made of the same ingredients, which someone at church bought at Whole Foods and served at a reception. It was yummy, but I bet yours is less expensive!

    I like the name Discount Abundance–sounds like “Cowabunga!” Maybe you or your readers could help me think of a name for this recipe? I’ve been running a contest for more than a month, but I’ve had only a few suggestions, none of which really grabs me. There’s got to be a good name for it!

  3. FRESH FIGS?!…My passion. I am lucky to be living in France…and I just love when they are available and not out-of-the-hemisphere expensive…

    My husband and I always do a balsamic/port/shallot compote to go with magret or aiguillettes de canard (duck breasts or small filets)….So good!…I am going to try this rendition as well!…Thanks!

    Oh…figs are also wonderful in simple wedges on a bed of roquette (arugula/rocket) with good little chunks of aged chèvre..and serrano ham, jambon de Bayonne, or prosciutto as well with a balsamic/Dijon vinaigrette!

    • Thank you so much Donna. When a food is not used much in your culture there is little guide for their use. I greatly appreciate you sharing what you do with figs. We get them on sale occasionally but I could grow them, hmmmm. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Oh! We love figs! We have a huge tree up front that produces so many its crazy. We normally make fig jam and jelly with them. A lot of jam. Im going to have to try this because it looks so good! And I love onions.. and figs. yum!

    I would love for you to share this post (and any others!) at my Life of the Party link up. It just opened! Im going to poke around your site a little more.
    http://thegrantlife.com/life-party-2/

  5. My FAVORITE way to enjoy fresh figs is to just eat ’em! But, when I have figs that aren’t that sweet or are underripe, I make a kind of “jam”. I puree them with an apple or an orange, some vanilla, spices (typical “fall spices” — cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, ginger), a few drops of stevia and some additional liquid (apple or orange juice or water if I have nothing else) to get a tomato puree consistency. Then I just cook it down on the stove til thick and jam-like. It makes a great spread for either a tortilla roll up or to dip apple slices in.

    • Thank you so much Liz! I confess I am also not very knowledgeable about choosing figs or when to use them so some of my lot was not terribly sweet. That is a great suggestion of what to do with them. I particularly like to be able to offer a ‘jam’ like condiment that is not mostly sugar! Thanks for stopping by and sharing your fig wisdom 🙂

      • I can actually sniff out a ripe fig from over 10 ft away; it’s my special talent. 🙂 My family knows of my obsessions so whenever they see them while out and about, they buy a package for me. (I have an awesome family, right? 🙂 ) Unfortunately, they are not as gifted as I am in locating super duper delicious figs, so that is when the “jam” comes in.

        The two most important tips I can offer for picking out ripe, juicy figs are to: 1. TOUCH them; they should be pretty soft, almost like water balloons, and 2. look at the bottom of them; the really ripe, sweet, juicy ones will have droplets oozing out of their non-stem end. This is the fig telling you that they have so much yummy deliciousness in them that they just can’t hold it anymore. 🙂 Those two things I have found to be the most telling and accurate ways of picking figs. (If the figs are prepackaged, I just open up the container to touch them and look at their bottoms. I’m not about to fork over good money without checking their ripeness. I’ve never been given a problem by store employees for doing it.)

  6. I just finished putting a double batch in the oven……do you think it will take double the time? I’ll keep checking and stirring till I get the right consistency. We have our own fig tree (just planted this year) but my neighbor has a big bushy one that is on its second crop, and he doesn’t eat figs!!! He told me to come and get them anytime before the wasps do…I do bring him eggs from time to time as a thank you!

  7. UPDATE: no need to add more cooking time, just keep an eye on the “goodies” and turn them every 10 minutes or so……….I can’t imagine not doubling this recipe because it really shrinks down…oh yeah, I added a splash of port wine.
    Yummy yummy!

    • Sorry I didn’t answer in time – glad it worked just fine and you like it! You are a lucky lady to have a neighbor who shares all of his figs 🙂 Hopefully he’ll like the fig relish!

Leave a Reply

