Gingered Mushrooms, Greens & Carrots with Black Rice

My last post suggested you grab a handful of raw veggies, marinate them and enjoy a fabulous and healthful Asian meal.  Truth is, it’s cold out, and given how very cold and wet and snowy it’s been, I can admit that sometimes I just need hot food. I love me some raw veggies, but sometimes a girl just needs a plate of hot and delicious.

And that’s where yet another wonderful food book that I got from my beloved Frederick County library steps in.  This is not my first visit with Rip Esselstyn, but can you blame me? Who can resist a fire fighter who insists that everyone eat a whole lot more veggies? Esselstyn’s The Engine 2 Diet: The Texas Firefighter’s 28-Day Save-Your-Life Plan that Lowers Cholesterol and Burns Away the Pounds is great reading for those who are in need of a major health overhaul.  It’s also great for those of us looking for new plant strong additions to the repertoire.

Esselstyn has a lot of great advice here, and a variety of simple, delicious, and undeniably healthful recipes that are sure to slay your appetite – the man cooks for a firehouse, so not much chance of walking away hungry. On this particular evening Esselstyn’s Asian food convinced me to cook my veggies rather than simply massage them Ani Phyo style.  Turns out Esselstyn’s Asian fare was also superb (with my usual what I have on hand adjustments), and the effort was well worth it. Warm, delicious, healthful, and here for you.

Gingered Mushrooms, Greens & Carrots with Black Rice

  • 1/4 cup mirinIMG_0093
  • 2 tsp Bragg’s, tamari or soy sauce
  • 1 T rice vinegar
  • 2 T corn starch
  • olive oil for the pan
  • 1 lb mushrooms, sliced thickly
  • 2 carrots, sliced
  • 2 T fresh ginger, minced or grated
  • 3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 6-8 large handfuls of tender greens
  • 1/2 c veggie broth
  • 4 cups cooked black rice (or brown rice, soba noodles, whatever you prefer)
  • 2 T sesame seeds

Stir the first four ingredients in a small bowl and set aside. Warm a skillet and add a very small amount of olive oil to warm. Place mushrooms in the pan and allow to cook for a few minutes, stirring occasionally.  Mushrooms will release water as they cook.

IMG_0078 IMG_0076 IMG_0085

Add carrots, ginger and garlic and cook for another minute or two. Add broth and mirin mixture, and continue to cook for several minutes while the liquid reduces and thickens, stirring occasionally.  Esselstyn recommends adding your greens with the carrots, but I always recommend adding greens at the last possible minute to prevent them from becoming overcooked.  I like mine bright green and just wilted. Serve over whatever grain or starch you’ve got going.

IMG_0088 IMG_0089 IMG_0093

This was a fabulous meal, and as with Ani Phyo’s book, I think I’m ready to commit to Esselstyn’s book and let others circulate the library copy. Can’t wait to see what other plant strong treasures await me!

14 responses

  1. Indeed this sounds fabulous for a cold day…. or any day! Haven’t had black rice in awhile, but I remember how ,much I liked it when you shared it with us at the beach. Mmmmm.

  2. This looks really delicious! I saw it over on She Eats: Fresh Food Wednesday. 🙂
    I have suddenly become addicted to rice and mushrooms — thanks to your Wild Rice Mushroom Soup… which I haven’t actually made yet, due to some lack of organic celery at my grocery store. But it inspired me to make up a mushroom stew with Swiss chard. And I have since created another rice-and-mushroom dish.
    This time I think I’ll just follow your directions, though. 🙂
    ~ Christine

  3. Pingback: My Week on Wednesday… February 12 » Once Upon a Time in a Bed of Wildflowers

  4. Pingback: My Week on Wednesday… And a Year in Review » Once Upon a Time in a Bed of Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

