Pickled Green Beans

Our Pantry Penchants are sometimes quite clear.  We have toyed at times with re-naming the blog My Sister’s Sweet Potatoes…. My Sister’s Pancakes….. and now I guess we’ll have to consider My Sister’s Pickles as well.  I hope you like pickles as well as I do, so you won’t mind another pickle recipe, and I offer the explanation that my preference for pickles is related to a problem.  My son, who used to enjoy lots of raw vegetables has somehow lost his taste for raw veggies.  We have a rule that before any non-produce snack is eaten, a piece of produce must be consumed.  Fruit is easy and always an option, but in the past he was also willing to eat raw sugar snap peas, grape tomatoes, carrots, green beans, slightly pickled (raw) cucumbers or salad (although that is generally only with a bit of pressure).  We do also keep leftover roasted potatoes and other cooked veggies as an option but as far as raw vegetable go, we are down to pickled (raw) cucumbers, carrots (under duress) and salad (duress-er).  He eats cooked vegetables and I still freely load any dish with veggies that I can, but I’m thinking that perhaps if I can cold-pickle some more veggies, that would provide us with another veggie snack.  These green beans are not strictly raw, but they aren’t cooked much…. so I’m going to give it a go!  The recipe I found was a dill-y concoction but my son generally prefers the sweet (surprise, surprise), so I made up a batch of both which are currently getting flavored up in the refrigerator.  I leave you the recipes and then I will sleep while my green beans soak in flavor!!

Pickled Green Beans – adapted from Marlene Koch’s Eat What You Love Everyday, as presented by Snack Girl on her blog

1 cup distilled vinegar
3/4 cup water
1 garlic clove (Ms. Koch used 2 garlic cloves)
1/4 cup sugar (Ms. Koch used 1/3 cup sugar)
1 tsp salt (Ms. Koch used 1 Tbsp salt)
1 tsp dill weed (Ms. Koch used 2 tsp dill weed)
¼ teaspoon cayenne powder ( I put smallest pinch of hot pepper)
1 pound fresh green beans, trimmed cut into pieces that will fit in your jar and pot

Combine everything  but beans in a pan that will also accommodate your beans and simmer & stir until sugar is dissolved.  Add beans and simmer for 2 minutes for crunchy beans – 3 for less crunchy.  Turn off heat and let come to room temperature before loading in jar and storing in fridge.  Letting them sit for awhile will make the flavor stronger.

Pickling

Pickled Sweet Green Beans

1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 cup distilled white vinegar
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp coriander seed
1 tsp mustard seed
3/4 cup water

Combine everything  but beans in a pan that will also accommodate your beans and simmer & stir until sugar is dissolved.  Add beans and simmer for 2 minutes for crunchy beans – 3 for less crunchy.  Turn off heat and let come to room temperature before loading in jar and storing in frig.  Letting them sit for awhile will make the flavor stronger.

Pickling2

 

Okay, so morning has arrived – that was fast, wasn’t it?

Here are my vinegary minions awaiting inspection….

Pickling 3 Note the cucumbers which are almost always sitting in a briney solution in my frig…

So with the help of my rawly recalcitrant young man, we took some of the dilly and some of the sweety pickled green beans and tried them, dilly first –
Me: Wow!  Awesome!
Rawly Recalcitrant Young Man (RRYM): (Unable to speak while making disgusted face)
Me: Really?  You’re being dramatic – these are delicious!
RRYM: No, really, I don’t like those.

Okay now for the sweet pickles
Me: Wow! Awesome!
RRYM: Yuck – I don’t like those either, I don’t think green beans were meant for pickling Mom.
Me: (noticing lack of disgusted face for the sweet ones) So if you had to choose between eating the sweet ones and broccoli, what would you choose?
RRYM: The pickles.

Well, in the pantheon of vegetables, broccoli is at the bottom of RRYM’s list, so I guess that’s progress.  I don’t think I’ve particularly solved my problem regarding my son’s snacking, but I’ve certainly helped mine!  I’m taking some of each of these pickles and having a delicious snack!

Pickling4

And yes, as I mentioned we have a few other pickle posts…..

Little Sis’s Fabu sweet and sour pickles

My recent refrigerator dills

Little Sis’s pickled carrots

I think my next raw pickling experiment will be with cauliflower…. No illusions that he’ll eat that, but who knows?

2 responses

  1. We would just love your Pickled Green Beans. Thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday this week. Have a great weekend and come back real soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

