GF Pancake Mix – Making Time for Pancakes

What if some fine morning when you have time to make pancakes you used 3 or 4 bowls?  1 bowl for the pancakes to make that day and the other 2 or 3 bowls to add all of the dry ingredients for another morning’s pancakes?  Might make it easier to get those cakes going on a busier morning…..

I’m still thinking about saving time, so when I saw this post from our good friend Annie at Unrefined Vegan, I decided I had to give it a GF go.  Please feel check out her version which is chock full of interesting grains and flours as well as the idea that you can flavor up a batch of pancakes or waffles once you start with the basic recipe.   Gluten free or Gluten full – pancakes are a lovely way to start the day and we’re going to see if I can whip up a batch of pancakes tomorrow morning before school if I have the head start of pre-mixing all of the dry ingredients.

First I added the following ingredients to 3 different bowls:

1 cup oats
1/2 cup gluten free flour mix (I use Bob’s Red Mill GF baking mix)
1/2 cup other GF flour like buckwheat, brown rice, quinoa, millet – whatever!
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp salt

20140821_100053-001

I actually performed this part of the experiment in the afternoon, so I used one large measuring cup/bowl so that I could just add the wet ingredients in the morning.

I transferred the contents of the other 2 bowls to jars for storage:

pancakes2

Come morning I added:
2 eggs (flax eggs if you prefer)
2 Tbsp apple sauce
1 Tbsp oil (I used avocado)
1 cup milk (I used almond)
Add more milk a little at a time to reach desired consistency

Let the batter sit for 10 minutes

Cook on pre-heated skillet or griddle.

Toss on a few nuts or dried fruit or coconut to spice things up a bit and enjoy some hot and hearty pancakes on a school morning.

pancakes4 Now admittedly, I chose to do this on a Friday when my son buys lunch so there is a little less going on in the kitchen on those days and it did still take me 20 minutes to cook all of the pancakes, but I started turning the pancakes out to those at the table (with whom I could still talk) and it was a nice change to have pancakes on a school morning.  We’ll do it again now that there are 2 jars of pre-mixed pancake mix waiting for me!

This might also make a nice gift.,.. along with a little fancy jam or maple syrup.

We have lots of other pancake recipes because we LOVE pancakes and you might especially be interested in trying Little Sis’ maple cashew butter, or our other ideas for pancake toppers that are lower in sugar.

10 responses

  1. Nice one! Pancakes are always popular around here, and when we switched to gluten free they remained so. I have my favourite batter, and love the idea of having extra dry mixes ready to go. Time saving is always good!!

  2. Your Mix is awesome! Hope you have a great week and thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday. Your post has been pinned with the party!
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

