Weekly Menu 12/15-12/21

It has been an unpleasantly eventful week here at Lake PukeyVirus. The dreaded stomach bug that previously gripped the elementary school health room has found its way into our house and laid waste to us one by one. While all this healthful eating has made me feel better on a daily basis and has made me less likely to get all the allergy, cold, sinus infection stuff I was plagued with as a child, it doesn’t seem to make us immune to evil stomach bugs. So here we are, a raggedy band of worn out people without much appetite and without much tolerance for exotic and powerfully flavored dishes. I’m going to make a meal plan that favors gentle anti-inflammatory foods in delicious combinations. It’s a walk on the mild side…

Monday: Miso Soup with Rice Noodles

Tuesday: Kichadi, cut veggies

Wednesday: Naturally Sweet Sweet Potatoes, black beans and tortillas for those who are well enough, salad

Thursday: Lentil, Mushroom, and Sweet Potato Soup, homemade bread, salad

Friday: Homemade Pizza (I’m hoping we’re up to this by then), cut veggies

Saturday: Carrot Ginger Soup, salad

Sunday: Homemade Pasta with spinach and red sauce (“homemades and gravy”), salad

Lunchbox Treat: low sugar graham crackers, or for the more recovered Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Drops

Adult Lunches: I’ll be making nearly all these dishes in large quantities so we’ll have lunches and/or some to freeze.

I hope your week is full of good feeling, good flavors, and good friends.

6 responses

  1. Great ideas for when people are sick! I have trouble cooking for my husband when I don’t have an appetite. Mostly it’s trouble thinking up anything to make, knowing that if he doesn’t want it, and I certainly don’t want it, it will be a waste!
    I hope your household recovers soon.
    When we’re sick at my house we like to brown some ground turkey and then throw it and a bunch of chopped veggies and potatoes into the crock pot with water. And then I add ginger. Ginger can help with upset stomachs, plus it tastes good.

Leave a Reply

