Roasted Squash Bowl w/ ‘Parm’ (GF/DF)

I love for my son to have a bunch of friends over to eat pizza and play games.  But I don’t like eating a bunch of pizza – and my husband cannot eat a bunch of pizza, so while the kids were racing Kartts around the track (4 people / 4 corners of the screen – how DO they do that!?), the kitchen was filling with the enticing aroma of roasting butternut squash, onions and garlic.

This is not a new combo around here.  In fact I posted a recipe for such a concoction that includes walnuts and red potatoes from an original made with pasta a parmesan, but I decided to try using my parmesan substitute made from sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, nutritional yeast flakes and salt and we were both very pleased with the results.

DSC07947 See how pleased we were?  This is actually a picture from the post that includes the walnuts – back in my young and frivolous days when I had time to draw with a sharpie on the outer layer of a perfectly good onion.  Ah youth!  But seriously – this is an easy fix and ’tis the season to pick up some squash for a little less.  The recipe is on the small side – enough for a good meal for 2 plus a large leftover lunch.  I’ll pick up a couple of squashes next time!

Roasted Squash Bowl with ‘Parm’

1 butternut squash, peeled, de-seeded and cubed
1 onion, cubed
2 – 3 cloves garlic, minced or crushed
1 Tbsp high heat oil (I used avocado)
Juice from 1/2 lemon
sprinkle of red pepper flakes
1 tsp salt
Cooked brown rice
Vegan parmesan (recipe here along with other dairy free pasta toppers and below)

Pre-heat oven to 375
Toss squash and onion with garlic, oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper flakes
Spread on pan and roast for 30 – 45 minutes or until tender
While roasting, cook rice according to package directions

Prepare vegan parmesan:
Moo-less, Flavor-full Parmesan sprinkles
-adapted from Angela Liddon’s vegan parmesan cheez

1/2 c sunflower seeds
3/4 c sesame seeds (I used raw rather than toasted)
1/4 c nutritional yeast flakes
1/2 tsp salt

Place all ingredients in blender
Blend until powdery – don’t go too long or the sunflower seeds will start to turn into sunflower butter!

Place rice in a bowl, top with squash mixture and ‘parm’ to taste.  My parm has black specks because I used black sesame seeds.  I also didn’t grind the parm long enough because there are intact sunflower seeds.  Yikes – how did I have time to draw on vegetables in the past, now I don’t even have time to grind the sunflower seeds?  Ah well – it still tasted terrific.

20150110_184737

We have a new series starting this year on wellness.  Check out Little Sis’ first post in this series….
2015: A Year of Well Being  We’ll be adding to this as the year moves along – and it will, probably blindingly fast at times.  May we all pay enough attention to see the beauty and love that we encounter in the kitchen, at the table, in fellowship and in the world around us.

8 responses

    • Thanks for having us April. I LOVE the vegan parm. Whenever I heat something up at work with it on top everyone wants to know what it is 🙂

Leave a Reply

